5 star rating: Highly Recommended 92 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a lovely day with our guide. He shows us a lot of nice spots in the beautiful highlands. His information during the trip was fantastic. We learned a lot over Scotland and history of the Highlands. The visit to Dewar was a little disappointed. Next time maybe an other distillery.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

A very good trip, not too long and not too short. You get to visit some great parts of the highlands. Whisky destillary was a bit disapointing considering the extra charge.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Beautiful trip. Great guide, Barney knew a lot. A bit too much driving, but the weather was perfect!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Great! Barney was a good guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good! I did not like the Whisky distillery that we visited ..but otherwise the tour was great and I really appreciated the tour guide who was informative and funny ...

Sari V
Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

It was perfect day! Dave, the driver, was great.
Views was fabulous and what more could I say.
I really can recommend this trip to everyone :)

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great tour.

Alison G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Great tour and lovely views. Disappointed again though as the Whisky Distillery we went to on the day of the tour was not opened to show us around and we sat with a slightly boring tv screen and a lady from the distillery talking about the history only. The Highlands and Glens were brilliant and our Tour Guide Ian is really great!!!! Good day all in all.

Keiko M
Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

I joined this tour as a group of four Japanese tourists this summer. The driving manner of the guide was so gentle that we could relax in the car. And the schedules were not so tight , then we enjoyed the sightseeing spot such as Dunkeld, Pitrochly, Queen's View, Falls of Dochhart and Whiskey Distillery. I'm sorry that the weather was no so excellent, but I could take thepictures of wonderful sceneries. Thank you!

PETER K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A very long day but a good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Our tour guide was great. Most of the stops were worthwhile, but the itinerary got a bit tedious, especially the part after the Dewar's tour. All in all, it was worth it. I would definitely try other Viator tours in the future.

Mc.Anne
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Great day out with beautiful scenery. We had a great driver and guide. I would definitely book another trip with the company. The pace was good and I liked the fact that 16 was the maximum number. I did think that some of their joining instructions - reconfirming and bringing photo ID were a bit over the top. In the event I was not asked for photo ID, although I had brought my passport with me.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Allan was a great guide but the stops were just average.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Good but not great. Maybe my expectations were to high. Our tour guide Dave had a lot of great stories which I really liked and loved his choice of Scottish music. I was least impressed with Pitlochry, you couldn't even enjoy it because it took your full hour to get served your food and even then we had to take it in a take away box, the restuaurant was McKays and I would only suggest going there if you have two hours. Glen Loch was beautiful but we only have 5 minutes to look at it then it was back in the bus, but had 45 minutes and less exciting places? If this was a glen lochs, whiskey and the Sterling Castle I would have liked it much more. We just passed by Sterling and after hearing all the great stories would have loved have gone! The Whisky tour of Dewars was great, the tour guide was really good and I loved her scottich accent. This and Glen Lochs was the best part of our trip! Loved Scotland..and can't wait to go back!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

This tour was a bit disappointing as we had thought this trip included a tour of the inside workings of a whiskey distillery. Unfortunately, the Dewar's Distillery that we visited will be closed down from August to October 2011 for maintenance repairs. We were able to only tour their inside exhibit and do a whiskey tasting. However, the rest of the tour was beautiful and included a tour of several towns along our way through the Highlands. Our tour guide "David" recounted the history of each area we visited and kept us entertained along the way!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I was not very happy with the choice of rest stops, especially the last one in a town that offered only 1 small café and we stayed there for more than 1/2 hour. I would have preferred a longer stop for lunch as the town was worth visiting, and just a short rest stop in the afternoon. Also, I would have liked a short stop for a photo opportunity at Stirling Castle.
All in all is was an average trip, and fromthe revieews i had expected much better.

Richard B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

We found the tour to be worthwhile; however, we had done the Loch Ness tour a couple of days before this one, and they cover almost identical routes, so this was a little boring for us.

From USD $ 65.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225008

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message