Viewing All 110 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I enjoyed this tour. It lasted about two hours. I learned a lot about the buildings and history of Edinburgh. The tour of the old parliment area and the current supreme court of Scotland was interesting. The information about the statues, the brick patterns on the walkways and the various alleyways between the buildings (each one is called a "close") added to an appreciation of Edinburgh. I went on this tour on the first day I was in Edinburgh and found it to be worthwhile and was a good orientation of the city.

T T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent guide really informative and interesting.

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We really enjoyed this tour. At first we thought it might just be going round a few places but we visited places that you would never have found on your own. The guide was really good and very interesting. Although we had been up and down the Royal Mile repeatedly, we had never noticed the things he pointed out to us. Well worth the money.

Julie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent, very informative. Nice to clearly understand the tour guide.

Betty R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This walking tour was a great introduction to Edinburgh. We took the tour our first full day in Edinburgh and learned so much about the city , its landmarks and it's famous people. We went back on our own 2 days later and spent hours visiting Edinburgh Castle, St. Giles Cathedral, and Holyrood Palace. Not to be missed.

Darrell W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide.

Susie R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

After a disastrous flight coming in to Edinburgh I thought my bad luck couldnt get any worse, and surprisingly I was right: this tour was great! The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, so much so I even bought a book straight after the tour to learn more about the Royal Mile and its secrets.

Jean W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a very interesting walk that lasted about 1 hour 45 minutes, just about the right length and found out quite a few things you wouldn't normally find if you were on your own.

Pamela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The walking tour was very informative and interesting. Tours are truly the best way to learn about a culture.

Michael V Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guide was highly knowledgeable, open to questions and very inspiring. I am very glad I booked this!!!

Mark R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very informative.

Scott781

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Be ready for lots of Hills, not great if you have heart issues

William H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Guide was well versed on the history. Interesting tour

krivet

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour offered by Mercat. What seemed to be unfortunate was it was held on a festival day with road closures and extra people on the Royal Mile. However, this didn't impact the group at all as our experienced guide took us around the groups and through unique alleyways, sharing the fascinating history of the area as we went. She was a brilliant guide who shared stories filled with not only facts but humour and intrigue. I would gladly join her for another day about the city and certainly found this tour set the stage for learning about Scottish history. Thanks so much, Mercat.

Diane W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable and fun!

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

William was fantastic as a guide, would recommend tour. Our 14 year old learnt interesting facts and wasnt bored. Edinburgh Castle was interesting also.

Theresa T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The only problem we had was the meeting place to start the tour. There are two statues at St Giles, one on either side. Instructions need to be clearer for those not familiar with the area on which side to meet at. We actually met up on the back side, not the front.

Anne S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If you only have one day in Edinburgh take this tour. Much information and many stories packed into 2 hours. At the end you will get a good orientation to what you will see at the castle.

CHELSEA L S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had such a wonderful time in the rain! Even though it was pouring, our guide was extremely informative and offered us wonderful information about everything to see in the area. She gave us great information about what life was once like as time passed throughout Edinburgh. There is so much history in the area and I highly recommend a tour of the Royal Mile!

CHRIS C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful way to start our visit to Edinburgh.

Stacy D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

wonderful, learned a lot.

breedcreek

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a nice tour that gives you some good information on the history of Edinburgh.

emily m

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Went at very busy time....lots of people to maneuver around; however, guide was informative, pleasant and interesting........

Travel tours

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Worth taking this tour. Only complaint was by the time I got to the Castle there was not enough time to see everything before it closed.

Stacey B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable in the Secrets of the Royal Mile, and she was extremely enthusiastic, despite the weather. It poured down rain...and somewhere in the middle of the torrential down pour, it hailed. I know it wasn't the tour guide or Viator's fault, but it definitely made the tour less enjoyable.

I would HIGHLY recommend the tour to others, and I would recommend the option to add the castle admission at the end. Just be aware that the weather in Edinburgh is tricky! The sun was out when we left our hotel that morning, and there were rainbows at the end of the tour.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 42.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293401SECRETS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message