• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 135 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 135 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Overall this was a great tour and well worth the money. Our guide, Wayne--aka "Mr. Lucky"--was informative, entertaining and always looking out for us. "Mr. Lucky" truly earned his name by (in addition to his exemplary safety record which he emphasized by once again not crashing the bus!) making the Irish rain cease as soon as we got to our stop at the bridge. BTW for those who are not in the best of shape, the walk (climb!) to the rope bridge will test your muscles. There are some fairly steep inclines and steps--worth it but be forewarned. My calves were mooing for a couple of days afterwards.
Fortunately, at the Giant's Causeway there is a bus that will take you down and back up for 1 pound each way. Wayne should mention this. You have to get the bus to the Causeway in the parking lot of the visitors' center, which he can't go into with his bus so maybe that's why he didn't say anything, but you don't have to pay the ridiculous amount at the visitors' center to catch the bus outside. We found out about the bus while having lunch at the restaurant where our bus stopped to let us off. We were very glad we did! The Giant's Causeway was pretty amazing and you can walk out as far as you want on the rocks. But the walk down and back is 15-20 minutes in each direction with uphill going back. Many people walked down and took the bus back up.
One of the highlights for us was the time we spent in Belfast. Wayne arranged for a separate taxi tour of the areas affected by "the Troubles." We were divided into small groups and, for 10 pounds each, given a tour by someone who lived through it. This is a sobering tour and if you are not up to reflecting on the horror of religious strife, hang out in the recommended pub instead. But walking around the Shankill, viewing the murals and hearing the history of the area was well worth the hour or so of our time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

My husband and I cannot rave more about this amazing trip. Our guide was an absolute treasure -- and stayed that way throughout this very long excursion! Always informative and fun, he made sure we knew where we were going and what we would see (all of this provided in between songs and funny stories). We were given a fair amount of time at both the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge (a MUST), at the Causeway, and in Belfast. Although the weather was unusually perfect for us, it was very windy and cold (so make sure you are bundled up). I have no complaints and would highly recommend this tour to everyone. Totally worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Really Enjoyed this tour. It is a long day but well worth it. We were lucky the weather was really nice and could have spent a lot longer at the Giant Causeway. Also if you are asked if you want to do a taxi tour in Belfast I would definitely recommend it. A great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A very long day as we left at 6:30am and did not arrive back in Dublin until just after 8:30pm. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to walk around the key points of interest. We didn't go to Belfast until the end of our journey and I feel it would have been much nicer to explore an old castle we stopped at to take pictures rather than walk around Belfast for an hour. Overall the trip was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My husband and I went on this tour March 16th. Our tour guide, Bud, was an absolute delight! He answered any questions, gave us some interesting history facts and even sang to us! The tour was very long but well worth it! :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great guide. Bud is the best!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Ok I have to admit it would have been nicer if it wasn't ice cold and snowing. However, it was a wonderful trip. Ita did a great job at giving us all the history and back story to Nortnern Ireland. She is funny and really knows her stuff. The only sad thing was we didn't get to stop in Belfast due to weather and we had to wait so long in traffic that everyone had to go to the bathroom bad by the time we got to stop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Although before this tour I had only done small trips (less than 15 people), this one turned out to be very special for me because I got to meet many other of the passangers from all over and had a great conversation with Eddie, my tour guide about the history of Ireland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Enjoyable day trip. The Antrim coast road is absolutely beautiful. Our bus driver/guide was very informative and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The views are amazing, and I got plenty of exercise during the day. Worth the bus ride; glad I chose it instead of driving so I could enjoy the scenery. Ireland is the most beautiful country I've ever been to, and the Causeway should be part of anyone's experience. Truly peaceful and inspiring.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It did rain but that is Ireland. The driver made the best of our trip.I would definately recommend this trip for anyone, who would like to experience coastal Ireland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very good day, spectacular scenery, interesting stops and very good pubs/restaurants. And the taxi trip round Belfast was fascinating and very moving. Wayne was the same tour guide as on our Cliffs of Moher Trip, and was even better if that were possible, as I'm sure he would agree!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Absolutely marvellous. Well worth the trip. Comfortable travelling and the Giant's Causeway is amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide, Conrad, was fantastic! We absolutely loved this tour and it was a great way to see Northern Ireland for the first time. Conrad knew plenty of information and history about Ireland and was always willing to answer any questions we had. He also gave great recommendations on where to eat.

The only negative thing about this tour was that the bridge was apparently closed due to wind, but when we walked down to see it, other tour groups had been given vouchers and were able to go across the bridge. We waited in line, hoping to cross the bridge, but the worker let other groups with vouchers go first even though our tour was supposed to include the bridge as well.

Other than this, the tour was great and we learned a ton, took plenty of pictures, and came away with great memories! Would highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great trip! We were amazed and grateful on the driver/tour guide´s professionalism. Afraid that 14 hours were going to be too many found that it looked short and we were ready for more. All the sites were worthwhile.

From USD $ 91.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 6–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5299CAUSEWAY

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message