4.5 star rating: Recommended 152 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:75 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 152 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Extremely interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Was very interesting and definately worthwhile doing

John S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This is a must do tour when visiting this ancient city. Great way to close off a day walking the city above m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour , thought the group number was a bit big

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Our tour guide - I believe his name was Allen - was very entertaining and informative. We enjoyed this tour very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Very interesting! Guide was personable and well informed. Well worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Great guide with historic and spooky setting. Too short on time and actual ground space to give a 5.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Informative information given in small doses, which was good to take in and remember. Really wanted to see the Vaults - this tour was a good introduction of that. Worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The experience is very good but because the vaults are not very extensive the quality of the tour is down to the tour guide and mine was excellent. I rate it 4 stars.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

excellent guide good day out value for money

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Informative and narrative A different way to pass some time in Edinburgh

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Guide was excellent made the tour very interesting and informative

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Excellent tour, great history, we may go for the ghosts & ghouls one next time, though we did manage to get some pictures of orbs. Tour guide was excellent too.

Ruth J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

the tour was good interesting you don't really get alot of time to realy have a look yourself it would be good to see other parts of the vaults also as we went on two tours and they were the same only in different names i picked up a few interesting pictures with something on it and also a sound like a dog barking who knows

BRENDON S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The instructions of where to meet were very clear and the guide was there on time or early.The guide was very informative and as we really enjoy history we loved his stories and information about the vaults. We will use you again as in the past,keep up the good work!.

Londa N
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

Very informative.

Rikke P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

I went with 3 of my friends a couple of weeks ago, and we all found it very interesting! The historical background is very exciting, and the tour guide was very good! He mentioned at the beginning of the tour that this was not a ghost tour - but the ghosts wouldn't know that! And we did hear a couple of unexplained noises down there that made even the guide stop and re-think what he was doing! Even if you don't believe in ghosts, it's still very exciting to learn about the past of Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was very knowledgeable on the history of Edinburgh and brought the vaults to life with his interesting tales of days of yore. He had a good strong voice being a retired school teacher, so all could hear him. He was also very safety conscious throughout the tour, however, the ground was uneven therefore good walking shoes would be recommended. The lighting is very poor for atmosphere so if you are nervous of the dark don't go. The group we were with was rather large for the space in the vaults, our guide commented upon this several times. We thought that the whole idea of pre-booking was to avoid this situation by the company supplying sufficient guides. About half the group were people who had not pre-booked which spoilt the tour as our guide advised that we could not enter various area because of the amount of people. Not recommended for people with walking difficulties or young children.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The vaults were interesting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Had a great guide. The tour itself was good but not quite what I expected

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This was a very interesting tour. Certainly worth going along to, to hear about the vaults and how they were used. Not sure I believe they are haunted at all though 0

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We enjoyed thus tour but were disappointed as we booked a ghost tour and it turned out to be just history. The crypts were interesting but we could have seen them in half the time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Very informative tour, well done to the guide. The guide was very important during our visit down in the Vaults as on our own we wouldn't have understand what we're seeing.

From USD $ 18.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293404VAULTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message