4.5 star rating: Recommended 66 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Glendalough and Avoca Day Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 66 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a lovely trip and the driver and tour guide were excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Very good experience. Well informed guide with lots of extra information. Only regret was that the Visitor Center at Glendalough was not available for simply wandering around rather than having to pay extra for a guided tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Trip was very good. Only problem was too many stops to pick up passengers which ate into time at the sites. Really need more time at Glendalough to walk to upper lake. Not enough time at Avoca to walk into village. Bottom line - make it a longer trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

By far the scenery on this day trip was the iconic Ireland we were seeking. Glendalough was just beautiful! Our guide took us on a short tour and explained some of the history of the setting. We had plenty of time to look around and take a long walk through a beautiful forest. Avoca was just charming. We enjoyed visiting the weaving shed, having lunch, and shopping for some of the crafts made in Avoca. The Wicklow Mountains are just beautiful. The trip itself made up for the fact that the air-conditioning on the mini-coach was broken. The driver's window fogged us repeatedly and he needed to stop to clear it. And the heat was unbearable on the ride home. Windows could not be opened. This was no fault of our driver and guide, who was professional and informative, and who also directed us to the correct bus to get back to our hotel for a lot less money than hiring a cab. Overall a great trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

By far the scenery on this day trip was the iconic Ireland we were seeking. Glendalough was just beautiful! Our guide took us on a short tour and explained some of the history of the setting. We had plenty of time to look around and take a long walk through a beautiful forest. Avoca was just charming. We enjoyed visiting the weaving shed, having lunch, and shopping for some of the crafts made in Avoca. The Wicklow Mountains are just beautiful. The trip itself made up for the fact that the air-conditioning on the mini-coach was broken. The driver's window fogged us repeatedly and he needed to stop to clear it. And the heat was unbearable on the ride home. Windows could not be opened. This was no fault of our driver and guide, who was professional and informative, and who also directed us to the correct bus to get back to our hotel for a lot less money than hiring a cab. Overall a great trip.

Michael C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Glendalough was really good but i would have prefered to go to the village of Avoca rather than the weavers.

Kay B
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Very nice, especially Glendalough! And a great tour guide. Avoca Weavers had beautiful things for gifts!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Most of the day what good, but the knitting mill was not really worth it for the final stop.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

A lovely day trip. Our guide was very informative. Although we had inclement weather, the scenery was still quite beautiful. The monastery/cemetery at Glendalough was teeming with history and had many photo ops. The mill at Avoca was delightfully quaint and the staff were very friendly. The lunch was great also. I would definitely recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Good tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Wicklow Gap is something to be seen. Very enjoyable day!

Mare S
Estonia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

It is a marvellous and mystical country - loved it and want to go back. Time at Glendalough should be longer - I worried from the beginning and had no courage to go to all the sites.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Nice cheerful driver/guide. A nicely planned trip. I will use Viator again.

BRENDA K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

The tour should make a stop at Blessington Lakes and not Wicklow Gap - the views are far superior! Also, our coach driver guide wasn't very audible while doing the walking tour at Glendalough.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The bus driver/tour director really made the trip especially enjoyable. His knowledge of local and national history and the delectable tidbits he added were wonderful. It made the bus ride short and educational. I felt enlightened by the wonderful views and history in which I learned.

From USD $ 32.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3703MOUNT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message