5 star rating: Highly Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:Flexible (suggested time is 2 hours)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the The Royal Yacht Britannia. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

One of the best visits that I have had while traveling in years. The Royal Yacht Britannia is a must see while in Edinburgh. It's beautifully preserved, and the level of detail provided is outstanding. The purchase of the tickets in advance from Viator made things so much easier.

Josephine C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Three or Four buses from George Street will take you to Ocean Terminal for the visit to Britannia. Go to Debenhams and the entrance is on the top floor. Having the printed voucher for this tour was good as no waiting around for ticket purchase. You enter with an audio handset and start at the top of the yacht working your way through each deck with a very good insight as to what it was like to be on this royal vessel. Plenty of interesting facts not just about the royal families time spent on board but what it was like for the crew as well.
We both agreed, this trip is well worth the time and money. Would recommend to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Self-guided tour with audio head-set- very informative regarding the Britannia and the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Loved the audio tour. Great attraction

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We had a really great time looking round it had a very homely feel to it and was not pretentious in any way which was lovely. The commentary was very informative and the staff were very helpful and polite. It was a really lovely experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Well worth seeing the yacht and the self-guided tour is very well done. This is one very high class boat but not every room is "over-the-top-opulent"! Very very interesting...a must do while you're in Edinburgh. If we'd had more time, we would have liked to try the tea-room but we didn't time it right for the rest of our day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Wonderful experience. Followed the audio guides from one deck to another. Viewed the Admiral's quarters, Queen's Boudoir, Phillip's Boudir, and guest room where Charles and Diana spent their Honeymoon. The sun room was beautiful. Enjoyed a delicious lunch on the Royal Deck and purchased many practical souvenirs for use on return home. A great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I think it was one of the best bits of my weekend only surpassed by the Dolly Parton concert in Glasgow and the Tattoo in Edinburgh. It was something that I have wanted to see for a long time and until the Thursday I didn't realise that I had enough time to do it. I would most certainly recomend this to anyone who has any interest in our countries history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Lots of great history given and audio tour very convenient

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Definetly worth a visit. The tickets may as well be bought at the dock.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Lots to see. Exterior stairs made moving from deck to deck very past and safe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

A wonderful insight into the history and eventual end of the active life of the Royal Yacht. The audio commentary was perfect as you could spend as much or as little time on the five decks open to the public as you wished.Very glad I booked in advance as the queues were quite long to buy tickets on the day.A MUST attraction on a visit to Edinburgh.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Highlight of a 7 day Ireland/Scotland trip. It was very informative and interesting.

SUSAN W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Really interesting tour. Audio tour is easy to use and would recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

If you dont visit anything else you must visit Britannia! We spent 3 hours on board and found it absolutely fasinating. It has been well looked after and there is so much to see. The fudge tastes as good as it smells too, wish we had bought more. Drinking tea view such fantastic views from the tearoom deck doesnt get much better. There were times when it was easy to forget you were on board a boat and not in a house. Will go back again, excellent value for money and so interesting.

James W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

excellent great tour really enjoyed it

Gillian W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

a must see .. a little confusing to find, best bet is to go into the shopping centre and follow signs or ask someone!

Linda C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great experience to see the yacht with original furnishings where many historic figures met or dined with the Queen. To be able to see all different sections of the ship and have the relevant audio commentary was fascinating. Highly recommend taking tea in the cafe on the Royal Deck.

STEWART W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Well worth a visit.

Patricia S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A very good, interesting trip. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We took tea on board and this added something to an already excellent visit.

Niamh G
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Fab bit of history - loved it and the tea room is a great experience, really felt like royalty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

The ability to tour at our own pace made this a wonderful excursion!

Maureen R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

It was really interesting. The audio guide included with the ticket price is the best I have ever used. The restaurant is a "must" to have afternoon tea in. I am planning to go back very soon with friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We were very impressed with the tour on the Britannia and felt that it was one of the highlights of our trip to Edinburgh. I encourage everyone to give it a try.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was fun to see into the life of the Royals. Audio info was very good.

From USD $ 21.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2026ROYALBRIT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message