5 star rating: Highly Recommended 117 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 117 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Shane, was great. The sites were really interesting.
The only downside was the rain. It was pouring rain nearly all day long. But... that's Ireland !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide did a great job of explaining the religious history of the area. Some of the hills were too much for Grandma, but our little kids did great. I think the kids highlight was chasing a bunch of sheep that were grazing near one of the tombs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful trip. Excellent touguide/ driver! Fun, friendly and looked after us very well! Excellent itinerary!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

AMAZING

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best tour of my entire trip!!! Enough time was given to walk around and explore, so we didn't have to run around to see everything. The sites were beautiful. I finally saw Tara. Thank you for this tour, and thanks to our tourguide Ross.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just about saw everything possible in the Boyne Valley. Our driver guide was excellent, very humorous and full of interesting facts. You will need a full-charged camera because your day will be filled full of unforgettable sights. Also be prepared for a long day and have the odd snack tucked into a bag but well worth the 10 hours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour, many different things seen and heard during a day. We can recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent day trip. Highly recommended. Barry, did a great job. We had a small van group of nine people and, if you want to get the history of Ireland this is the way to go.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Extremely good tour! Our guide was wonderful; fun, informative and professional!! What a great way to learn about the ancient history of Ireland! I recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see an 'off the beaten path' tour of the country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was geat, was a small bus tour, liked that, kind of got to know some of fellow travlers, guide new out of the way resturaunt for lunch, prices good, food outstanding. There was a slight mixup at Trim Castle, guide got it sorted out quickly and got us back on track for the next castle tour. Well worth seeing the inside of Trim, kudos to the quick thinking guide. The OPW guide for the castle was knowledgable and happy to answer questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic! Our driver/guide, Gabe, was the best - he was a wealth of information, a fantastic storyteller - this was my absolute favourite trip thanks to Gabe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was absolutely fascinating - our tour guide (Joe) was chock full of cultural and historical knowledge about all of our destinations and I felt like I knew so much more about Ireland at the end of the tour. The destinations were wonderful (particularly the Loughcrew Celtic Tombs - but be aware that it's a bit of a hike up a large hill. We had some older people on the tour, however, and everyone was able to make it up the hill without issue). The drive itself was absolutely beautiful, and aside from the view from the Cliffs of Moher, this tour provided some of the best countryside views I had on my trip through Ireland. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Let me first say that we travel frequently on our own throughout the world; therefore, we use Viator to see the places we want to visit and experience while in different locations. Viator leaders are always interesting, informative, and fun. We never waste precious vacation time on finding locations, and always learn many things we would not have if we had not taken a tour. Having said all that, this tour was no different . . . it was great! We experienced a wonderful, informative day with a great tour leader. Ireland is a beautiful country, and the Boyne Valley is full of Irish history. Wonderful photo-ops. This is the best way to see theBoyne Valley from Dublin . . . easy, comfortable, informative, convenient, fun, and saves time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Even though our bus broke down 15 minutes into the tour, we had a fantastic day. The transportation manager personally apologized to us, bought us coffee and snacks and later offered us a free night tour. Our tour guide/driver Kevin was amazing! He made sure we saw all the sites, gave us in depth information as he guided around each site and made sure our group was still back on time despite being an hour behind-this made sure my finance and I could make our flight home. The weather was great except for one bought of rain and our lunch was absolutely delicious! Our seats were reserved, the food was delicious and had great portion sizes. Our group was relatively small and we had each site almost all to ourselves, which was great! Fantastic experience :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was through Extreme Ireland. Our tour guide was Sara and she was terrific!! Sara was very friendly and imparted just the right amount of history. The day was fun and as an extra benefit we visited the Bective Abbey. We appreciated Sara giving us the opportunity to see another relic of Ireland's past.

From USD $ 44.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5299CELTIC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message