4.5 star rating: Recommended 195 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  8 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 195 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was delightful. He provided an excellent account of the Hills and New Grange without being boring or pedantic. You could tell his love of his country and the pride he took in relating historical facts about the location. We went on tour with a different travel agency to other parts of the country, but our trip to New Grange and the Hills of Tara through Viator remains one of the best experiences we had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Comfortable bus, friendly and knowledgeable guide, ancient place made it a perfect day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a fascinating tour - Newgrange looks like it came from outer space, but is older than the pyramids. The tour guide was excellent, probably the best we have ever had in our 35 years of touring Europe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing experience we won't forget! Jim was a fantastic tour guide who had much knowledge to share about the areas we went to, and pointed out interesting things we would not have known about along the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

very interesting and courier was witty and informative, Excellent day out

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved the trip. Bus guide very friendly and well informed. Trip to Newgrange and Hill of Tara was terrific. Highly recommend for a day in the Irish countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour guide was knowledgeable and gave thoughtful presentations. The trip encompassed not only Newgrange and Tara Hill but also included a bit of a tour of Dublin and small coastal fishing villages. Learned quite a bit of Irish history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I wanted to give this tour 10 stars! Michael was our Tour Guide/Bus Driver and he was amazing and knowledgeable.

I was actually looking forward to the Newgrange part of the tour most but, in fact, The Hills of Tara was the part of the tour that touched my soul the most. I was standing where the original Kings of Ireland were in the early 400's. the history of this beautiful island is what touches you the most.

Wonderful adventure all around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Incredible site. Felt surreal to stand where others had been so many thousands of years ago. The re-enactment of the solstice light was beyond imagination. Guide made an executive decision to go to Monasterboice which pleased the majority, including me. Wonderful day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

An excellent tour with a first-rate guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Newgrange was a fascinating experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our experience was a good one, in fact, all that we had hoped for and more. Our guide/driver Michael was knowledgeable, patient, entertaining and courteous. The tour was one of the highlights of our 8 day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour with knowledgeable guide. Quite a history lesson! Our guide had also done one of our Dublin bus tours and he was the best one we had for that too. There is a bit of standing around waiting but that is to be expected. Newgrange is not to be missed, and there were lovely sights on the coastal route back to town that we would not have seen had we driven on our own. I agree with others that pick up instructions could have been clearer, fortunately our hotel staff new exactly where we were going.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide was great and the trip was on time. The company apparently changed the agenda to hill of tra without informing any of us and so we voted to go to monster lice and luckily the driver and guide agreed. I think the company should decide before the tours are advertised if they change the itinerary because we chose the tours for those places. Thank you to the guide and driver for making it a great day and shame on the company for changing it without notice.

From USD $ 46.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3703NEW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message