5 star rating: Highly Recommended 117 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 117 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Tour was very nice. Doug the tour guide was great. It would have been nice not to have as many stops along the way. More time in Inverness and at Loch Ness the following day would have been better.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This is a very good tour for the first time travellers. I had opted for hotel accommodation while booking the tour. We were given Hotel Columba for the overnight stay at Inverness. The view from the hotel is excellent as it is exactly in front of River Ness. The Tour guide was very helpful and informative. She really knows the details about the place. I would like to go for a 4 day tour since there are lot of places to cover.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

It was good

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Informative guide however, he should have stress to the two people contiually late in returning the need to be on time. Next morning we waited almost 15 minutes for a couple. I selected hotel, and my hotel was significantly inferior to the hotel that 6 other people were placed at in spite of the fact they were both listed as 3 star. The walks through the wood were extremely fast paced and several people lagged behind. Had there been an accident, he would not have been within ear shouting distance. Yet, I enjoyed the trip and am glad I went on it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

we had a great expeirance with the tour .The guide was good and the route great . Wish it was possible to give a map with names of the places seen and the route as a keep. the seats should be rotated or fixed as I ended up sitting next to a stranger for the second day

PRASANNA KUMAR S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We really enjoyed this trip. Good vehicle, excellent Guide and nice people. We enjoyed stunning natural beauty of Scotland. Well arranged and worth to go.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Great trip, great tour guide with good knowledge of area and interesting stories to tell. Overnight accommodation was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Very good coverage and good guide on the key locations to visit. It was a pity that it rained at Glencoe and hence only a short stay, and there was not enough time to go on the Loch Ness boat trip. The B&B I stayed in at Inverness was excellent. Overall highly recommended tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Good coverage. Good vehicles. Good guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I enjoyed this tour, but the weather made taking the boat on Loch Ness impossible. I would not advise going in October. Our tour guide was friendly, but I wish it had been a bit more structured. The tour guide did the best he could considering the rain and improvised so that we were able to do a whisky tasting and also see some of the countryside. I wish we had more time to take pictures and had seen a bit more of the town. Inverness had some beautiful sights and I liked the B and B I was assigned to was great, but I think the weather put a damper on this tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Good tour, but I wish I should have selected a tour with a larger bus than a mini van. Seats are too narrow and cannot be called a Luxury Mercedes coach at all. I have to move (basically walking with the baggage) to another hotel as the originally booked hotel was overbooked, blaming a system failure. However no complaints about the alternative hotel.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

a littel bit tiered

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Nice but tiring. Glen Afric was a good spot. No time for Inverness was a bad spot.

ZHEN Z
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Too much travelling by coach, we missed a lot of beautiful views.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

I did not like the tour much. The Highlands were beautiful but the tour was really unpersonal. Even tough the guide was very nice and told many interesting stories he e.g. did not even ask for our names...
Then the stopps at the single places were so short that all you could do was grab a bite to eat before we had to leave again. There was no way enough time to even look around a little. I think they should plan in longer stopps plus give you better information (written) about the stopps with a map maybe and what is there to see...
I cannot recommend this tour and would therefore also not book another tour with viator.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

This was overall a very nice trip. Our driver was very knowledgeable and entertaining (as promised!). The sights were beautiful along the way, and we were very happy with the B and B in Inverness. Well worth the cost of the trip.

I did however have one major complaint and this is why I have given only 1-star. This complaint is that the driver did not seem too preoccupied with getting us to Loch Ness in time to take the boat ride (ie kept repeating "we'll see if we can make it, however it really is not a part of this itinerary"). We couldn't figure out what was his motivation in saying this, however we were tremendously disappointed when we did indeed arrive 15 minutes after the boat's departure. For me, this ride was a once in a lifetime opportunity that I was very much looking forward to, and the fact that we were not given the chance to choose whether we would like to go was very disappointing. The description of the tour did indeed say we could take this optional boat ride, and taking this into consideration, we were both baffled by his behaviour and let down by the outcome.

From USD $ 206.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message