4.5 star rating: Recommended 140 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  75 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 140 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

excellent guide good day out value for money

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Informative and narrative A different way to pass some time in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Guide was excellent made the tour very interesting and informative

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Excellent tour, great history, we may go for the ghosts & ghouls one next time, though we did manage to get some pictures of orbs. Tour guide was excellent too.

Ruth J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

the tour was good interesting you don't really get alot of time to realy have a look yourself it would be good to see other parts of the vaults also as we went on two tours and they were the same only in different names i picked up a few interesting pictures with something on it and also a sound like a dog barking who knows

BRENDON S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The instructions of where to meet were very clear and the guide was there on time or early.The guide was very informative and as we really enjoy history we loved his stories and information about the vaults. We will use you again as in the past,keep up the good work!.

Londa N
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Very informative.

Rikke P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

I went with 3 of my friends a couple of weeks ago, and we all found it very interesting! The historical background is very exciting, and the tour guide was very good! He mentioned at the beginning of the tour that this was not a ghost tour - but the ghosts wouldn't know that! And we did hear a couple of unexplained noises down there that made even the guide stop and re-think what he was doing! Even if you don't believe in ghosts, it's still very exciting to learn about the past of Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was very knowledgeable on the history of Edinburgh and brought the vaults to life with his interesting tales of days of yore. He had a good strong voice being a retired school teacher, so all could hear him. He was also very safety conscious throughout the tour, however, the ground was uneven therefore good walking shoes would be recommended. The lighting is very poor for atmosphere so if you are nervous of the dark don't go. The group we were with was rather large for the space in the vaults, our guide commented upon this several times. We thought that the whole idea of pre-booking was to avoid this situation by the company supplying sufficient guides. About half the group were people who had not pre-booked which spoilt the tour as our guide advised that we could not enter various area because of the amount of people. Not recommended for people with walking difficulties or young children.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We enjoyed thus tour but were disappointed as we booked a ghost tour and it turned out to be just history. The crypts were interesting but we could have seen them in half the time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very informative tour, well done to the guide. The guide was very important during our visit down in the Vaults as on our own we wouldn't have understand what we're seeing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

would of been nice to have a bit more time to take pictures as felt abit rushed but the tour and guide were very good and very interesting would go again !!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Wanted guide to include some ghost stories. It was on Halloween. Wanted more ghost stories and less history

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

It was plain and you are standing the whole time inside the vaults with weird smelling atmosphere

David Lally
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgable about the vaults- as you'd expect. But felt underwhelmed rather than overwhelmed with the tour. There are about a dozen rooms/chambers to see with the tour guides stories that takes over an hour. Booked online but can be purchased on the day if not busy/out of season.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The most interesting part was the history of Edinburgh. The underground part itself was plain. Guide was interesting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

was good, would have been better if you were able to see more in the vaults as it was quite dark, but the history was very interestibg

Karen Y
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Interesting but you only walk a short way to the vault. History of the vault good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Learnt a lot about old Edinburgh, interesting, But tour guide was dull in her deliverance....

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

entertaining and informative alex was an excellent guide

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Good tour, very informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Just a historic tour like many others but interesting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Living in Scotland it was really good to hear some of the history of Edinburgh, the guide was very knowledgeable. Will do a haunted tour next time. The only down side was we booked a tour for 12md, and planned our day around this. The guide didn't turn up and we had to then do the 2pm tour which messed our day up, as we didn't have much time to do anything else.

From USD $ 19.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293404VAULTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message