• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 23 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Scottish Highlands Day Trip and Edinburgh Military Tattoo. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 23 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The trip was interesting especially the whiskey tour (additional). and the military tattoo was fabulous.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Military Tattoo was fabulous and the highlight of the tour. The precision and intricacy of movement while playing various instruments was awesome.
The day trip to the highlands was very good. Carole the guide was very funny and knowledgeable about Scottish history. The tour of the whisky facility was not bad. I don't think it added or detracted from the tour. I would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent driver and guide, knowledgeable and entertaining. Experienced some very narrow roads. Unfortunately the poured rain during the evening of the Tattoo.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

This trip was good, but we did not visit Dewars and another whiskey distillery was used.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The highlands trip was disapointing, a lot of bus hours and little to see. The tickets for the tatoo were very good and that was our main reason to take this tour, so at the end it was ok.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The Military Tattoo was fantastic and certainly a highlight of our holiday. Our seats were in an excellent position with good views.The day trip did take us through some very picturesque scenery however did not take us to Stirling Castle or the Wallace Monument but had a stop at an historic bridge instead. It was a hot day and our driver (despite numerous requests from a number of passengers) would not turn on any air conditioning. His comment was "I thought you Aussies would be used to the heat". Unfortunately the bus windows didn't open so everyone had to endure a very warm, stuffy return bus trip and it was a pleasure to be able to get off the bus at the end of the trip.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The rating for this tour is OK, the Edinburgh Military Tattoo was magnificent. Unfortunately, we are very disapointed with the customer service. Our discount was not honored when we booked for this tour. Agent from customer service was not helpful.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

What a absolute disappointment. This trip was not as described on the website. When I complained to the tour guide she sarcastically said "well it is the Whisky Tour". As you can see from the title of the tour it is supposed to be the Scottish Highlands day trip and military tattoo. We never got a break in the morning to have a drink or something to eat and had to wait for lunch until we got a break and then immediately had to do the tour of the whisky distillary before eating lunch. I would be very hesitant to book with Viator again given that the description of this tour is so different from the description. Also it is far too long a day as we had to be at the tour office by 8.00 am and we never got seats to the tattoo until 10.00 at night, even though there was an earlier show which we would easily have made. By the time we got back to our hotel it was 1.00am.

From USD $ 168.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17–59)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5211TATTOO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message