4.5 star rating: Recommended 465 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  1 day (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 465 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Superb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well organized service. Highly recommended.

Perhaps can extend the time until 8.00 PM in summer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great way to see the city if you are not a walker. Live guide gave a great overview of the history of the city. I was able to they go back and visit the areas that where of interest to me.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We loved the option that the pass is for 24 hours instead of just for the day. We hopped on at 2pm and completed the balance of the hours the following day. It was great because it was raining the 1st day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

cant speak more highly of it except to say I would do it again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Beautiful city, enjoyed the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A must to see the city. Great tour, great value. Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great way to see this beautiful city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A must do in the city prior to others activites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great bus tour of the city. Loads of historical information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We love the Hop-on Hop-off bus tours because it gives you a great overview of the city you are in. Then, after going around one time, you can hop off and see the sites you want to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Good tour, a quick way to see the city and get some good historical information about the city. Also handy that tickets are valid for 24 hours so nice to mix it up over 2 days if you start around midday :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

lovely tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great way to get about and see sights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

One of the most cost efficient way to see a city if you do not have much time to sight see. The hop-on and off bus provides a live commentary (not taped) and the lady was very good, knowledgeable and extremely witty, you'll enjoy history lesson with lots of humor. Will definitely recommend to family and friends!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

particularly loved being able to have a live commentator - great personality. Edinburgh, like Glasgow, could use a good scrubbing brush - particularly the Scott Monument! But loved the feel of the city and I think the tour did a good job of showing off the best points.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We ended up taking two tours--one audio and one with a guide. The real-person guide was so much better and interesting! Our sole major problem was starting off. I showed the Viator voucher to one tour bus driver, and he did not understand it and sent us way out of way to the city bus station, and the person there sent us to the railroad station. Viator should make it absolutely clear that customers search out the tour bus representative on Waverly Bridge sidewalk or in the booth, and the booth needs a prominent sign! Also make sure that customers understand that they can turn in the voucher for any one of several tour routes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We do the hop on and hop off tours in all the cities we travel to...the best way to get a feel of the city and the lay of the land.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

It was very good and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was as promised. Very easy to catch the frequent buses and always had seats availqable. Only problem was finding out where the buses had their stopping points. when we first arrived.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had purchased the Royal ticket and it was great that we were able to board any of the busses rather than being limited to one - plus our entrance fees were also all covered. Very crowded during August because of the Fringe Festival, but a beautiful city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A good overall view of the points of interest in the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Truly enjoyable! It is a great way to know the city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My wife and I and her brother went on a British Isle cruise on Princess Cruise line.
We pre-ordered the hop-on hop-off tour bus for all the ports that were available;
Dublin, Liverpool, Belfast, Glasgow, Inverness, Edinburgh and London after the end of the cruise.
We also purchased “Skip the Line” at Guinness storehouse,
which was good because of the long line to purchase tickets.
We walked right up to the pre-buy line person and walked in.
All the hop-off hop-on buses were very good, clean and all workers were courteous and helpful.
I don’t think they see the Viator online print off tickets very often,
but there was no problem using the computer print off tickets.
I would definitely recommend the hop-on hop-off tour buses every where you go.
Pre buying did not save a lot, but you did not have to worry about having local cash to buy them.
I normally do not conduct a rating but everything worked out well, so I will in this case.
Gary, Renton, Washington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Hop-on Hop-off is an excellent way to get a feel for a city and with Edinburgh Passes for three days was great!!! The Viator tour did just that. We were able to get around easily and see what we wanted. By starting with that tour we more readily understood what Edinburgh is all about. (Also don't forget to get a city bus pass...for the time you are there also!!)

From USD $ 22.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2065EDI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message