4.5 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dublin, Ireland
  • Duration:  15 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

THE gentlemen on the train were wonderful. The bus driver full of information and very nice. The drive was beautiful but it would have been nice to have a little time in the places we stopped. I realize it is difficult because we travel so many miles but it felt a little rushed. Was disappointed we could not get food on train.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This was a beautiful trip, although we were told to make our own way back by train without a guide or directions...

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Dennis was a great tour guide and driver. We had a wonderful time. Georgeous country.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was a great day and we lucked out having beautiful weather! The bus driver didn't give us much information. the lunch stop was not great. Not enough restaurants open and the ones that were open had poor service. We almost didn't have enough time to order and eat. Stopping to see the sheep dogs was awesome! The scenery was incredible. The train was very nice!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I knew going in that there would be scenic views that we would pass right by, and we did. I knew from our other day trip that taking the driver's recommendation for lunch would mean a long line. We went to the Bay View Bar instead, and were literally the only ones in there. It was perfect. Overall, this was a good trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Ring of Kerry is an absolutely beautiful place! We really enjoyed all the stops along the way, especially the sheep herding demonstration. However, the town that we had lunch didn't have many options, so make sure you bring a snack with you. Definitely worth taking this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A great guide with a good sense of humor. Although the weather was uncooperative, he still stopped at all the best viewing locations to give us a chance to see what we could. Very helpful in getting us back to the station in plenty of time to catch our return train. We were well looked-after.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Guide was fine, connections were OK. Did not think that stopping at two tourist traps and asking for additional fees was reasonable considering cost of the trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

My only disappointment with this trip was the fact that when we arrived at Heuston Station, Irish Rail had not booked us on this trip. They tried to talk us into doing the Cork trip instead. It wasn't until well into the train journey that we were notified that we could do the Kerry trip, which meant we had to put ourselves on and off the trains. Apart from that it was an excellent trip, very scenic, and a superb day weatherwise. Can thoroughly recommend this trip, but check with Irish Rail beforehand.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Long train ride but the tour itself was great. The famine village was not as satisfying as we had hoped but the sheepdog demonstration was outstanding as were the views and the bus tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fantastic views and excellent bus driver.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great tour. I wish I could have gotten out and explored more but you really have to spend a couple of days to do that. Good tour with the time that was given.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The scenery is stunning and we were very happy with the transportation. We were impressed with the driver's skills for navigating the mountains but disappointed with his knowledge of the area. We felt he didn't give much history and didn't notify us of points of interest until we were there and missed picture moments. We would have preferred more time in Killarney as well as the small villages. We were not impressed with the food at the restaurant and the lack of information when entering the facility. Definitely opportunity for improvement but overall we were happy we made the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A great way to see the countryside of southern Ireland!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Long day, but definitely worth it. The tour stopped at all the hot spots of the Ring of Kerry and had time for a nice lunch break in Waterville.

From USD $ 143.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3310DH05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message