4.5 star rating: Recommended 91 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  15 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 91 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

My husband and I took this excursion in September and had great weather. We were staying in Dublin, but relatives told us we had to see the west, and they specifically recommended the Ring of Kerry. We don't regret taking the trip...we did see some beautiful nature/sites. But, it wasn't exactly what we expected, and if we had more time or had known better, we would have done it differently. If you take this excursion, be prepared to sit, a lot. You literally go straight from a train to a bus (and then back to a train later). And, you will only get off the bus for very limited amounts of time. I have two suggestions on improving this excursion: 1. Allow some time to explore Killarney. When we transitioned from train to bus, we saw how cute/quaint this town looked, and we wished we could have experienced it. 2. Allow more time to be up and moving around. This trip was long as it is, so longer probably sounds crazy, but giving more than 10 minutes to be off the bus would have been nice. If you get motion sickness easily, this is not the trip to be on the back of the bus! One more piece of advice, if you have limited time and are trying to decide between this and Cliffs of Moher, do Cliffs of Moher.

Stephen P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was a tour we were really looking forward to. We had been told it was spectacular. Hmmmmm.. Perhaps not for us. It was good but not as good as we had expected. Scenery was nice but we do have natural beautiful scenery in Western Australia. We paid the extra money for the Sheep/shepherd
Presentation...yes do this it was fantastic. An enjoyable but not spectacular tour. Pasco family four Western Australia.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

way too long and it was not worth the $310 price...............not an interesting tour!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Very enjoyable but too short of stops.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

The tour was very well organized and the staff were wonderful. What I did not like was their choice in the restaurant for lunch. It was very pricey, rushed and the food was not good.

Ren
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Worth doing, but not active enough for my taste - there was a lot of just watching the scenery through the windows of the bus. Very good for people with reduced mobility.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Good but 50 on a coach was too much!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I felt like I spent the entire tour traveling to get to the Ring. Not enough time at any one sight. The time on the bus and the train took up the whole day. I recommend staying in the area overnight, so you can leisurely see the area. The restaurant, that we were taken to had breath taking views of the area and the food was delicious. Better than the Pubs in Dublin. Unfortunately, even our time at the restaurant was short and rushed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

I feel this tour was over rated. It was o.k. The Rings do have many beautiful areas, but not sure it was worth the 15 + hrs and cost. Worth the drive if you're close to the area but I wouldn't have gone out of my way to do this tour. Also felt there was going to be more to see than what we saw.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

This is probably a great trip if you started in Kilarney. It wears you out to ride the train from Dublin 3 hours one way and then start the tour. Then when you finish taking 3 more hours on the train back, you are exhausted.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Too many "add-ons" (Bog Museum for 5 Euro -and the stop was not even in a scenic area - 1/2 hour of nothing) although the sheep herding dogs were well worth another 5 Euro extra. Why don't you just include the extras in the price? Lunch at the stop was awful and overpriced - not to mention that the cafeteria didn't even take credit cards! The only reason I even rate this trip as a 2 instead of 0 is the scenery was fabulous. Please do something to improve the other issues.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

It was okay, but the driver stopped at too many places where there were too many people, and not enough room for pictures. Pub stopped at for lunch was really poor service, and the only one within walking distance within amount of time given.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

The bus driver is also your tour guide - expect a fast drive with few photo stops. The views are pretty but were a blur as we sped through the day - making stops at a few ridiculous points--a peat bog "museum", the 1987 "tidy town" award-winning city-- and passing up some incredible views of famine houses and Dingle Bay.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

We spent most of our time in the train or van and when the van does stop, it tends to stop at kitschy tourist shops. We counted a total 6 stops, including lunch. Of this five, only two were at locations where we could take in the beautiful scenery. The other three were at villages with almost nothing else but souvenir shops. Not recommended for serious nature lovers.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Of the many Viator tours we have taken, this is the first one I must give a negative review to. The trip was terrible. We were set up with an existing multi-day tour group for the bus portion of the tour (the guide kept on giving them instructions that didn't apply to us). The guide, Norm, seemed nice but barely talked throughout the trip around the Ring of Kerry except to tell us what views we would have seen had the weather been better and that we would hit road construction. We learned nothing of the region, the people, the effect of the Recession, or anything else. Our taxi drivers all week were more informative. The guide who escorted us by train to the bus, Bob, was nice enough but he didn't say much either and fell asleep on the train. The place we stopped at for lunch was very touristy and of mediocre quality; the place we stopped at for a break (Sneem) seemed nice but we were given no time to explore it. The only positive was the sheepherding demonstration, which was conducted by a local. Considering that this cost my family more than $500, needless to say we were not happy. I strongly recommend that Viator not offer this particular tour in the future.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

We were disappointed with this tour. A VERY VERY LONG DAY. We had 8 hrs on train (total round trip) that became boring...and then when we hooked up with the coach...the coach driver had us hopping off and on coach for what we thought were insignificant touristy stops. It was like you felt trapped with nowhere to go. The meal was good at the Pub...friendly service. If we had known about the quick stops and constantly unloading and reloading, we would not have taken this tour. ...well, it just wasn’t worth 8 hours of train ride. Our train guide, Jerry, was a very nice guy and we had good companions on the train ride. But at the Heuston station at 6:45 a.m. and not back until 9:00 p.m...well, it made for a very very
L O N G day without a sense of accomplishment. We felt purchasers should have had specific itinerary to make a better
choice. It wasn’t a wasted day just a very tiring and boring day.

From USD $ 122.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message