5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1030 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1030 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow, wow, wow. We have seen the Rockies and the New Zealand mountains, but these are something special. We had very nice weather, and actually got to see the top of Ben Nevis. The atmosphere of these mountains is definitely unique, with Glencoe being the absolute highlight. Daniel was a tremendous driver and host. I sat in the seat right by the driver, so when he was off the micropohone we were able to chat about everything - local music (check out Paolo Nutini if you like blue-eyed soul - our first stop after the trip was to HMV), the referendum, history. This guy is amazingly knowledgeable - he even recommended a pizza restaurant a few minutes from the last stop of the tour. It is a long day, with many restroom stops along the way. A few stops were probably unnecessary, and unfortunately, we reached Pitlochry when the shops were closed - too bad because Pitlochry is known for its woolens and knits and the shopwindows had us drooling. The Loch Ness boat trip is nothing special, but it is optional and a walk through the town can be chosen. Unfortunately, there is not a lot there. If it is possible, I would recommend that the tour company skip this stop and continue up to Inverness. But, that would make for a lot of driving, and it is already about 300 miles on the road. The small coach, 16 people max, is great. On such a long trip, you get the chance to meet people from other cultures, and this is a real plus. It also makes getting people on/off at the various stops a lot more efficient. This tour was a definite highlight, and once again, full marks to Daniel for his knowledge, good humour, and great choice of music.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Ally, was AWESOME!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Ally, was informative, knowledgable and hilarious. He could tell a story and make it come alive in such an entertaining way. Thanks Ally! We don't usually do tours, preferring to do the trips ourselves but this time we decided on a tour because of time. The Highlands speak for themselves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I thought our driver and guide was exceptional! Full of information and stories that made the trip far more eventful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a long day but we got to see a lot of the highlands of Scotland and even though we did not see Nessie it was nice to take the boat ride out into the loch. We stopped at quite a few places a long the way and saw beautiful country side. Would highly recommend this tour if you do not have a lot of time in Scotland and want to see some of the countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

After this tour my mantra became "according to Jonathon (our tour guide)" as he told interesting stories and the worst jokes ever. I was lucky enough to be sitting in the 'leftovers' seat at the front of the bus next to the driver so I felt like we were having a private conversation a lot of the time. We toured through the highlands to have lunch at Loch Ness where I wasn't fortunate enough to see "Nessy" and claim the current reward of about 1 million pounds. We ate at a lakeside restaurant to try to enhance our chances but no luck. It was a long day but well worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

a wonderful experience!!! very organized tour.. hats off to heather our bus captain, master and commander, entertainer rolled in to one!!! trustworthy crew.. my tripod got left behind the bus, but was returned to me the following day.. genevieve and i will forever cherish the memories of this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely the best tour we've had in the British Isles (England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and N Ireland). It was a long day trip but we felt like it was worth it. We only had two days in Edinburgh and it is necessary to do this tour to see as much of Scotland as possible in a short amount of time. Beautiful scenery. WOW! We know we are going back for a week some day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a wonderful tour. Our tour guide Daniel was brilliant and was very informative. The scenery was spectacular and he brought us to several different places and it was just great all round
There was an accident on one of the major roads where we were to complete our tour but rather than going back the way we came he asked all the tourists on the bus what they thought knowing that if he was to continue that it could add an extra hour to the journey. The tourists including me wanted to go on and return by the route where the accident took place. He brought us back by Glencoe and we were delighted to get the opportunity to see it and thankfully the accident was cleared by the time we reached the accident spot so all was good. So hats off to Daniel for the consideration he gave us. Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was great and exceeded my expectations. Our driver/guide , Mac, has a wealth of knowledge about anything Scottish and he kept us informed, and entertained, with tales of William Wallace, Rob Roy, the Jacobites and many others. It was a great day out and we thoroughly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

a bit long of a day, but the scenery was worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Johnathan was our guide for the day. He shared information about the sites and was so accommodating to all of us. The country is beautiful and the people are very nice. Will definitely make a return trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide, John, was fantastic! He knew his history incredibly well, was open to answering questions and, had a great sense of humor. His clear passion for the history of the area was very inspiring and,much appreciated. Loved the scenery and the places we stopped - was able to learn more about places/people/things that I had previously been interested in and, learned about. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the trip, the informative stops along the way, and the extra time at Lock Ness. Nice experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great time. Our guide was very personable and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent trip. Although it is a long day, it is a great way to see the Scottish Highlands and Loch-Ness in a 1 day trip. We made a number of stops. The boat cruise on Loch-Ness was enjoyable even though we did not see the monster!
Our tour guide Daniel was excellent. He was very informative giving us a wealth of information about Scotland.
He was very enthusiastic and made the trip very interesting and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The small group size was just right. Our tour guide had a natural talent for story telling. My only recommendation would be to skip the Loch Ness boat ride and explore the town instead.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the most beautiful and dreamlike journeys of my life...a most peaceful day spent with our guide Michael! He was hospitable and beyond knowledgable of the highlands. He even took us to places not on the agenda,played music for us and never hesitated to answer questions and take pictures of us. He was truly a wonderful guide. The full day together went by so fast yet well paced for resting and snacking.Viator made the whole process painless from beginning to end! I also used the hop on an hop off 48 hour pass and that as well was fantastic and we were able to see all comfortably. Thank you Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My girlfriend and I went on this tour and it was absolutely amazing. It was very long but very necessary. Our tour guide, Ally was one of the best guides I've ever seen. His knowledge about Scotland and General knowledge is second to none. He was a huge part of why the tour was so great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

we had a great time -johnthan was very very good he knew his trip and was very helpful with our questions
it was one we have been telling others about.dont mis it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved our tour and tour guide, Alan. Seeing the highlands gave us a great personal appreciation for the beauty of this country. The roads were not too twisty and we made ample stops. Alan is a fun, thoughtful, and patient guide. His voice is very mellow and melodic which can be very soothing, thus, one can easily fade to snooze. At the same time, his detailed stories of the challenging, often bloody history of Scotland and key historical figures makes one want to remain alert, both ears listening. This tour was the highlight of our trip. On my next trip to Endinburgh, a tour from this company is on the agenda.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was superb!
David, the tour guide and driver was simply the best!!!
I will book some more in the future and highly recommend this tour!
Many thanks!
Nawal Al-Otaibi

From USD $ 70.97

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225005

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message