4.5 star rating: Recommended 283 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubrovnik, Croatia
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 283 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

A fantastic trip- our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and we had a great day exploring Montenegro. One of the best parts of the trip was having lunch in a mountain village- the views from the top over Montenegro and the Bay of Kotor were incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Wow!!!!! This was amazing and well worth the money spent! Spent a lot of time driving in a bus but we got to see 2/3rds of Montenegro and it was beautiful!!!! The views, the buildings, the sea were just divine! Definitely a must if you only have limited time in your travels and a day to spare!

David C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent day trip from Dubrovnik. The bus trip up the mountain behind Kotor to look down on Kotor Bay is awesome! Kotor Bay is just beautiful. Budva is fairly ordinary, but worth seeing while in the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Both travellers thoroughly enjoyed the long full day trip. Wonderful views along the very high road with 25 hair pin bends. Excellent driver. Downside was the recommended lunch, better to have taken something ourselves. Otherwise well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The team replied promptly when I inquired about immigration paperwork. First impression before arrival was good.

Depending on where your hotel would be, a shuttle taxi would take you to join the others in a bigger coach. Ivona was our guide and she is very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. As passengers who have booked this journey should have noticed that the itinerary covers a vast distance, therefore please expect a long day on the bus. Nevertheless, it was worthwhile!

Immigration process depends on your luck. There are lots of tour buses going from Dubrovnik to Montenegro so if you are stuck behind others, you will have to wait.

Kotor Bay is absolutely beautiful and this tour focuses half of the duration there. Find your way up the defence wall on Kotor Old Town, you will have a good view of the harbour and old town.
We were not forced to buy any smoked ham sandwich but the tour does stop over at a ham factory for a toilet/lunch break. The local smoked ham was delicious and unique.

We drove through a several small towns but did not have time to stop over. Ferry ride back from Perast was fun and not all bus tour does this. From our current research, Viator offers the cheapest price compared to local tour agents.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I would definitely recommend this trip despite the early start! It was a shame that there wasn't enough time to include lunch during the stop at Kotor but wouldn't have missed this trip for the world. A real highlight of our holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Better than expected. The guide was frank, honest
and helpful. Excellent driver!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Nice tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

When I booked this trip I was a bit sceptical and I thought its was very expensive. However, I found out later that -- it is worth every penny. Not only for the distance you cover but also for good tour guide (was amazing). We were introduced to their cultures and lifestyle and everything was very well-informed. The view were simply breathtaking and I love our multiple short stops for pictures and for quick bites. Although most of the time we were in the bus but that distance was necessary for you to see what was offered in the trip. I really love Montonegro and I highly recommended this trip if - you could only choose one!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was fantastic! The views were breathtaking and awesome. The guide was very informative and friendly. Definitely worth the trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

For this trip, weather is very important. The service is nice, you can trust the local tour agent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Well organized and planned itinerary. It is a long day but I wouldn't see taking out any of the items in the itinerary. Great insight into the old and the new Montenegro; into the coast and the inland. Phenomenal view from the very top (not all tours to the area go up there).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

A really nice trip to see Budva and Kotor. Spectacular scenery and very knowlegeable and helpful guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

friendly and welcoming guide with lots of knowledge of areas included in the tour. good whistle stop tour :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

excellent.

Jo
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

absolutely love this tour company. takes care of u and guides are very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Terrific trip! Special salute to the bus driver who handled every turn of events with aplomb, including rounding hairpin curve #22 (approximately) in the mountains above Kotor, which as it happens is a one lane road, and meeting another oncoming tour bus; more than just an awkward situation. Inasmuch as it was before noon, we had the right of way, or so our guide informed us. In any case the opposing tour bus backed up...as did an RV behind him...and we squeezed past. Some of our passengers enjoyed this little automotive joust less than I did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Great way to see quite a bit of the country in one day. The only regret I have is that we did not have more time in Budva, which seemed like it had more to explore. The guide was excellent and the tour was scheduled and coordinated very well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

A scenic drive along the coast. Up twisting mountain roads with amazing views of this beautiful country. Excellent day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A truly fabulous day. Plenty of time to look around places and a spectacular drive up a mountain. Really good value - a very full day. And our guide was fantastic and very helpful. Would recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Beautiful day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I had an absolutely fabulous day on this trip. Our guide was great, very informative and friendly. Be aware it is a lot of travelling on a bus, some of the stops are only 30 mins but very well worth the money and your time! I was so smitten by Montenegro I will be going there for my holidays next year!

Julia C
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

An excellent day with breathtaking scenery and charming villages

MUN
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

A most enchanting journey by bus, and skilfully handled by our able and informative guides! Were it not for this trip, my wife and I would never have savoured the joys and wonders of Crna Gora. We would have liked more than an hour in Kotor however, for it was a most beautiful, fortified town and the outer battlements would have been a trek in itself! Citenje - one could almost skip in spite of its historicism. Budva - a mini Dubrovnik in its own right. And the hair bends were an experience in themselves!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent day , a bit scary climbing up the mountain but looking back that helped make it

Special Offer
$58.30 Save $5.83

From USD $ 52.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2562MN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message