4.5 star rating: Recommended 278 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Stirling Castle and Loch Lomond Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 278 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting trip. The guide has been very nice and well prepared. She knew everything about the places she showed us and their history. You fell she loves what she doing and telling. She is clear and it's easy to understand her even if you are not an english mother tongue. I am glad to have chosen this trip in december because the colours of the Castle and the Loch are amazing. It could be a bit chilly and windy, maybe raining, but this is Scotland and you have to love it

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful sights, knowledgeable guide. Great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Eddie was our tour guide and he made the trip absolutely great. He had stories, recordings and music to pass the time as we were making our way from Edinburgh to Stirling Castle and from Loch Lomond back to the City. Stirling Castle is truly amazing and the have exhibits for children, adults and those in between. Loch Lomond and the surrounding hills are awe-inspiring. Our guide also made stops along the way, for breaks, for a meal and quickly told us what each restaurant had as their specialties. This was a very fine journey, the walk up and down the hills was a climb and on the edge of what we could handle but the views made it worthwhile. This was a small group of 15-16 people and we all had time to ask questions and enjoy the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour of the Highlands was absolutely wonderful. Of course, the country is beautiful but our guide Pete made the trip one of the best tours we have ever been a part of. Thanks, Pete!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great 12 hour journey of beautiful sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Stirling Castle was great. Our guide Shelby was fantastic. Loch Lomond was cut short due to engine problems with our van, but we got to spend extra time at a small village pub and the tour company picked up the tab.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A remarkable day with an outstanding tour guide who regailed us with stories and music that matched the landscape as we passed through it. He took the time to stop several times along the way to let us smell the heather...or rather take spectacular photos of the stunning landscape. He climbed to the viewpoint at Loch Lomond with us and allowed us plenty of time to enjoy its bonny, bonny banks. We only had 2 days in Scotland, and this tour was the best choice we could make to experience its wonders, magic, culture and spirit. If you take only one bus tour, take this one...intimate, fun, informative and versatile...providing adventure for those who crave it or quiet spots of inspiration and rest for those who need it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ask for Shelby, she was the best guide we had on our whole trip!!!! great time! we are planning another trip to Scotland thanks to her. we have told everyone that we meet they should go and take this tour! and make sure they ask for Shelby!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

nice and beautiful environment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyable. Our guide Pete was informative, entertaining and made the trip all the more memorable. Stirling Castle besides being an important historical site is one of the prettiest. The free tour after admission was a bonus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

well worth every pence.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was ( Dan ) he was amazing, he had a good sense of humor, very interesting narration of the history of all places. Very enjoyable trip.
Many thanks!
Nawal Al-Otaibi and Azhaar Al-Otaibi

T Mack
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent and I would highly recommend. Our guide Gillian was very enthusiastic and knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide Gillian was fantastic, very knowledgable and informative. The small group size was very nice. Plenty of time at Stirling Castle and the drive and time in the Highlands was beautiful. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was superb!
John, the tour guide and driver was simply the best!!!
I will book some more in the future and highly recommend this tour!
Many thanks!
Eve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Again, I must point out that our guide, John, made this trip! He was so friendly and personable. He shared lots of information, stories, and knowledge of his beloved Scotland. Incredible scenery, really lovely tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was wonderful. Our guide (Dave) was knowledgeable and entertaining. The castle, Loch, and countryside were beautiful. It was well worth the price!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Stirling Castle is a must see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was excellent.
Very interesting.
James the tour guide and driver made it as interesting as possible with lively information all along the way to Sterling Castle and Lough Lomond. He took the scenic route including bridges and Heamis the oldest bull in Scotland.
We enjoyed the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

fascinating tour

Alan W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My Wife and I went on this Trip on 17/6/2014. The Tour around Stirling Castle [entrance fee not included] was done at your own pace [on your own] and we got 2 Hours to see it. If you wanted to, their was a guided Tour every 15 mins for about 50 mins by one of the castle tour guides [free of charge], then you had about an hour on your own to wander around the Castle [that's what we did, very informative].
A lot of historical facts and visual artifacts around the Castle to get to know the Scottish history of this region.
We then went onto Loch Lomond, stopping on route for lunch [not included] at a Trossachs village. The views from Loch Lomond were outstanding and we climbed a small hill to get even better views.
We made a few un-scheduled stops to take photos of a historical building and bridge. The Tour Guide [James] was an Historical Dictionary of Scottish History with antidotes,songs and Jokes all with a Wicked sense of humour, he made the tour for us all.
I would highly recommend this Tour, it is a full 9 Hour Tour but the time flys by.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Perfect

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our tour was wonderful and our guide, Tony, was very knowledgeable. Rain really was not an issue, rather expected. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide was great; the sights were great; the whole experience was great. Very well done.

From USD $ 56.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225006

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message