4.5 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  2 hours 15 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Royal Mile and Entry to Edinburgh Castle. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If you only have one day in Edinburgh take this tour. Much information and many stories packed into 2 hours. At the end you will get a good orientation to what you will see at the castle.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had such a wonderful time in the rain! Even though it was pouring, our guide was extremely informative and offered us wonderful information about everything to see in the area. She gave us great information about what life was once like as time passed throughout Edinburgh. There is so much history in the area and I highly recommend a tour of the Royal Mile!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful way to start our visit to Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

wonderful, learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a nice tour that gives you some good information on the history of Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Went at very busy time....lots of people to maneuver around; however, guide was informative, pleasant and interesting........

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Worth taking this tour. Only complaint was by the time I got to the Castle there was not enough time to see everything before it closed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable in the Secrets of the Royal Mile, and she was extremely enthusiastic, despite the weather. It poured down rain...and somewhere in the middle of the torrential down pour, it hailed. I know it wasn't the tour guide or Viator's fault, but it definitely made the tour less enjoyable.

I would HIGHLY recommend the tour to others, and I would recommend the option to add the castle admission at the end. Just be aware that the weather in Edinburgh is tricky! The sun was out when we left our hotel that morning, and there were rainbows at the end of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this walk which opened our eyes to previously unnoticed parts of Edinburgh. Our guide was entertaing and informative.

As mentioned in my review of another tour, there is a dispatity between Viator's and Mercat's Senior's concession age, meaning my wife missed out on the senior's concession rate for this tour. I will think twice about using Viator if this continues to be the case.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great guide. I enjoyed the information that was covered. This tour should be longer. We spent a lot of time in one general area of the Royal Mile and learned a lot, however we did not cover the entire Royal Mile which was disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a great way to see the most tourist-y part of Edinburgh while learning lots of fun facts and a bit about historic Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I liked the tour and the tour guide..
It's a must so as to comprehend the background of the old town.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very interesting walking tour. Learned a lot and you find out things you would otherwise never know.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very cool and Sue was very entertaining This is a great one to take the first day you r there gives you some insight into what you are looking at

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very interesting and guide very helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

we really enjoyed it

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Lots of fun with our guide, Roger, who gave us some interesting backstory.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Excellant tour and great to see under Edinburgh too

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Really enjoyed this tour. We learned lots of interesting facts about Edinburgh. Only wished that our guide was Scottish so we could hear the accent.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very intersesting ...allows you to see places you would not normally find.....intersting look into the court house too.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This was a very good tour and I particularly liked that we had the ability to see Parliament House, which generally would not have been accessible. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, but as my particular interest was in the origin of the closes and a tour of them, I had somehow expected them to be covered in greater detail. This is not a criticism, just a suggestion as they are quite fascinating in and of themselves. Very much liked everything, though and the information about the development of the New Town was good.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

excellent guide - very informative, you would not have wandered arround the areas they took you by yourself, and if you did you would not realise the significance of the areas

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

This is a nice little walk with lots of facts about the Royal Mile. Our guide answered questions and offered tidbits about Edinburgh. The group was not too large, and we moved along the street at a nice pace. Our guide also provided tips on historic places we should visit.

Marc R
France

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Instructive and a good way to learn the history.

Nicola S
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Reasonable value for money. Knowledgeable guide.

From USD $ 45.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293401SECRETS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message