4.5 star rating: Recommended 69 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Glendalough and Avoca Day Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 69 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

We had such an amazing time. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, but also funny and entertaining, and we really enjoyed everything he had to say. The drive was so beautiful, and both stops were fun. I would definitely recommend the trip to anyone wishing to escape the city for a day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The tour guide/bus driver was very knowledgeable, and it was a very pleasant tour.

Noela T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Again, the guide knew her stuff, the coach was clean and comfortable. Very pleasant way to spend a day and the scenery was out of this world.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I had a wonderful time!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a great tour with Jeffery. He was well informed and shared an appropriate amount of information about the tour sites and Irish history. Would highly recommend this tour to people looking to get out of Dublin to see the countryside.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This trip was fantastic with beautiful scenery through the countryside. Our tour guide, Richie was very informative and a gracious host. The tour did involve driving a 40 foot tour bus on some very narrow, winding country roads through the mountains, avoiding hikers, bicycle riders and oncoming traffic that was an adventure all of it's own. I would highly recommend this trip for everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our bus was late picking us up since Dublin Bus was on strike. After we got on board and out of Dublin things got better. The scenery was beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and pointed out where different movies were filmed. Even though we were late starting they didn't skip any of the stops to make up time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was absolutely great! Our tour leader, Trevor, was extremely informative and amusing. The only issue we had was with the local tour operator's office in London. We called to verify the details prior to the tour and was told the time to meet had been changed to one hour earlier and that we were to meet on a specific street - no number - nothing to identify where...just on the street. We missed breakfast and hurried to the location to find no one from our tour there. A lot of other tours, but not ours. After waiting approximately one and one-half hours (we were ready to forget the tour) we were "found" by a tour company employee and were told the bus was late but would be there shortly....and they were. Glad we waited as we had a very small group and the personalized tour itself was wonderful. London's tour office needs to "get their act together". Next time I will not call to "verify details".

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We loved the tour itself and our guide. The only issues we had were that it was unusually warm the day of our trip and the bus did not have air conditioning or windows that opened. Also we arrived early at the Merrion Hotel(9:38) for our tour and almost missed the bus. The driver was just about to pull away and told us we had the wrong time on our voucher. (Voucher said pick ups started at 9:45 from first stop).

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The day trip was everything that I expected. It was a perfect way to spend a day away from Dublin and see a bit of the Irish countryside.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Very good bus day tour. People aboard were from Italy, France and even U.S.A. The guide, Gillian, was excellent and very informative even though she had a sore throat. Gillian had even made her own music snippits to suit the area were driving through. The driver, Declan, was superb and knew every sharp and narrow road. Will certainly book again if we visit Dublin.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Very pleasant scenery. Great guide. Very interesting monastery visit. Loved this tour. Gave 4 star because lunch stop at cafe at factory was not very good. If you take this tour, then just make the short walk to town instead and get lunch there but make sure the guide knows!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This was our first time taking a bus tour. We usually travel independently with our car. Information from the driver was helpful. Time allotted for Avoca was ideal, but we could have easily spent lots more time hiking around in Glendalough.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a lovely trip and the driver and tour guide were excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Very good experience. Well informed guide with lots of extra information. Only regret was that the Visitor Center at Glendalough was not available for simply wandering around rather than having to pay extra for a guided tour.

From USD $ 35.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3703MOUNT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message