4.5 star rating: Recommended 187 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Dubrovnik, Croatia
  • Duration:11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mostar Day Trip from Dubrovnik. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 187 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Leslie E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

First class!

Andrew A
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great to see sites of recent history and how people have bounced back. The tour guide was particularly informative and lively.

Sarah P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Beautiful scenery, excellent tour company, friendly knowledgeable guides, and comfortable air-conditioned coaches. The tour was a good mix with free time, and learning about the interesting history.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great information about the history of the area. Shame about the bridge being extra busy with Red Bull dive.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful town and the local guide was amazing. The tour was great value and the town itself was just stunning. Beware the lengthy boarder crossings, there is nothing the guide can do to speed this up but she was good at keeping us up to date and was pointing out points of interest along the way. Would recommend to anyone looking for an interesting day trip from Dubrovnik.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a VERY hot day, but a gorgeous little town. Wish there weren't so many vendors selling tourist like purchases such as magnets etc. But I understand they have to make money somehow.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great trip to our favourite place that we visited, Mostar. The tour guide there was fantastic and very funny, taking us to one of the mosques, a place with great views of the bridge and into an old Turkish house. The markets in Mostar were brilliant and it was a great place to soak up culture. The brief stop at Pocitelj on the way was interesting, although time there was necessarily limited. Overall, despite the brilliance of Mostar, this trip was slightly let down by the transport after our initial pick-up, we were transferred onto a coach with very poor air-conditioning, which did make the journey uncomfortable. It didn't spoil the experience for us, as we still had a great day, but we would highly recommend booking a small-group tour instead if possible. We took this option for our trip to Montenegro and it was much, much better!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A bit expensive for what it was, but Mostar was really great!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very interesting day trip to Mostar, with a completely different feel to Dubrovnik/Croatia. Definitely worth doing if you have a free day in Dubrovnik.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great experience except for the boarder crossing! The guides were wonderful!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Well worth a visit. Travel guides were excellent commentary was in English and German. Hotel pick-up and drop-off was included. What the future traveller needs to know in advance is :-

1. Temperatures are already very high. We went on 2/6 and Mostar was 35C. It was 25-27C in Dubrovnik.
2. Because the journey takes you through Neum, you cross the border twice there was quite quick, but the main border between Croatia and B and H can take a while 20 minutes going and 35 minutes on the return journey.
3. Take sturdy footwear. The main pathway through Mostar is cobbled and slippery polished by many pairs of feet.
4. Beware pickpockets dressed as tourists, who mingle with tour groups. A recent addition to the attributes of Mostar.
5. Currency - Has it's own, but will also use Euros and Croatian Kunar, but ask before you buy.
6. Food and drink prices are very reasonable. Try Ćevapi or ćevapčići, which is a grilled dish of minced meat, a type of skinless sausage, served with flat bread.
7. Take Passport.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Good tour overall, local guide was very good and informative, plenty of time to discovery Mostar on your own as well. On the drive there and back the coffee breaks were too long, could have been back 1 hour earlier.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was a nice day trip to Mostar even though we had to cross the border 6 times. Maybe a detour can be suggested to fill up the time during the journey to Mostar

Katie D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was very well run and I felt we had enough time in each place visited.

It was run in German as well English which could be a little frustrating at times but our guide was very friendly and knowleagable. Our guide in Mostar was also wonderful and we enjoyed a meal in one of her recommended restaurants.

We were lucky that we sailed through the border quickly but apparently it can be quite bad getting through.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great Day! Very good value!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Although a long day, the 3 of us thought it was very well done. Pickup at Hilton Hotel was perfect. The stops were appropriately spaced for bathroom breaks. Our guide was very good as she had to compensate for unexpected german tourists. Perhaps a little more clarity on which restaurants were better for meals. My group wore suitable footwear, but it should be stressed that Mostar is a very challenging town in terms of cobblestones.

Benski
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Well organized. Tour operator was knowledgeable and friendly; Driver was great; Tour was informative and interesting; Great balance of free time and guided touring; Travel through checkpoints and border crossings was as fast as can be;

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Despite the longish journey, the visit to Mostar was fascinating; it's a complete contrast to Dubrovnik, the old town being dominated by muslim and Ottoman influences, and the bridge (though a recent reconstruction) is beautidul. The local Bosnian food was excellent, and our guides were great; we learnt a great deal about the complicated and tragic history of this area. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Long day but well timed stops. Very good guide in Mostar.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our guide on the coach was lovely, she gave us lots of history of the Dubrovnik Republic and several of the bays and towns we passed through. It was nice to stop twice to break up the journey a bit. Mostar itself was very pretty and there was enough time to see the major attractions. The local food was absolutely delicious too. Only recommendation is to be very vigilant with personal belongings!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day trip tour guides super and informative. Maybe a little long but then its quite a way to travel.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a long but well worth it tour! It really opens your eyes up to how Bosnia is still recovering from the war after 20 years later!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour as good Guide was great

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A good day trip with lots of interesting places to see and history to learn. Our guide in Mostar was very informative and we appreciated her informative tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A very enjoyable and informative day. Our bus guide was excellent and we learnt a lot about Croatia and in particular the 1990's Homeland war. Our Mostar guide was also excellent and it was good to hear the history first hand.

From USD $ 61.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2562MT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message