4.5 star rating: Recommended 196 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Dubrovnik, Croatia
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Bosnia and Herzegovina Day Trip from Dubrovnik including Medjugorje and Mostar. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 196 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A trip of about 7hrs to the neighboring B and H, our guide Olga was very knowledgeable and friendly; this is a must if you want to experience a totally different culture and environment, focusing on the historical ottoman and muslim sections of old Yugoslavia (except for the completely commercialized Medjugorje, which is only appealing to strict catholic observants); try to opt out of it if possible to spent more time in historical Mostar.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The staffs were really nice and explained a lot of historical things for us in the car. We could enjoy several places safely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome! Mostar is a beautiful city with a rich, recent history. Olga is a great tour guide--very friendly and knowledgable! It was a day well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tourguide Paula was knowledgable, informatiive and very interactive. The smaller group tour is definately more comfortable and easy going than a couch tour. We had plenty of free time to roam around Mostar, however I feel personally, that Medjugorje was a waste of time and one of the more bizarre places that could have been visited. The history and beauty of Bosnia is unique and it came out in each city visited. Deffinately have to go back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The fact that this was a small group (only eight of us) made it a much better experience in many respects than the large coach tours. I think the title of the trip should be Day Trip to Mostar for that is what it basically is. Mostar is wonderful and well worth the trip. I see no point in mentioning Neum as you don't visit it you just pass through. As far as I can see from the reviews and from our own experience you seem to be dissuaded from going to Medjugorje so maybe it would be better omitted from the tour. Pocitelj was well worth seeing. I just wish we had had a little longer here - we only had time to dash up to the fortress and back and no time to look at the place. Our guide was very informative en route to Mostar and our guide in Mostar was a great way of getting orientated before having time to explore it a bit further on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had an amazing day. The group was fairly small, and we decided to spend a little more time at Mostar rather than visit a cathedral on the way back to Dubrovnik.

Our guide Paula was fantastic. The information we learned on the way to Mostar was very interesting and the journey flew by.

