Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hrvoje B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Although it was a gift, I got a feedback from my friend that it was a great tour!

Brenda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Our guide, Roger, was very knowledgable and ensured we have a better understanding of the history of Edinburgh

Amy-Michigan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great afternoon spent on the Royal Mile. Thank you!

Daniel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Fascinating tour. The guide was quite interesting and showed us a lot we would have never found on our own.

Alice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

This tour provided the means to become acquainted with the history and evolution of the city. I would have loved to hear about the building construction techniques used.

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our guide was delightful. There are many secrets in the city of Edinburgh, and we now know a lot of them . . . the closes and winds, old parliament building, and especially the horse statue! Well done.

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

It was a very rainy day when we went for this tour. With our rain coats in placed we traversed this old city on the Royal Mile and learned some of its history. We really enjoyed the information given to us by our guide.

Maria V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The tour was informative and fun. Sue our guide was brilliant. Highly recommended.

Douglas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I enjoyed this tour. It lasted about two hours. I learned a lot about the buildings and history of Edinburgh. The tour of the old parliment area and the current supreme court of Scotland was interesting. The information about the statues, the brick patterns on the walkways and the various alleyways between the buildings (each one is called a "close") added to an appreciation of Edinburgh. I went on this tour on the first day I was in Edinburgh and found it to be worthwhile and was a good orientation of the city.

T T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent guide really informative and interesting.

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We really enjoyed this tour. At first we thought it might just be going round a few places but we visited places that you would never have found on your own. The guide was really good and very interesting. Although we had been up and down the Royal Mile repeatedly, we had never noticed the things he pointed out to us. Well worth the money.

Julie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent, very informative. Nice to clearly understand the tour guide.

Betty R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This walking tour was a great introduction to Edinburgh. We took the tour our first full day in Edinburgh and learned so much about the city , its landmarks and it's famous people. We went back on our own 2 days later and spent hours visiting Edinburgh Castle, St. Giles Cathedral, and Holyrood Palace. Not to be missed.

Darrell W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide.

Susie R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

After a disastrous flight coming in to Edinburgh I thought my bad luck couldnt get any worse, and surprisingly I was right: this tour was great! The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, so much so I even bought a book straight after the tour to learn more about the Royal Mile and its secrets.

Jean W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a very interesting walk that lasted about 1 hour 45 minutes, just about the right length and found out quite a few things you wouldn't normally find if you were on your own.

Pamela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The walking tour was very informative and interesting. Tours are truly the best way to learn about a culture.

Michael V Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guide was highly knowledgeable, open to questions and very inspiring. I am very glad I booked this!!!

Mark R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very informative.

Scott781

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Be ready for lots of Hills, not great if you have heart issues

William H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Guide was well versed on the history. Interesting tour

krivet

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour offered by Mercat. What seemed to be unfortunate was it was held on a festival day with road closures and extra people on the Royal Mile. However, this didn't impact the group at all as our experienced guide took us around the groups and through unique alleyways, sharing the fascinating history of the area as we went. She was a brilliant guide who shared stories filled with not only facts but humour and intrigue. I would gladly join her for another day about the city and certainly found this tour set the stage for learning about Scottish history. Thanks so much, Mercat.

Diane W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was knowledgeable and fun!

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

William was fantastic as a guide, would recommend tour. Our 14 year old learnt interesting facts and wasnt bored. Edinburgh Castle was interesting also.

Theresa T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The only problem we had was the meeting place to start the tour. There are two statues at St Giles, one on either side. Instructions need to be clearer for those not familiar with the area on which side to meet at. We actually met up on the back side, not the front.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 43.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293401SECRETS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message