4.5 star rating: Recommended 271 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 271 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Marie, the guide, was way pessimistic and really a drag. But the tour was wonderful. Extremely good. We loved little Cohb (Cove) and the "Queenstown Story" tour there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This trip is well worth it! The guide we had was a little long-winded, but he was very knowledgable about everything we saw. If you are only in Dublin for a few days, this is a good day to spend one of them. You really get to see some awesome Irish countryside and how can you not want to kiss the Blarney Stone?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

It was a really good tour, very well organized and perfectly timed. The guide was really knowledgeable and very nice. It's a great way to get to know Cork! Highly recommend it!

Mark H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This tour was a convenient, low hassle way to get an introduction to Cork and Blarney. Now that I know what they're like I’ll probably go back independently for a longer stay on another trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Awesome day and the tour guide was great! Great way to see beautiful Ireland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

right from the moment we set off by train from Dublin to Cork the tour guide Norman was excellent. he told us everything we needed to know and how the day was going to run. his knowledge was never ending and truly fascinating. Blarney castle was spectacular and climbing to the top to kiss the Blarney stone was the highlight of the trip. we had plenty of time for shopping before having a coach tour of Cork and then onto Cobh. when we got back to Dublin there was a problem with a few of us getting back to our hotels and Norman made sure we got luas tickets and gave us a map and made sure we were ok before he finally left us after 15hours. i would definately book another tour especially if Norman was the guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A wonderful day. At first thought 3 hours at Blarney Castle would be too long but was surprised that is could have been longer. It is well worth paying a small fee to see over Blarney House as well as the castle. The Queenstown Story was a moving experience.
Very effiencent staff at railway station and seemless transfer to coach and back to Dublin in the evening. Guide extremely well informed and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I enjoyed this tour very much .
Our tour guide, "sorry forgot your name" was fantastic and knew his information of all areas that we were taken to.
The train trip on the way to meeting the coach was a good relaxing way of getting into the mood.
The train trip home was a bit too long and if this could be shortened it would make this tour fantastic. At the end of the day which was packed with information and history was just a bit tiring, but over all, would do it again
Great tour!.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The trip was great. A lot of time on the train but the countryside in Ireland is so beautiful! Also the grounds at the Blarney Castle were breathtaking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was such a fun tour! The tourguide was super nice and knowledgeable, I couldn't have asked for more!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Long day but well organised with a good variety of sights and a guide that was very experienced and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Really enjoyed this. I went to the top and kissed the stone. The steps up are dangerous and I made the right decision not to allow my wife to climb them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We had a great time! Bob, our driver, was wonderful and very knowledgeable about the history of the area. We had plenty of time for exploring on our own, but with enough organization to feel very comfortable in a strange place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Very informative, organized and enjoyable! A great way to see alot in a little time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fabulous trip - would recommend to everyone; loved the train ride - tour guide was helpful and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great trip. Edmund, the guide was wonderful and informative. The train was nice and clean and we had a car reserved for the group. Food and beverages available on the train. Only downside, not enough time at the Castle and nearby shops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Everything went off without a hitch, the transportation was clean and comfortable, the guide was excellent and everything we saw was well worth the trip. Would advise everyone to take this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was outstanding. He was well versed in the history of Cork, Blarney Castle and Cobh (f/k/a Queenstown). We had ample time to visit the sights, take pictures and refreshments. The tour is long - about 12 to 14 hours (approximately 3 hours each way are spent on the train between Dublin and Cork). Our visit to Blarney Castle was perfectly timed as we arrived before several larger groups. Our guide shared several entertaining stories about each of the sights. He was also unflappable when Irish Rail service threw a curve ball at him by unexpectedly diverting the train we were on to a different station. He took great care of the members of the group and made sure that all were directed to the appropriate destinations. We highly recommend this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Dublin Castle is really great, the grounds are very pretty. Cork looks like a great city, would've liked to walk around the town instead of viewing it by bus, but you can only do but so much in a day. Great day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The whole experience was great. It was fun to see the countryside from the train. Really a good way to see more of the country if you aren't planning on renting a car. Cork is a charming village. Blarney Castle isn't grand by any stretch of the imagination, but kissing the stone is just a fun thing to do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Wonderful and educational! The trip to Cobh also shed let into the history of Ireland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Excellent trip! Was the highlight of my trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This trip is a must for anyone staying in Dublin! The sights are awesome and fun! Everyone in Ireland is really nice which you will realize no matter where you are. Even though it was pouring during our trip, we still made the most of it. Our tour guide was so funny and great as well. Do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

We really enjoyed this tour. The guide had lots of good information for us. I would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The guide was simply wonderful. We were treated like royalty the entire trip. The trip was fantantic made even better by the unbelievable guide. You can't go to Ireland without going to Blarney. If all the guides are like Dave, you can't help but enjoy the trip.

From USD $ 123.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message