4.5 star rating: Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  75 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Underground Vaults Walking Tour in Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Yvonne D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Really knowlegable tour guide who made the tour come to life!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The guide was highly knowledgeable, open to questions and very inspiring. I am very glad I booked this!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was fantastic! Our tour guide Lizzie was friendly and very informative with entertaining stories of the goings-on under the city. Everything was dimly lit for a spooky atmosphere, but not enough to make people feel unsafe. The stories really brought the eerie old tunnels to life. The guide's torch went out, so she couldn't point out details on the walls, but we were still able to carry on just fine.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Was a very informative tour and the guide (Linda) had lots of historic knowledge of Edinburgh.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Alex the guide was interesting and amusing at the same time. Well worth a visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I thought the guide was entertaining , excellent and informed of all the history . I would recommend it .

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour which we enjoyed very much, the hour flew by, covered a fair bit of history, yes torches are needed as the ground is very uneasy under foot. Our only gripe was our tour guide obviously had a Scottish accent but we were struggling to understand her as she spoke so fast, this may cause problems for some people.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed the tour. But suggest that as it's a dark cramped area being toured, would be a good idea to supply torches and hard hats on a deposit refundable on returns.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was very informative and the guide was great! As a walking tour it's expected to walk around and nothing was strenuous. In the vaults I wish it went more towards haunted history but it wasn't that type of tour. They also offer a walking ghost tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Enjoyed the tour, guide was a very good speaker.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a very interesting and historically informative tour. The guide had an excellent manner and rapport with the group.
My only complaint is that Viator used the cutoff age of 65 for the Senior's price, whereas Mercat uses 60. So, with Mercat, my wife would also have received the reduced rate. Annoying, especially as it applied to the three tours we booked through Viator.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Brilliant history told by a lovely lady who put a lot of umph into talk.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was extremely interesting and a part of Edinburgh we would have missed if we didn't go on the tour. It was thoroughly enjoyable, but it would not be good for anyone who is claustrophobic.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very informative guide and interesting Tour.

From USD $ 18.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 293404VAULTS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message