4.5 star rating: Recommended 74 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  90 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Secrets of Edinburgh's Royal Mile Afternoon Walking Tour with Optional Edinburgh Castle Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 74 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This walking tour was a great introduction to Edinburgh. We took the tour our first full day in Edinburgh and learned so much about the city , its landmarks and it's famous people. We went back on our own 2 days later and spent hours visiting Edinburgh Castle, St. Giles Cathedral, and Holyrood Palace. Not to be missed.

Darrell W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour with a very knowledgable guide.

Susie R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

After a disastrous flight coming in to Edinburgh I thought my bad luck couldnt get any worse, and surprisingly I was right: this tour was great! The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, so much so I even bought a book straight after the tour to learn more about the Royal Mile and its secrets.

Jean W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a very interesting walk that lasted about 1 hour 45 minutes, just about the right length and found out quite a few things you wouldn't normally find if you were on your own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The walking tour was very informative and interesting. Tours are truly the best way to learn about a culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guide was highly knowledgeable, open to questions and very inspiring. I am very glad I booked this!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

wonderful, learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This is a nice tour that gives you some good information on the history of Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Went at very busy time....lots of people to maneuver around; however, guide was informative, pleasant and interesting........

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Worth taking this tour. Only complaint was by the time I got to the Castle there was not enough time to see everything before it closed.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable in the Secrets of the Royal Mile, and she was extremely enthusiastic, despite the weather. It poured down rain...and somewhere in the middle of the torrential down pour, it hailed. I know it wasn't the tour guide or Viator's fault, but it definitely made the tour less enjoyable.

I would HIGHLY recommend the tour to others, and I would recommend the option to add the castle admission at the end. Just be aware that the weather in Edinburgh is tricky! The sun was out when we left our hotel that morning, and there were rainbows at the end of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this walk which opened our eyes to previously unnoticed parts of Edinburgh. Our guide was entertaing and informative.

As mentioned in my review of another tour, there is a dispatity between Viator's and Mercat's Senior's concession age, meaning my wife missed out on the senior's concession rate for this tour. I will think twice about using Viator if this continues to be the case.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great guide. I enjoyed the information that was covered. This tour should be longer. We spent a lot of time in one general area of the Royal Mile and learned a lot, however we did not cover the entire Royal Mile which was disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a great way to see the most tourist-y part of Edinburgh while learning lots of fun facts and a bit about historic Edinburgh.

From USD $ 19.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293401SECRETS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message