It's very busy in peak season (Even in October it was busy) with a lot of tourists. Very worth seeing though and this particular tour with this company was outstanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent overall. We were collected promptly on time in an almost brand new mini bus. Both leader and driver were friendly, chatty and knowledgeable about the tour and Croatia and Bosnia Heregovina. it's a beautiful drive along the coast - and the driver seemed to know the road well judging by his speed! We have plenty of time at each stopping point and we stopped regularly for drink/toilet breaks. The local guide is Mostar was also excellent. He recommended a restaurant and obviously didn't receive kick back as they were full and couldn't take us. And they didn't change their mind when he went in and spoken in Bosnian to say there was a spare table! He then recommended another restaurant which was excellent - both food and value. Overall an excellent day out and I would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved this tour as it took us to some fascinating places. The tour leader was informative and knowledgeable, and it was a fabulous day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a great day out. Got the bus at the Hilton Hotel, just near the Pile Gate. Our guide for the day was lovely and very informative, telling us about history, landscape features, etc. We got 45 minutes in Mejugorje and would have like a little longer here as was very busy at the time we landed and was hard to get a chance to see things. We then visited the town of Mostar and had a guided tour there also from someone who lived locally, this was very interesting. Would tell anyone who visits here to go into the Mosque where the tour finishes and climb the tower as the views from there were amazing. All in all it was a great day out from Dubrovnik.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An amazing journey into this once war torn country. The old town of Mostar with its bridge that was destroyed during the war are an incredible sight to visit. There is a small gallery just near the bridge that displays photos and a short film of the time when the bridge destroyed and how it was rebuilt .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was AMAZING!!!!!! There ended up being only 4 of us, hence it became a private tour. The tour guide Jellena was full of knowledge and such a laugh, as was the driver! we were on a small mini bus and they changed some of the itinerary to suit us. we decided to cut out Medjugorje and added another hour to our Mostar stop and also a stop in another little village!
we went on this day trip with zero expectations and came back having had the BEST day ever!!! really would recommend! Mostar is stunning as is the history involving the bobming of the bridge and the renovation project that followed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I recommend this trip especially because of Mostar and Pocitelj - both very beautiful and interesting places. First stop was not so interesting for me (but can be for someone else). Everything was going great, pick up at the hotel was on time, no problems on the state border, Guide was very friendly and we did get many interesting facts about both Croatia and Bosna i Herzegovina.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I are so glad that we took this day trip to Bosnia-Herzegovina. The group consisted of around 8 of us and was the perfect size to interact with our guide Filip who told us loads about Croatia as well as Bosnia-Herzegovina. The first stop - on the tiny stretch of Bosnian coastline - was just for coffee but was much needed with an early start to the tour! The second was a stop at a catholic pilgrimage site which being non-religious was not something we got actively involved in but was interesting to see, though I am glad we only stayed the 30 mins that we did. The next stop was Mostar- the highlight of the trip - and we were handed over to a local guide for a short tour of the town. He was excellent, coming from Mostar himself he gave a first hand account of the recent history of the city and was very open and honest. After that we were given a couple of hours to have lunch and explore the city. The Old Bridge and town are beautiful and show no signs of the troubles of the past but in some nearby streets there were some buildings covered in blast holes showing the ruins of the past. On our last stop we visited a small traditional village with a few small shops, a couple of nice cafes and a climb for those who wanted to up to a church perched above the village which gave great views over the Neretva river and the surrounding hills. Bosnia- Herzegovina is a wonderful country, steeped in history and diverse in culture and religion. All in all, I highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mindblowing! Mostar is beautiful and both Philip (our croatian guide) and the local Mostar guide were both so lovely and very knowledgeable. There is a small little town with a population of 40 people just on your way out of Mostar and you have an option of climbing to the top - I would highly recommend doing this! Stunning surrounds and great views from the top of the old castle - not a hard climb.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Comfortable air-conditioned small minibus. Excellent guide and driver. The city of Mostar speaks to us with a sad, yet inspiring, eloquence. This tour should be a priority for anyone who has a 'spare' day for travel from their holiday resort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was probably the most enjoyable tour we have undertaken. Two excellent guides , on the mini-bus and in Mostar. The scenery from Dubrovnic to Mostar is outstanding, with costal and mountain views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent day trip to Mostar and Medjugorje with tour guide Andrea who was terrific and full of interesting history on our ride to Serbia. We made a brief stop in Medjugorje and Pocitelj to round out the day. Tour guide in Mostar was acceptable although she lacked knowledge of some of the historical events.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Top class small group of six very informative and helpful best tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide Filip made all the difference. It was very smart and told us stories and stopped for us all along the way to Mostar, so we learned a lot and saw beautiful views. Also a good education on the war in the 1990s and the dynamics of the region.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Well organised tour. Our driver and guide were brilliant. A great way to see Bosnia in a day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely amazing day trip from Dubrovnik. Our tour guide, Andrea, was great and explained in-detail all the interesting facts and sites as we drove to Bosnia. We did skip Medjugorje in order to have more time in Mostar. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic experience. My son and I loved every minute. Our guide Philip was so lovely and full of really interesting information. He showed us all the sights and was fun to spend the day with. Mostar is very interesting and well worth a visit and the scenery is stunning.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I was fascinated to learn more of the history of Mostar, I was aware of the basics however actually being there and seeing some of the signs of the war still evident in places was something else- The trip consisted of myself and an American, two passengers our guide and driver- it was a perfect scenario as we had a great guide who was very knowledgable and entusiastic. The drive through Croatia and Bosnia was full of sights and information and with the stop off at medjugorje being so far from what I was expecting- it was the legend of how the town became such a religious focal point for so many. Mostar itself was something else, I had been advised to take this trip prior to booking and wasnt disappointed. The guide again took us from the minibus to the old town, a quick walk though pointing out certain elements, we watched the short historical film which shown footage from the "battle of the bridge" and brought it all to life. We were then given a few hours to explore the town and found it was more than sufficient to see all the sights and have a good hearty lunch. We stopped off at a 3rd point on our return, a hillside fort/monastery village (Pocitel (if i recall correctly) which was a 30 minute stop with time to climb the walk up to the tower at the peak with a grand view. A truly fantastic day out, history, authentic rustic sights and a very good guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We booked our day Tour for Bosnia and Herzegovina with Viator and was really impressed with our day and the Super Tours Travel Company. We had a small tour of 8 and were picked up promptly at our agreed stop right on time! Our driver was excellent and drove very safely! Paula, our guide spoke excellent English and really gave us a good insight of the history of Bosnia/Herzegovina - particularly the War for Independence in 1993. We started the tour with a stop in Pocitelj a UNESCO medieval town steeped in history. Quite a few steps up to the Tower ruins, however, well worth it for the stunning views of the river and surrounding mountains.. Enough time to have a look around and then on to Mostar. What an amazing place! Such a beautiful village with winding alleys full of shops, restaurants, cafes etc along with their amazing bridge which goes over the river - stunning views. The tradition is to pay the diver to dive off the bridge into the river and you get the advantage point to take some great photos. The atmosphere is great as he touts for business. We had a separate guide to give us a small "snapshot" of the village and its history - particularly how the war effected it with all the bombings and destruction that occurred. He also showed us a short 8 minute video of how it all looked before the destruction. Quite moving actually. Paula then recommended the local restaurant Restoran Europa for lunch and recommended trying the local dish, Cevapi (basically small tasty sausages). The restaurant was excellent and the Cevapi washed down with the local beer, Sarajeusko, was divine! Highly recommend you try it! We all took a vote and skipped the Catholic Church as we had read other reviews saying it really can be missed if you are not overly religious and cannot relate to it. Glad we did as we had more time in Mostar. Headed back to Dubrovnik and arrived about 5.45pm! The border crossing/passport control can take a while - but well worth it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

fabulous scenery. we were personally chauffer driven by our guide vlado, who as very informative. I must admit mostar was interesting but very hot. 40 degrees in the shade but everywhere was well worth visiting.

From USD $ 59.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5562MEDJUMOSTAR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message