• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a wonderful and interesting trip. We experienced lots of history and learned from the entertaining driver in a fun and informative manner, and even heard some great music too! I would definitely recommend it, especially on a short break as the distance traveled is comfortable for day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was fantastic! He was an excellent representative of the tour company.

Shamil I
Portugal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

My wife and I had an amazing day; we really enjoyed this tour. It is much better to travel on a minivan than a normal bus; the tour is friendlier. The minivan was comfortable and the guide was very nice and had a great knowledge of Scottish history. His narrations of the Scottish history were accurate, interesting and funny. We also listened to some Scottish folk music along the way, always relating to something we had seen or someone the guide had mentioned. Many people tend not to visit the Scottish Borders region, but we really recommend it.

Melrose is a wonderful place, and we had plenty of time to visit the abbey and the village and have lunch. I highly recommend the visit to the ruins. The ruins are well preserved, and the surrounding area is very green and pleasant.

The stop at Rosslyn Chapel was quite a surprise. We thought that all the fuss about it was just because of the book "The Da Vinci Code", but we were really surprised with the beauty and importance of the chapel. We had a local guide at the chapel, a very nice lady who explained all of interest to those interested in learning about the chapel's history and art. Without her explanations, we would have missed the historical and artistic importance of the chapel. We truly recommend this tour and the tour operator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The trip was everything we thought it should be.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I took a "Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip" from Edinburgh on 30th March. We inentionally chose a shorter trip because we had just arrived from the far east the day before and were very jet-lagged. The tour was locally operated. The tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable and friendly and the bus was comfortable. The relatively short length of the trip also enabled us to get back to Edinburgh by around 4pm. We were however disappointed by the weather that day (very foggy in the hills) which robbed us of much of the stunning views which we would otherwise have had. At certain points during our journey, we were slightly concerned that our driver was also trying to entertain us all with stories, while navigating the windy roads. But all in all, it was an enjoyable outing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip! Super small group of 4. The guide was awesome-very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip! Super small group of 4. The guide was awesome-very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I greatly enjoyed this tour. Mav was an excellent tour guide and provided just the right amount of commentary throughout the drive to each location. I also enjoyed the Scottish music played. We were afforded the right amount of time at each location. Melrose Abbey and Rosslynn Chapel were really interesting and beautiful. I also appreciated the lovely Scottish landscape as we drove. I recommend this tour without reservation.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Very good tour, very informative, just little short stops

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Very good tour, very informative, just little short stops

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The border lands were very pretty. The church was beautiful and mysterious. The tour guide was very good

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This trip is only good for the people the is interest and really has read or seen the movie Da Vinci Code. Otherwise it will be not worth the money. Pete our tour guide toll as the most amazing stories. Very nice young man.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Excellent trip to the Borders region, our guide Pete was great and I enjoyed all of the attractions: Scott's View, the Wallace statue, Melrose Abbey, the town of Melrose where we had lunch and finally Rosslyn Chapel. Too bad they won't allow any pictures inside the chapel. Short, nice little trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

excellent guide

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Tour was on time, transport was very comfortable. We loved Melrose - could have used a bit more time in that quaint town and a little less at Roslyn Chapel.

From USD $ 52.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2250DAVI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message