4.5 star rating: Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The guides were very nice and helpful and the islands are amazing, I just wished I had some sunshine which would've been beautiful. So if you go on this trip, try to plan it when you'd most likely get some sun. Very interesting place.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This was one of the best trips we had while in Ireland. The train trip was comfortable and the flight over was very easy. We loved Aran Island and would go back. My only criticism would be that there was not enough time on the Island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The folks from Rail Ireland were great...especially Sally Barco who was very helpful!!
From the description of the tour I did not understand that once on the island one had a 20 min up hill hike to see the fort and cliffs of moher. I could not do it and was disappointed...The flight was great fun and our bus tour guide a real hoot.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Our trip to Aran Islands (Inis Mor) was very different. The actual travel time is quite lengthy, but that is because we left from Dublin. Next time we will leave from Galway, The flight was exciting, and the views from the air amazing. Our tour bus driver was a local, and his bus very old. It actually broke down and we had to wait for another bus to come get us. It was all part of the adventure! Beautiful scenery!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

While the overall tour was quite good, we felt that things could have been organised a bit better - right from sharing some more information about the full itinerary, hand-offs to local tour guides (which wasn't exactly done too well), managing the time overall (for e.g. we were left off at Galway Rail station by the bus driver who drove us from Connemara but there was no one there to guide us further). We completed the tour at Galway much earlier than the scheduled time (dont know why, was something omitted?) and then had to ring up Railtours to check whether we could board the earlier train to Dublin instead of waiting for 2 hours for the planned one. The person on Railtours was nice and promised to ring back but never did. So I called up again whereupon he told me that we could take the earlier train back. The place by itself (Aran islands) are nothing to rave about (in fact a pretty big disappointment) with the only highlight being the 8-minute flight from Connemara to the islands (was quite exciting and organised well). Overall, Not bad is the best rating we can garner for this particular tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Demasiado tiempo en Dun Aonghasa, poco tiempo para pasear por playas, ver las focas o simplemente comer en un pub. El vuelo merece la pena aunque el viaje entre galway ir el aerodromo mas la espera es largo. Avioneta vs ferry mas o menos el mismo tiempo de viaje

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

This was a fantastic trip in parts. First, our train to Galway was late so everything ran behind schedule. The plane to the Aran Islands was absolutely beautiful. You are transported by van to the small airport. Here you view a safety video and are weighed. The purpose of this is so they know where to seat passengers in the plane. The whole ride took about 15 minutes. The Aran Islands are indescribably beautiful-that part of the trip is a five star. You have ample time for a snack and to look at/purchase jewelry, woolen items, etc. that are made on the islands. Because of our late train, we ran behind schedule and had NO time at all in Galway-that was the minus part. However, the trains cannot be controlled, but it is something to keep in mind.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

awesome scenery, but I was supposed to have 2 hours to spend in Galway. I only got 30 minutes which was dissapointing, but an overall good trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Information supplied not sufficiently substance. Talk by guides was very superficial and touristy.

Eva P
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

This is less of a tour and more like organized transportation. They basically load you onto a train (there is no "hosted train travel"), then in Galway lead you to a bus that drives you to an airport, load you on a plane, and then onto another bus, which drives you around Inis Mor where a driver sort of kinda tells you about Inis Mor. BTW-those incapable of climbing mountains need not apply as the "walk" to Dun Aengus fort is more of a 15 minute walk uphill on gravel roads then a 15 minute climb up slippery, uneven rocks on a steep hill. You get about 2 hours there but if you're slow, you'll need almost the whole time to get up there and won't get much if any time to eat. We also didn't have any time in Galway, about 15 minutes, not the hour they tell you, so definitely not enough time to explore and shop. Overall, we felt mislead, and the day didn't start off very well with the supposed "guide" of the trip spilling a whole cup of tea on my husband, who wound up with soaking wet pants and our backpack of supplies soaking wet as well. Speaking with others on the trip on the way home on the train, we all felt that we didn't receive what we were promised. Skip this tour and just head over to Galway on your own, you'll have a better time and probably save some money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

My Ireland experience with Viator was not the caliber as previously experienced. Although some events were out of Viator's control, the reaction to the events left me extremely disappointed. First, the advertisement does not inform customers the plane is a prop with obstructed window views. Specifically, I was seated in the rear of the plane with a view of the legs with supported the wings. Additionally, looking downward the plane's tires added to the prevention of taking pictures and seeing anything other than water. Secondly, the weather prevented a flight back to the mainland. The problem was the customers were seated in a room for an extended period of time (couple hours) without being offered any refreshments, and there weren't any food items for purchase. I was informed while in the waiting room, Viator does not consider comfort measures for their customers. Not a pleasant experience.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Of all of the day tours I booked during our 10 days in Dublin, this is the only I don't want to relive. We were handed off to no less then 5 different people during this trip. (Most were friendly), but the lack of a central tour guide made it confusing and at times a little unnerving. If a central tour guide is to much to ask for then maybe informing the paying customer that they will be handed off continuously might ease their mind or make this process less stressful. We plan to return to Ireland in a couple years, but this tour company will not even be on my radar.

From USD $ 155.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message