4.5 star rating: Recommended 86 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  15 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This was a beautiful trip, although we were told to make our own way back by train without a guide or directions...

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Dennis was a great tour guide and driver. We had a wonderful time. Georgeous country.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was a great day and we lucked out having beautiful weather! The bus driver didn't give us much information. the lunch stop was not great. Not enough restaurants open and the ones that were open had poor service. We almost didn't have enough time to order and eat. Stopping to see the sheep dogs was awesome! The scenery was incredible. The train was very nice!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I knew going in that there would be scenic views that we would pass right by, and we did. I knew from our other day trip that taking the driver's recommendation for lunch would mean a long line. We went to the Bay View Bar instead, and were literally the only ones in there. It was perfect. Overall, this was a good trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Ring of Kerry is an absolutely beautiful place! We really enjoyed all the stops along the way, especially the sheep herding demonstration. However, the town that we had lunch didn't have many options, so make sure you bring a snack with you. Definitely worth taking this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A great guide with a good sense of humor. Although the weather was uncooperative, he still stopped at all the best viewing locations to give us a chance to see what we could. Very helpful in getting us back to the station in plenty of time to catch our return train. We were well looked-after.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Guide was fine, connections were OK. Did not think that stopping at two tourist traps and asking for additional fees was reasonable considering cost of the trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

My only disappointment with this trip was the fact that when we arrived at Heuston Station, Irish Rail had not booked us on this trip. They tried to talk us into doing the Cork trip instead. It wasn't until well into the train journey that we were notified that we could do the Kerry trip, which meant we had to put ourselves on and off the trains. Apart from that it was an excellent trip, very scenic, and a superb day weatherwise. Can thoroughly recommend this trip, but check with Irish Rail beforehand.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Long train ride but the tour itself was great. The famine village was not as satisfying as we had hoped but the sheepdog demonstration was outstanding as were the views and the bus tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fantastic views and excellent bus driver.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great tour. I wish I could have gotten out and explored more but you really have to spend a couple of days to do that. Good tour with the time that was given.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The scenery is stunning and we were very happy with the transportation. We were impressed with the driver's skills for navigating the mountains but disappointed with his knowledge of the area. We felt he didn't give much history and didn't notify us of points of interest until we were there and missed picture moments. We would have preferred more time in Killarney as well as the small villages. We were not impressed with the food at the restaurant and the lack of information when entering the facility. Definitely opportunity for improvement but overall we were happy we made the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A great way to see the countryside of southern Ireland!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Long day, but definitely worth it. The tour stopped at all the hot spots of the Ring of Kerry and had time for a nice lunch break in Waterville.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

It was a very nice tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

We had a great time and really enjoyed the scenery - it was beautiful. If I had known we would be with this tour company, I would have booked it directly with them and saved a few bucks!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The weather didn't cooperate but the guide was excellent. The stops could be reconsidered, there are some small towns that would be fun to tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This trip was beautiful. I had wanted to see the Irish coast, and this was a great way to see it. Loved the little towns of Waterville & Sneem.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Nice landscape.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The Ring of Kerry is worth seeing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Beautiful area, but way to much to see in one day. Next time I would stay in the area for a few days vs doing a day trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

My husband and I took this excursion in September and had great weather. We were staying in Dublin, but relatives told us we had to see the west, and they specifically recommended the Ring of Kerry. We don't regret taking the trip...we did see some beautiful nature/sites. But, it wasn't exactly what we expected, and if we had more time or had known better, we would have done it differently. If you take this excursion, be prepared to sit, a lot. You literally go straight from a train to a bus (and then back to a train later). And, you will only get off the bus for very limited amounts of time. I have two suggestions on improving this excursion: 1. Allow some time to explore Killarney. When we transitioned from train to bus, we saw how cute/quaint this town looked, and we wished we could have experienced it. 2. Allow more time to be up and moving around. This trip was long as it is, so longer probably sounds crazy, but giving more than 10 minutes to be off the bus would have been nice. If you get motion sickness easily, this is not the trip to be on the back of the bus! One more piece of advice, if you have limited time and are trying to decide between this and Cliffs of Moher, do Cliffs of Moher.

Stephen P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was a tour we were really looking forward to. We had been told it was spectacular. Hmmmmm.. Perhaps not for us. It was good but not as good as we had expected. Scenery was nice but we do have natural beautiful scenery in Western Australia. We paid the extra money for the Sheep/shepherd
Presentation...yes do this it was fantastic. An enjoyable but not spectacular tour. Pasco family four Western Australia.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

way too long and it was not worth the $310 price...............not an interesting tour!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Very enjoyable but too short of stops.

From USD $ 122.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message