4.5 star rating: Recommended 460 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 460 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic. Our tour Guide, Brendan and driver John were amazing. Definitely a trip worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This trip was amazing, Loved the scenery and Norman was an excellent guide. We had plenty of time at each stop. The Cliffs where by far breath taking even with a little mist you could still see most of it. Highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We loved it. Bunratty Castle and the farm village were wonderful, a true step back in time And the Cliffs, breathtaking. The countryside on the way to the coast was storybook. I wish we had had more time in Limerick and Galway, but there is only so much that can be done in one day. Our guide was helpful and charming. BTW the weather was gorgeous on the day of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was a beautiful day with great weather. Cliff of Moher was magnificent and I will recommend this trip to everyone. Must see place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour but an not so easy to understand guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was my favorite tour of my entire stay in Ireland. It was a long day, but well worth the trip. The tour guide told us the history of many sites along the way making the trip very interesting. The castle was the most rustic castle I've ever toured, the Burren was one of the most intresting lastscape I've ever seen, but the cliffs were the highlight of the day! It was windy and clear so we were able to take in all of the colors of the cliffs. It was an amazing excursion! I do recommend taking your own snacks for the train ride as they don't have much to offer on the rail cart. We took a bottle of wine and enjoyed a picnic on our ride home...it was delightful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An exciting day trip to the amazing Cliffs of Moher and serene Irish countryside with plenty of time to immerse yourself in the majestic sights, local culture, immense history, and simple beauty of Ireland. This is a spectacular, not-to-be missed trip with a knowledgeable guide and expert driver!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved this tour! Was long but we'll worth it. Saw amazing sites and guide knew his information. Stopped by some great photo sites and enjoyed watching the country go by.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Not only was this tour a great introduction to the areas and sites visited, the staff and tour guide made the day seamless! We were met at the train station in Dublin by Bob, our guide for the day, and he traveled with us the entire day...returning us to Dublin and showing us where we could get a taxi. We had a rainy day and the Cliffs weren't very visible but Bob "rolled with it" and provided some alternate plans that still gave us a great experience. Definitely take this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Despite not being able to see the cliffs due to weather, this was a fantastic tour. The tour guide and driver well made up for the missed stop. I will definitely book with Railtours Ireland again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was great -. Our guide, Bob was great and very friendly. He did a great job with explaining everything and the tour. We took the train at 7 in the morning from the station. We saw Limerick but it was just by bus. The tour guide explained everything but you do not really get off the bus to explore the city. From there, we went to the Bunratty castle and were given a tour there. You have some free time to explore it on your own. If you have extra time, they have a historic pub close by that you can go to. We went to a pub in Doolin after this - the meal was nice. After this, we headed to the cliffs via the scenic route. This was a great experience as well. We got lucky with the weather. It was hailing and raining intermittently but we did have sunshine..so it was wonderful. After this we saw the Burren and then headed to Galway where we were free to explore it for 2 hours.
All in all, the trip was great. Well paced and very comfortable. The bus was well heated with big windows. We were easily able to take power naps in the bus too. Bob did a great job explaining things while we were in the bus. He touched over a lot of history and culture. All in all, I highly recommend it.
Although, if you are just interesting in the cliffs, you might be better off taking a short tour. This tour is a better way of seeing the country side.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Cliffs of Moher were absolutely beautiful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

One of the highlights of our trip. Our guide was Peter and he was a fountain of information. By days end we felt like family. Was great to stop and take pics along our journey. Loved the story of the Fairy tree.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a truly wonderful tour! Our tourguide was knowledgeable about each city we went through and all of the sights we saw. We were given plenty of time to see the Cliffs, which was nice seeing as it was my favorite part of the tour besides being able to be in the bus/train while it rained outside for part of the trip. :) We were even able to stop off and see an Abbey which wasn't originally on the tour due to making good time. I ended up getting some good pictures and it made the tour that much more memorable. I would definately recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great way to cross Ireland. While a challenge to get to Hueston station early in the morning, it was so worth it. We were met by our guides and escorted to a private car on the train to Limerick Junction, where we quickly and easily changed trains into Limerick, where our guide showed us to the coach for the run to Bunratty, Doolin, and the incredible cliffs of Moher. The castle was alive with history, the pub in Doolin was great for lunch, but the cliffs were just jaw dropping. We went in December when it was gray and windy, but the crashing waves just made the view from near O'Brien's tower even better. Save a few minutes at the end so you don't miss the visitor center, as they have interactive displays and a panoramic short movie that gets you a birds eye view. The coastal drive was wonderful, and the Burren was so beautiful, even in it's apparent desolation.... but the plant life hidden in the cracks is astounding, if you can pull your gaze away from the coast. We recommend GCB bakery in Galway, at the far side of the square for a nice dinner before rejoining the group on the train back to Dublin. Norman, our guide, was quite the character, but very personable, and very knowledgeable. A long day, but the train make the trip a pleasure

From USD $ 137.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH06

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message