4.5 star rating: Recommended 271 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubrovnik, Croatia
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 271 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Dipranil
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Fantastic, well planned and very enjoyable.. The guide was excellent.. Value for money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We joined the Montenegro tour in july and we really liked it. The guide was great, she told a lot of info of the sights. The driver was wonderfull with his uphill driving and the tour itself. That was even bether then we hoped it would be. We saw the koter bay from above, the village from the ground. And the city of Budva, which was very cosy and romantic. We had good time for all the stops and good weather:) Superb tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

AMAZING- Montenegro is a fantastic place and this tour was delivered in a really organised and interesting way. We were given lots of information about each of the places and helped with things such as currency and good things to do. Everything was covered so you didn't have to worry about anything- they'd even got a pub to prepare lunch so when we arrived there wasn;t a wait. One warning though..if your scared of heights- be prepared for the trip up the mountain- with the hairpin bends- a little scary- but amazing when you get to the top.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Fantastic experience. Would definitely recommend this day trip. Get to see parts and places that you wouldn't on a normal basis go to. The tour guide was great giving us interesting information as we passed certain places. The only drawback being is that you don't get to spend as much time as you would like in order to explore the places you get taken to, and there isn't really a lunch break either so i would advise to pack a lunch to eat on coach. But worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

An excellent tour, you really see and learn a lot about this small country. However, you need a good head for heights on the amazing drive above Kotor: for me the stunning views made the nerves worthwhile. On a Friday afternoon the traffic holdup at the border added time to the already lengthy trip, but definitely worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Took the hassle out of driving ourselves just jump on the coach, make sure you have your passport and take a few euros or get some there for food/drinks etc. Border crossing can be slow but you can't do anything about that. The highlight was visiting Kotor and then traveling up the mountain to see the views. The driver was very good going up the mountain good pace but safe. The views across the Adriatic are stunning. We have some really good pictures. The guide also gave us some good information about Montenegro and Croatia including the troubled past from an unbiased view.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent day trip to Montenegro. The tour was very well organised, with everyone being picked up as agreed.

Throughout the day we were made to feel well looked after, never fearing being left behind somewhere! This trip has stops at Kotor, a mountain overlooking Kotor (AMAZING views, pretty much worth it for this alone!!) and Budva.

I would 100% reccommend this trip to anyone who wants to get the most out of Montenegro when you only have 1 day to do so!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I went on the Montenegro day trip from Dubrovnik in July of 2012. It was a very enjoyable day, well worth the money spent. The tour guide was incredible. He was a fountain of information about everything- culture, history, geography. He even tells good jokes! People should be aware, however, that this trip involves a lot of time on the bus. There is a lot of driving involved. I enjoyed this aspect, though, as it provides a great opportunity to see the countryside and a lot of smaller towns. I strongly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Such a great day trip! would seriously recommend this, tour guide's knowledge both in English and German was brilliant! The drive around the Bay of Kotor is beautiful! the amount of time spent in Kotor and Budva was just right, perfect for exploring two beautiful cities! the drive into the mountains complete with a typical Montenegro lunch of smoked ham and cheese was a great break in the day and the views make for some incredible photos! Overall a great day, a lot of time travelling but when you reach the top of the mountains you'll understand that it was completely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

A fantastic trip- our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and we had a great day exploring Montenegro. One of the best parts of the trip was having lunch in a mountain village- the views from the top over Montenegro and the Bay of Kotor were incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Wow!!!!! This was amazing and well worth the money spent! Spent a lot of time driving in a bus but we got to see 2/3rds of Montenegro and it was beautiful!!!! The views, the buildings, the sea were just divine! Definitely a must if you only have limited time in your travels and a day to spare!

David C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent day trip from Dubrovnik. The bus trip up the mountain behind Kotor to look down on Kotor Bay is awesome! Kotor Bay is just beautiful. Budva is fairly ordinary, but worth seeing while in the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Both travellers thoroughly enjoyed the long full day trip. Wonderful views along the very high road with 25 hair pin bends. Excellent driver. Downside was the recommended lunch, better to have taken something ourselves. Otherwise well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The team replied promptly when I inquired about immigration paperwork. First impression before arrival was good.

Depending on where your hotel would be, a shuttle taxi would take you to join the others in a bigger coach. Ivona was our guide and she is very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. As passengers who have booked this journey should have noticed that the itinerary covers a vast distance, therefore please expect a long day on the bus. Nevertheless, it was worthwhile!

Immigration process depends on your luck. There are lots of tour buses going from Dubrovnik to Montenegro so if you are stuck behind others, you will have to wait.

Kotor Bay is absolutely beautiful and this tour focuses half of the duration there. Find your way up the defence wall on Kotor Old Town, you will have a good view of the harbour and old town.
We were not forced to buy any smoked ham sandwich but the tour does stop over at a ham factory for a toilet/lunch break. The local smoked ham was delicious and unique.

We drove through a several small towns but did not have time to stop over. Ferry ride back from Perast was fun and not all bus tour does this. From our current research, Viator offers the cheapest price compared to local tour agents.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I would definitely recommend this trip despite the early start! It was a shame that there wasn't enough time to include lunch during the stop at Kotor but wouldn't have missed this trip for the world. A real highlight of our holiday.

From USD $ 67.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2562MN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message