4.5 star rating: Recommended 154 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 154 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Great day trip. I wanted to see some of the country side, but didnt want to spend all day in a bus. The guide was great! Very knowledgeable and I felt safe with their driving.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was an excellent trip through some fantastic country with a great driver/guide. I really enjoyed seeing Rosslyn Chapel and the information we were given throughout the day was interesting and informative. Bob (our guide) obviously loved the country he was taking us through and that showed in his talk. Overall, we had a fab day and would definitely book with you again. Many thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Great tour. Helen was very informative, gave us the 900 years of Scottish/British history in 4 hours. Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Great and really enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Good fun,excellent courier, Excellent value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The trip was fantastic, although I enjoyed Melrose Abbey far more than Roslyn Chapel. Roslyn was crowded and quite unremarkable. I realize that there has been a fascination with Da Vinci Code, however perhaps there are other destinations that could be added to the Melrose Abbey tour instead. The little town of Melrose was interesting, and the place our tour guide recommended for lunch was quite good. I would like to return and take another tour with Pete--he said that the three day Highlands tour is his favorite, and I hope to do that one next time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This was a really wonderful trip. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave very interesting background information for each historical site. While some of the sites had separate entrance fees to get in, Rabbies tourists were given discounts and priorities to sites which were crowded. Fabulous day out!

Amy S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Bob was a great tour leader and very informative! Saw lots of interesting sites and learned alot about the history involving Scottish Borders and Rosslyn Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Wonderful tour

Peter H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The tour was absolutely superb. The guide was amazing and we had a wonderful day out which was great value for money. Thank you so much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

We had a wonderful time! Our tour guide provided great commentary along the way - we learned a lot about Scottish history and laughed with our follow travelers. The guide made it even more enjoyable by wearing a kilt and even played the bagpipes at one of the stops. Although Rosslyn Chapel is covered with scaffolding it still worth the trip! We highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

As tourist this was the way to go for us. Small group means you do not miss a thing. Small vehicle means traveling back roads is possible. Good trip. Would do again.

Glen P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic tour for the limited time available. The tour guide was rated by our group of 4 at 10 out of 10.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a wonderful trip! The land is so beautiful it makes you feel at peace. I would highly recommend it!

Muhammad Fadhli A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

As a single traveler, I had a great time and enjoyed myself during my visit to Rosslyn Chapel and the Scottish border. The driver was a very good tour guide and had a great knowledge of the places. Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Our tour guide was dressed in a kilt and he played the bagpipes for us! He was fabulous! The day was wonderful. "Scotts View" is so amazing and the views unbeatable. The short walk through the woods to get to Wallace's statue was peaceful and simply lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Tour was very good - driver gave very good information and also sang a song. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The meeting point is at a central location, easy to get from most parts of the city. The tour itself is good, starting with the tour guide, who was very informative and had a wonderful personality. As for the sights, there are photo stops along the way at various places. The countryside in Scotland is beautiful. Once at the chapel you'll have ample time to visit and hear the history of the chapel from a staff member. No photos can be taken at the chapel, which was disappointing, but the memories of the visit will last a lifetime. If you are into churches and architecture, you will appreciate this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

I was expecting a Viator representative instead of a local company rep. Still enjoyed the tour. Nice young man tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

The local tour company that actually took us on this trip was amazing, especially our guides. You really can't have a bad time in Scotland, anyway.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a wonderful and interesting trip. We experienced lots of history and learned from the entertaining driver in a fun and informative manner, and even heard some great music too! I would definitely recommend it, especially on a short break as the distance traveled is comfortable for day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was fantastic! He was an excellent representative of the tour company.

Shamil I
Portugal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

My wife and I had an amazing day; we really enjoyed this tour. It is much better to travel on a minivan than a normal bus; the tour is friendlier. The minivan was comfortable and the guide was very nice and had a great knowledge of Scottish history. His narrations of the Scottish history were accurate, interesting and funny. We also listened to some Scottish folk music along the way, always relating to something we had seen or someone the guide had mentioned. Many people tend not to visit the Scottish Borders region, but we really recommend it.

Melrose is a wonderful place, and we had plenty of time to visit the abbey and the village and have lunch. I highly recommend the visit to the ruins. The ruins are well preserved, and the surrounding area is very green and pleasant.

The stop at Rosslyn Chapel was quite a surprise. We thought that all the fuss about it was just because of the book "The Da Vinci Code", but we were really surprised with the beauty and importance of the chapel. We had a local guide at the chapel, a very nice lady who explained all of interest to those interested in learning about the chapel's history and art. Without her explanations, we would have missed the historical and artistic importance of the chapel. We truly recommend this tour and the tour operator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The trip was everything we thought it should be.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good company, glad we used them. Driver was really knowledgeable through the whole tour.

From USD $ 49.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2250DAVI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message