4 star rating: Recommended 32 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 32 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Oh probably my favourite of all places and I have to go back some day. Abbey is beautiful and so much to do but time is extremely limited. I would suggest going on your own that way you can really appreciate this wonderful place. The food in the restaurant is not good buy make sure and buy the strawberry jam it is heavenly. The giftshop is the cheapest for a tourist destination.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very well organised this trip by train and by coach which gives the opportunity to visit a strange and beautiful county

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip met our expectations and we were quite satisfied.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Beautiful view of Ireland. Train ride is very comfy and scenic. Kylemore Abbey and gardens are well worth seeing. Wish we had more time to check out Galway.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

A long road trip from Dublin but it was a fun trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

This was a good tour, and the scenery iin Connermara is magnificient. However, the itnierary was changed from that in the advertisement so that we did not go to Roundstone Harbor for lunch but instead spend a lot of time at Kylemore Abbey, instead of a photo stop which was not worth it at all in my opinion, since though nice it is a repeat of what you see elsewhere. The Abbey lunch was however excellent. We also did not stop at the craft villages at the end, since we had spent more time with stops to take photos which was worth it. If the Harbor is important to you or the crafts, make sure you are on a tour that will stop there. Also, if you are interested in seeing any of Galway, go on your own from Dublin a day before and pick up the tour there, it is not difficult to take the train and that would have been a better way to do this.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Not enough time at Kylemore Abbey. Would have liked a little time in Galway on our own before taking train back to Dublin.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We switched to the Cliffs of Moher, the cliffs were wonderful, but there was not enough time to eat & I would have liked time to walk around Galway. I think going to the cave should be eliminated. We had to run to get to the train on time. The bus let us out several blocks away because traffic was so bad, it was quicker to walk. Also, dinner on the train was not good and they ran out of stuff, another reason maybe to have time in Galway, to walk and eat. Bus driver was great!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Great day, only a small group of 10 on tour, which enable guide to give full attention to all. No shortage of photo ops and plenty of stories.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The bus part of this trip was awful, through no fault of the driver. We unfortunately shared the bus with tourists who ignored times to return, not eating on the bus, and common courtesy extended by and to most people. I must admit that the time at the abbey was way insufficient.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Abbey was beautiful and worth seeing, however not on this tour. The train portion was wonderful and provided for beautiful scenery and a chance to see the countryside. The train guides were very helpful and easily accessed. However, the coach guide was the worst I've ever experienced on a tour. The tour bus (Lolly Tours) was a ramshackle vessel that had no shock absorbers and was noisy, hot and uncomfortable. Compared with other busses we saw at the Abbey, this one had definitely seen better days (like in the 80’s). The guide spoke incessantly into his overhead microphone about everything except tour-related facts. He told ridiculous unrelated stories and jokes that only he understood. He also stopped constantly (4 times each way) for picture opportunities which caused any visit to Galway Bay to not be possible due to time running out. It was advertised that there would be a harbor lunch in Galway, no such thing happened, in fact we saw none of Galway, but multiple stops to look at green hillsides of no note. I believe this tour operator ruined the trip and should never be used by Viator again - absolutely a waste of time, money and not at all as advertised. Take the train by yourself if you wish to view pretty scenery. The Abbey was nice, but not worth the money for that to have been all that we saw, and truly it was the only thing we saw. Between the bad tour bus and tour guide, we regretted every hour until we returned to the train depot at days end.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2010

The highlight of the trip was Kylemore Abbey.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The abbey was disappointing as you really could only see the first floor. The cost of entry wasn't included in the trip so we had to come up with another 24 euros. Our bus left without us so we had to catch a different one and then we were dropped off in the middle of Galway with very vague instructions on how to get back to the bus station. The countryside was extremely beautiful!

Kay B
United Arab Emirates

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Mixed feelings about this trip! Wonderful scenery, but almost all of the time was spent being on a train or a bus, with only twenty minutes off to eat lunch and another hour or so off to walk around. Six hours fully spent just on the train ride. I would have liked more time to look around and less on the trip!

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

We enjoyed the excursion, but would have liked to spend more time in Galway itself.

From USD $ 148.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message