4.5 star rating: Recommended 142 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 142 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The tour was great- the guide was funny and personable and very knowledgeable. The format was vert good- taking people to places they wanted to see and giving them time to see what they wanted with no pressure to shop or eat at any particular place. The only dowside was that the bus was a bit cramped for people with longer legs.

Dianne S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Where to begin I guess with the guide he was very passionate about his beloved Scotland as well as being very well informed. We headed off through the beautiful Scottish Border countryside towards our first stop which was Melrose a very pretty little town with a very interesting Abbey.We had a couple of stops along the way one to see The Statue of "Wallace" and our guide played us a couple of tunes on his bagpipes it was really great. After Lunch in a cute local restaurant we headed off to Rosslyn Chapel with a couple of little stops along the way ths chapel was the site of parts of The Da Vinci Code. We headed back to Edinburgh after a very interesting day would highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Brilliant Tour! Our guide "Mac like the hamburger" was great, very informative and had a great scense of humour! We had a great day and highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Al was an excellent tour guide - very well-informed and happy to share his knowledge of the sites we visited (as well as anything else we asked about). Most importantly, he seemed far more concerned about making sure everyone got their money's worth on the tour than rushing us from place to place as quickly as possible. Great experience and I would definitely recommend for anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The tour was fantastic to scenery is amazing and our tour guide was a proud Scottsman who was really informative, kind and very knowlegable. This is a great tour to take

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Very nice trip, we enjoyed it very much. Enough time at locations. Our guide is a very pleasant tour guide who did his very best to entertain us with lots of information and nice music. He is a very good and relaxed driver, no hurry and speeding. We recommend this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a great day our guide Mac was great but I don't know why it is called the da Vinci code trip and was disappointed that the entry fee to Roslyn wasn't included

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The stops on this trips are excellent and visiting the chapel was especially interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent trip! Great guide! We did 3 tours in Edinburgh through Viator. All 3 were great and I'd do them again. Go inside the Abby and take the tour. Its very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Loved this day trip. The borders area of Scotland is breathtaking. Our tourguides Bob and Doug were amazing and kept us educated and entertained. While the main reason we went was to see Rosslyn Chapel, Melrose Abbey was so much more impressive and I loved it so much more! Such a great way to see some amazing scenery and some amazing historic sites!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I enjoyed this tour a lot. I love history and seeing both the Melrose Abbey and Rosslyn Chapel was a great experience. Our guide was very good and well informed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Although Edinburgh and all of Scotland were experiencing heavy rainfall, the tour went on as scheduled. We really enjoyed the small group tour and would recommend this to anyone who asked. The driver was very well versed in Scottish History and he gave us a good dose of it while traveling from place to place. The ruins of Melrose Abbey were spectacular to see and the travel through the towns near the border fascinating. The highlight was Rosslyn Chapel. We could have spent more time here, but enjoyed the whole day. Although we did know ahead of time some of those on the tour were surprised to find they had to pay entry fees into these two sites. Well worth it, though!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Beautiful scenery!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Had a wondful trip to Rosslyn Chapel and Melrose Abbey with Richard of Rabbie's - we took 3 trips with Rabbie's during our week in Scotland and all were fantastic - Richard is a wealth of historical information and made the trip most enjoyable - WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND RABBIE'S TO EVERYONE!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide and driver were great. Friendly, funny, and polite. They had stories about everything, whether it was about the history, the local flavor or their personal experiences (they were from the Borders). When we stopped for lunch in Melrose, they had good suggestions. The landscape was beautiful. Melrose Abbey was amazing. The detail work in Rosslyn Chapel is breath-taking. I took their advice and checked out the lesser known Rosslyn Castle behind the Chapel and was rewarded with a lovely walk and view. It's promoted as "Da Vinci Code...", but the book just put Rosslyn Chapel on everyone's radar. Don't go on this tour because of the book. Go and appreciate the history, the people, the landscape, and the mastermasons' works of art.

From USD $ 50.46

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2250DAVI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message