4.5 star rating: Recommended 51 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 51 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

we loved it would encourage everyboby to o on this tour had a great time

Kerri S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour was fabulous. Our tour guide was patient, knowledgable, friendly and made our day tour interesting and fun. He was helpful and was happy to do anything he could to make our day an enjoyable one. This tour showed us some spectacular sights in Ireland and no visit to Dublin would be complete without seeing this lovely area of Ireland. I highly recommend this tour to everyone. Thanks for a wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I was afraid the day might get too long, but it wasn't bad at all with the new motorway heading across to Galway. Connemara is a wonderful, rugged part of Ireland, and no trip to the Emerald Isle would be complete without visiting the west. We had dreadful weather, but still a fun time. You will, of course, be in the bus for a great deal of the time, but it was broken up by fairly frequent stops. We had nearly two hours at Kylemore Abbey and a full hour in Galway to explore. And our driver, Bud, was very friendly and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This trip was great! We were making good time, so our driver was thoughtful enough to make a few extra stops. He was very knowledgeable, and the boat ride in the fjord was beautiful. Even my 11 year old son enjoyed it. I definitely recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

It was a lovely day, the driver (Mike) was great and certainly knew his history. I would highly recommend this tour as it offers an opportunity to see the "green" of Ireland. We asked to be dropped off in Galway instead of returing to Dublin-we (and our luggage) were accommodated and the driver even dropped us to our hotel at the end of the tour.

Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

We had a very small group but Ger was a great guide. Gave us lots of great info and was extremely flexible and accommodating, and knew where to stop for the best photos. We had a great day and loved the trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The BEST part of this tour was going to Killary Sheep Farm. It was there where we saw Roy, the dog, listen very carefully to Tom, his owner, and round up the sheep. It was amazing, and so funny for some reason. The best part of the whole entire day was bottle feeding the baby lambs and holding the baby lamb! Seriously made my trip. I've wanted to be up close and personal with the sheep for my whole time in Ireland. Apparently they only go to the sheep farm during winter months and I'm so happy it was still March and I could do that. When I booked the tour I was a little bummed I wasn't going to do the boat tour but this was so much better.
Our tour guide was okay, didn't talk very much. I like it more when the tour guide talks and tells you stories and history. We barely got any of that.
Also, this tour has A LOT of bus time so if you can't stand being on a bus I wouldn't take it. Lots and lots of driving but it was beautiful even if the weather was a little crazy at times. Wish we could have had a bit more time in Galway City, not just 1 hour. Lots more to see and there.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Loved the tour. The views were simply amazing. The tour guide Gabe was very informative. The sheep farm was nice (more amazing views) but I think I would have preferred more time in Galway City.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This trip overall was great. Connemara is absolutely gorgeous and it was easy for me to picture some of the history that had happened there. Our guide Sarah seemed to know the area well and was quite friendly. Offering frequently if anyone needed to have their picture taken. There were stops about every half hour-hour (only for a few minutes thought). What stopped from being a five star is how much we are on the bus and how little time we spend in Galway City (about a hour). Also as warning: if you get motion sickness do not take this tour. The area is very bumpy (due to the bogs) and a lot of twists and turns. I don't really get motion sick and I was definitely feeling queasy and nauseous.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant day. Our tour guide was fab. Absolutely beautiful scenery!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Jim was great. He explained a lot about the area. Very nice person. There are no words to describe the beauty of this area. I would give it 5 stars, but is was very rainy and a bit cold.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent trip, great guide, highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very informative tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humor. We got a great feel for this remarkably stark and beautiful region of Ireland.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was an awesome trip. Our tour guide was Ross and he was quite knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating. The boat trip up the fjords was beautiful. Only con to mention is bumpy roads getting to Connamara and that's beyond tours control. We stopped at kylemore abbey for photo opts.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

My friend and I had a great time on this tour!
The places were actually not as good as Belfast or Wicklow, Galway was quite disappointing, but it was still a lot of fun because of our AMAZING driver Callum - probably the funniest person I have ever met! Would definitely do it again!

From USD $ 49.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5299CONNEMARA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message