4 star rating: Recommended 33 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 33 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The bus part of this trip was awful, through no fault of the driver. We unfortunately shared the bus with tourists who ignored times to return, not eating on the bus, and common courtesy extended by and to most people. I must admit that the time at the abbey was way insufficient.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Abbey was beautiful and worth seeing, however not on this tour. The train portion was wonderful and provided for beautiful scenery and a chance to see the countryside. The train guides were very helpful and easily accessed. However, the coach guide was the worst I've ever experienced on a tour. The tour bus (Lolly Tours) was a ramshackle vessel that had no shock absorbers and was noisy, hot and uncomfortable. Compared with other busses we saw at the Abbey, this one had definitely seen better days (like in the 80’s). The guide spoke incessantly into his overhead microphone about everything except tour-related facts. He told ridiculous unrelated stories and jokes that only he understood. He also stopped constantly (4 times each way) for picture opportunities which caused any visit to Galway Bay to not be possible due to time running out. It was advertised that there would be a harbor lunch in Galway, no such thing happened, in fact we saw none of Galway, but multiple stops to look at green hillsides of no note. I believe this tour operator ruined the trip and should never be used by Viator again - absolutely a waste of time, money and not at all as advertised. Take the train by yourself if you wish to view pretty scenery. The Abbey was nice, but not worth the money for that to have been all that we saw, and truly it was the only thing we saw. Between the bad tour bus and tour guide, we regretted every hour until we returned to the train depot at days end.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

The highlight of the trip was Kylemore Abbey.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The abbey was disappointing as you really could only see the first floor. The cost of entry wasn't included in the trip so we had to come up with another 24 euros. Our bus left without us so we had to catch a different one and then we were dropped off in the middle of Galway with very vague instructions on how to get back to the bus station. The countryside was extremely beautiful!

Kay B
United Arab Emirates

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Mixed feelings about this trip! Wonderful scenery, but almost all of the time was spent being on a train or a bus, with only twenty minutes off to eat lunch and another hour or so off to walk around. Six hours fully spent just on the train ride. I would have liked more time to look around and less on the trip!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

We enjoyed the excursion, but would have liked to spend more time in Galway itself.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

This tour was highly disappointing. The actual tour was different than what was advertised. The newly added "highlight" of the tour was a stop at Kylemore Abbey--which was little more than the proverbial tourist trap--and a waste of two hours. The first hour was spent standing on line with other tour bus tourists in a plain food cafeteria to have lunch. The proof of the pudding that this tour ws a complete bust was that it was the first tour I've ever taken where the tour guide did not ask people on the bus after everyone boarded how they enjoyed the tour!!!!! He knew the answer!!!!!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2010

This was a waste of time and money. The brochure indicated we would lunch at Kylemore Abbey when in fact we only spent about 15 minutes there. We had lunch in a small pub and overwhelmed the staff. The bus driver spent more time talking with the tour guide instead of attending to the passengers. Nice train ride however the bus trip was a nightmare. We were late arriving back at train station and almost did not make the train back to Dublin. Wish we could have spent time in Galway. Don't make the same mistake and waste a precious day in this wonderful country!

From USD $ 122.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message