4.5 star rating: Recommended 47 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 47 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We had a wonderful time! We accomplished a lot and enjoyed every moment.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Unfortunately the plane flight was cancelled due to bad weather, but it was still a great day. A tour of Connemarra was added so lots to see and do. Very beautiful country, even in the rain!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

overall very good, very prompt, very polite and friendly. only point of concern was lack of consistant tour guide. many places we stopped at, we were either on our own or another guide took over. no-one said anything about the difficulty of the hike to the old stone fortress on inishmor.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I think the trip was amazing but a bit too long of a day for a Dublin departure. We left our hotel at 6:45 am and returned at 9:30pm. Would recommend leaving from a closer location.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip went off without a hitch - perfect weather (not that the tour company can do anything about that!) On the train, we had reserved seats - which was very nice. On the outbound trip, the train was not busy, but the route back, the train was crowded. The tour guide on the route back was excellent - giving us ideas for our remaining days in Dublin as well as pointing out that the tram would save us a cab fare while taking the same time as the taxi. The guide on the island was excellent - with his wit and humour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The trip was great. It was good to have someone else do all the planning and the driving. The tour guide on the island (a local) was able to provide a lot of insight.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The site was beautiful. Our tour guide was great. It would have been nice to have a bit more time in Galway. Perhaps instead of sitting around waiting on the island for our flight, we should have been one of the first planes back after the tour to allow for time in Galway.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

The Aran Islands are amazing. We were met at the train station in Dublin, and our guide traveled to Galway with us, making sure we were in the proper railroad car. We were walked over to our shuttle to the Galway airport. After getting to the airport 40 minutes later, we took a 7 minute flight to the big island. The scenery was amazing. We were blessed with a sunny day, and although it was cool, the island was fantastic and the service we received from our guides was great. We didn't get any time at all in Galway to shop, or this would have been a 5 star rating.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

It was well organized.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The guides were very nice and helpful and the islands are amazing, I just wished I had some sunshine which would've been beautiful. So if you go on this trip, try to plan it when you'd most likely get some sun. Very interesting place.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This was one of the best trips we had while in Ireland. The train trip was comfortable and the flight over was very easy. We loved Aran Island and would go back. My only criticism would be that there was not enough time on the Island.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Demasiado tiempo en Dun Aonghasa, poco tiempo para pasear por playas, ver las focas o simplemente comer en un pub. El vuelo merece la pena aunque el viaje entre galway ir el aerodromo mas la espera es largo. Avioneta vs ferry mas o menos el mismo tiempo de viaje

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

This was a fantastic trip in parts. First, our train to Galway was late so everything ran behind schedule. The plane to the Aran Islands was absolutely beautiful. You are transported by van to the small airport. Here you view a safety video and are weighed. The purpose of this is so they know where to seat passengers in the plane. The whole ride took about 15 minutes. The Aran Islands are indescribably beautiful-that part of the trip is a five star. You have ample time for a snack and to look at/purchase jewelry, woolen items, etc. that are made on the islands. Because of our late train, we ran behind schedule and had NO time at all in Galway-that was the minus part. However, the trains cannot be controlled, but it is something to keep in mind.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

awesome scenery, but I was supposed to have 2 hours to spend in Galway. I only got 30 minutes which was dissapointing, but an overall good trip

Eva P
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

This is less of a tour and more like organized transportation. They basically load you onto a train (there is no "hosted train travel"), then in Galway lead you to a bus that drives you to an airport, load you on a plane, and then onto another bus, which drives you around Inis Mor where a driver sort of kinda tells you about Inis Mor. BTW-those incapable of climbing mountains need not apply as the "walk" to Dun Aengus fort is more of a 15 minute walk uphill on gravel roads then a 15 minute climb up slippery, uneven rocks on a steep hill. You get about 2 hours there but if you're slow, you'll need almost the whole time to get up there and won't get much if any time to eat. We also didn't have any time in Galway, about 15 minutes, not the hour they tell you, so definitely not enough time to explore and shop. Overall, we felt mislead, and the day didn't start off very well with the supposed "guide" of the trip spilling a whole cup of tea on my husband, who wound up with soaking wet pants and our backpack of supplies soaking wet as well. Speaking with others on the trip on the way home on the train, we all felt that we didn't receive what we were promised. Skip this tour and just head over to Galway on your own, you'll have a better time and probably save some money.

From USD $ 175.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message