5 star rating: Highly Recommended 103 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 103 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good! Our guide was very nice, and on the way back he was telling us story about Queen Mary of Scots. Fun times :

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We liked the tour and our guide Eric was perfect. Send our best regards to him.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was very informative. Our driver James knew all his subject and was very entertaining as well. It was quite refreshing. I look forward to another Scottish Highlands tour in the future.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Beautiful scenery of the highlands. I went in winter, was a bit cold, but the views were definitely worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

It was a good day trip but would have been excellent were it not for the weather. It rained all day, we walked in the woods in ponchos. The distillery visit was great and so was the stop over for lunch in a small quaint town called Pitlochry.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Great tour! Bus seats a little uncomfortable. Guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Driver/Guide Sarah was a knowledgeable and lovely person.
Enjoyed the fantastic scenery and the bush walk through the Hermitage.
Was disappointed about the choice of distillery tour. Nowhere on the VIATOR website did it say Dewars world of Whisky would be the destination. I didn't check the RABBIES website (which does list that in the description) as I mistakenly thought VIATOR would have all the information.
So apart from a considerable let down for my father and grandfather, for whom I'd organised the tour, it was a lovely day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Martin was a great tour guide, informative, and interesting, and had great interlude music as well (Scottish, of course!). I traveled alone (was on a very short trip alone) and I had a great time with all the other people who were traveling in couples etc. So much to see and photograph and we had plenty of time everywhere. Would highly recommend this tour if you have one day to see the Highlands, the Lochs of Scotland and a great couple of shots at the Dewars factory.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The highlight of our tour was the tour guide herself. Laura was awesome! She gave us history of the regions by their importance to the places we visited throughout the day.

Overall, the driving was the drawback. We covered a lot of miles and, really didn't see too much in the way of difference from the Pacific Northwest ( where we are from). The whiskey tour was a bit of a let down but it was neat to see how a distillery works.

The little towns we stopped in had their charm but we either should have stayed longer in these villages and had fewer stops throughout the day or we should have had the chance to vote on where we should stop and for how long.

We gave this tour a 4 because the weather cooperated and we had no rain. It was nice not to have to wear a rain jacket all day.

One other thing we would like to comment on was the comfort of the bus.. Make sure you get a bus that has air! With 16 people on board (which is a full load), it gets a little stuffy and our air didn't work. Very stuffy and very smelly!

We always like to book with Viator and we will in the future but other than a few highlights throughout the day, this tour was one of our least favorites.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great scenery. Whisky tour and tasting was excellent. Bus driver friendly and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

What an amazing trip!!! Thank you Al for your stories and Steve for your driving!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

It was a lovely day with our guide. He shows us a lot of nice spots in the beautiful highlands. His information during the trip was fantastic. We learned a lot over Scotland and history of the Highlands. The visit to Dewar was a little disappointed. Next time maybe an other distillery.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

A very good trip, not too long and not too short. You get to visit some great parts of the highlands. Whisky destillary was a bit disapointing considering the extra charge.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Beautiful trip. Great guide, Barney knew a lot. A bit too much driving, but the weather was perfect!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Great! Barney was a good guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good! I did not like the Whisky distillery that we visited ..but otherwise the tour was great and I really appreciated the tour guide who was informative and funny ...

Sari V
Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

It was perfect day! Dave, the driver, was great.
Views was fabulous and what more could I say.
I really can recommend this trip to everyone :)

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great tour.

Alison G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Great tour and lovely views. Disappointed again though as the Whisky Distillery we went to on the day of the tour was not opened to show us around and we sat with a slightly boring tv screen and a lady from the distillery talking about the history only. The Highlands and Glens were brilliant and our Tour Guide Ian is really great!!!! Good day all in all.

Keiko M
Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

I joined this tour as a group of four Japanese tourists this summer. The driving manner of the guide was so gentle that we could relax in the car. And the schedules were not so tight , then we enjoyed the sightseeing spot such as Dunkeld, Pitrochly, Queen's View, Falls of Dochhart and Whiskey Distillery. I'm sorry that the weather was no so excellent, but I could take thepictures of wonderful sceneries. Thank you!

PETER K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

A very long day but a good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Our tour guide was great. Most of the stops were worthwhile, but the itinerary got a bit tedious, especially the part after the Dewar's tour. All in all, it was worth it. I would definitely try other Viator tours in the future.

Mc.Anne
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Great day out with beautiful scenery. We had a great driver and guide. I would definitely book another trip with the company. The pace was good and I liked the fact that 16 was the maximum number. I did think that some of their joining instructions - reconfirming and bringing photo ID were a bit over the top. In the event I was not asked for photo ID, although I had brought my passport with me.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Allan was a great guide but the stops were just average.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Good but not great. Maybe my expectations were to high. Our tour guide Dave had a lot of great stories which I really liked and loved his choice of Scottish music. I was least impressed with Pitlochry, you couldn't even enjoy it because it took your full hour to get served your food and even then we had to take it in a take away box, the restuaurant was McKays and I would only suggest going there if you have two hours. Glen Loch was beautiful but we only have 5 minutes to look at it then it was back in the bus, but had 45 minutes and less exciting places? If this was a glen lochs, whiskey and the Sterling Castle I would have liked it much more. We just passed by Sterling and after hearing all the great stories would have loved have gone! The Whisky tour of Dewars was great, the tour guide was really good and I loved her scottich accent. This and Glen Lochs was the best part of our trip! Loved Scotland..and can't wait to go back!

From USD $ 65.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225008

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message