Viewing All 104 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Elizabeth C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The best tour we went on. We visited many beautiful photo stop sites. Our guide was funny, informative, friendly, and helpful.

Colette H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very good trip to Kerry. It was a long day but well worth it. The staff at the tour company was very good and looked after everyone really well. The beautiful scenery and very informative driver combined to make this a great day out.

Diego miguel A Argentina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was a nice tour. It was worthwhile.

Nicole W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely beautiful country side to see which was made possible by good weather. Be prepared for a long day though, but was worth it!

Kim L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I wouldn't go by rail as we were escorted all the way from Dublin to Killarney on the train, which was not needed. It was just Mum and I and a lovely gentleman, but we didn't need the hand holding for a train trip. I thought that maybe going all that way to Killarney, the gentleman with us would be going on the tour but no, he was on the next train back to Dublin. We felt bad that he had to escort us, when we really didn't need it, that he had made such a long train journey for nothing. This also happened on our return journey to Dublin. My recommendation during the winter months is not to provide the escort, as we are all adults and can find our seats, as per the package provided to us in Dublin for our day trip. We were passed over to a tour bus, that we were running late too, due to the train delays, so the guests on the bus, were not at all happy with us... Anyway, it felt like we were mainly on the bus most of the time, and not getting the opportunity to stop and see things. So, I would not recommend the tour company we got off loaded to, as when we got back to Killarney we still had two hours to kill and I would have preferred this time out on the Ring of Kerry as it is a beautiful area seeing the sights, rather than in Killarney with nothing to do.

benny.lance

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Wet, but wonderful.

Patrick M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Based on our limited time in Ireland, this was a great experience. Everything was smooth logistically, our tour guide Paddy was very kind. We had a group of 15 people with us. We all rode a train together to Killarney and then switched to a coach bus. Glad someone else was driving b/c some of these roads were pretty narrow and winding. Only real problem I had with the experience is it's very difficult to take good pictures along the drive because of the reflection in the coach windows. Did make at least a dozen stops though to be able to take pictures. Stopped for coffee and sourveniers at a place they chose called the Red Fox Inn. Had lunch at a place they chose called the Ring of Kerry Hotel in Cahersiveen. I got the Lamb Stew and it was very good. Very affordable.

Lopez P Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

You will see mountains and rivers and roads are narrow for big bus. Most of the time we were in the Bus going through the mountains and winding roads. The scenery was beautiful and our guide told us about the history of the mountains and surrounding area.

Cwatts

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great tour to get a tour via bus ride theough some of the country side on the southwest coast of Ireland.

Kerry S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Long day traveling from Dublin, but it as worth it! It was very foggy so the view wasn't too great, but weather isn't something you can plan! Tour guides were awesome and having escorts on the train make it a fool proof transition... So if you are traveling alone do not be worried!

John B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour guide He was very informative

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Weather was great so was Peter our guide. Not a good day for photos. Really enjoyed the dog and sheep hearding show.

James W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

john v

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, only reason its not geting five stars is we were not given reserved seats on second leg of rail link as described. Other than that minor thing, very scenic tour. This is a long day out of dublin, early to bed the next night. The first leg of the train had good food and a nice bar selection, second leg, onl snacks, no dining car.

drkfrancis

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Rainy that day so visibility was limited. A portion of the road around the ring was closed so we were unable to see the entire ring.

Kathryn R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

THE gentlemen on the train were wonderful. The bus driver full of information and very nice. The drive was beautiful but it would have been nice to have a little time in the places we stopped. I realize it is difficult because we travel so many miles but it felt a little rushed. Was disappointed we could not get food on train.

Bud J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This was a beautiful trip, although we were told to make our own way back by train without a guide or directions...

James K. T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Dennis was a great tour guide and driver. We had a wonderful time. Georgeous country.

william m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was a great day and we lucked out having beautiful weather! The bus driver didn't give us much information. the lunch stop was not great. Not enough restaurants open and the ones that were open had poor service. We almost didn't have enough time to order and eat. Stopping to see the sheep dogs was awesome! The scenery was incredible. The train was very nice!

Brian Flaherty

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I knew going in that there would be scenic views that we would pass right by, and we did. I knew from our other day trip that taking the driver's recommendation for lunch would mean a long line. We went to the Bay View Bar instead, and were literally the only ones in there. It was perfect. Overall, this was a good trip.

abelna

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Ring of Kerry is an absolutely beautiful place! We really enjoyed all the stops along the way, especially the sheep herding demonstration. However, the town that we had lunch didn't have many options, so make sure you bring a snack with you. Definitely worth taking this tour!

Lee M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A great guide with a good sense of humor. Although the weather was uncooperative, he still stopped at all the best viewing locations to give us a chance to see what we could. Very helpful in getting us back to the station in plenty of time to catch our return train. We were well looked-after.

Victoria C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Guide was fine, connections were OK. Did not think that stopping at two tourist traps and asking for additional fees was reasonable considering cost of the trip

Beverly D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

My only disappointment with this trip was the fact that when we arrived at Heuston Station, Irish Rail had not booked us on this trip. They tried to talk us into doing the Cork trip instead. It wasn't until well into the train journey that we were notified that we could do the Kerry trip, which meant we had to put ourselves on and off the trains. Apart from that it was an excellent trip, very scenic, and a superb day weatherwise. Can thoroughly recommend this trip, but check with Irish Rail beforehand.

William E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Long train ride but the tour itself was great. The famine village was not as satisfying as we had hoped but the sheepdog demonstration was outstanding as were the views and the bus tour.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 128.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message