4.5 star rating: Recommended 154 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 154 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Interesting - the lowlands.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Knowlegable guide and interesting sights. Would recommend longer stop at Roslyn Chapel to allow adequate time for both the presentation and the visitor's center which is quite thorough.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide, Dave, was fantastic. He gave us all sorts of information about the border lands, and the old abbeys. He was also born in the borders, so he had a unique perspective that we really appreciated. The old ruins of Melrose Abbey were worth the 5 pound entrance fee, and Rosalyn Chapel was very cool. The only thing I would've changed was that the entrance fees should've been included in the original booking price (we were running low on cash and didn't want to get hit with the foreign transaction fee on our credit cards). Other than that, we would highly recommend this tour, Dave, and Rabbies!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This place was amazing. The history was unbelievable. I just wish the price of all admissions and lunch be included like all other tours.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I took a "Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip" from Edinburgh on 30th March. We inentionally chose a shorter trip because we had just arrived from the far east the day before and were very jet-lagged. The tour was locally operated. The tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable and friendly and the bus was comfortable. The relatively short length of the trip also enabled us to get back to Edinburgh by around 4pm. We were however disappointed by the weather that day (very foggy in the hills) which robbed us of much of the stunning views which we would otherwise have had. At certain points during our journey, we were slightly concerned that our driver was also trying to entertain us all with stories, while navigating the windy roads. But all in all, it was an enjoyable outing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Great trip! Super small group of 4. The guide was awesome-very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I greatly enjoyed this tour. Mav was an excellent tour guide and provided just the right amount of commentary throughout the drive to each location. I also enjoyed the Scottish music played. We were afforded the right amount of time at each location. Melrose Abbey and Rosslynn Chapel were really interesting and beautiful. I also appreciated the lovely Scottish landscape as we drove. I recommend this tour without reservation.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Very good tour, very informative, just little short stops

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The border lands were very pretty. The church was beautiful and mysterious. The tour guide was very good

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This trip is only good for the people the is interest and really has read or seen the movie Da Vinci Code. Otherwise it will be not worth the money. Pete our tour guide toll as the most amazing stories. Very nice young man.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Excellent trip to the Borders region, our guide Pete was great and I enjoyed all of the attractions: Scott's View, the Wallace statue, Melrose Abbey, the town of Melrose where we had lunch and finally Rosslyn Chapel. Too bad they won't allow any pictures inside the chapel. Short, nice little trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

excellent guide

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Tour was on time, transport was very comfortable. We loved Melrose - could have used a bit more time in that quaint town and a little less at Roslyn Chapel.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Small bus made for a very personal tour. Guide very friendly and found humour everywhere. overall very enjoyable and a great day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Everything was fine, Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Very good tour guide, with good explanations. I would have liked to have more than one hour to visit Rosslyn Chappel.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Visiting Melrose Abbey in Da Vinci Code where Robert the Bruce of Scotland, his heart was there .... INTEREST!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Rosslyn Chapel was truly amazing .What architecture! The driver was very knowledge on history and the area..

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I didn't read the whole book but the tour never really talked about it. Nice stops.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We had a great time on the tour. Sorry but forgot the tour guide's name but she was great! Very amiable, informative and accomodating. The highlight of course was the Rosslyn Abbey. Absolutely mind boggleing. Would love to return after the restoration is complete.

Violet
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

We went to see scott's monument.. tour guide MacKenzie was so funny.. played us a song from his bagpipes.. then went to melrose abbey which was really nice and see Robert the Bruce heart's burial place.. Rosslyn Abbey was a pity though cause they didnt let us take photos inside the abbey.. according to the tour guide, someone fell inside the abbey while taking photos and got hurt real bad, now suing the abbey, so they ban photos inside the abbey.. how stupid..

Silvia M
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

We liked the tour. Bob was great!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Interesting tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

mac made the trip great and the pipes were a added bonus. it was a liitle sad that the construction was so completely in the way at the chaple.but we understood why.

From USD $ 48.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2250DAVI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message