5 star rating: Highly Recommended 281 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 281 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing even the crazy weather couldn't ruin it. If anything it made for some interesting photos. John was very entertaining and had a fantastic knowledge of the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This is an amazing tour, an opportunity to see the beautiful country side and amazing castles. To make this even more magical it snowed throughout the day making it a perfect day. The driver Daniel was fantastic and did a great job navigating us through road closures and slippery roads. This is a must see when in Scotland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Paul (our driver) was amazing, not only well informed but also very funny! And Angela (office) was so helpful! Thank you guys for everything! We recommend the tour interilly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Marves our tour guide and driver is great. The van was very comfortable. He provided us with lots of information and kept our safety in priority when navigating the roads at the highlands. We had a very comfortable journey that's filled with wonderful scenic memories of Scotland thanks to Marves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved castle Doune, our guide was great , very interesting. The transport was very comfortable. Highly recommended!

YOLANDA CORTES
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Peter really made a great job on this tour. Many things I learned from this beautiful places!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good trip to have and it is very refreshing to see the surrounding outside Edinburgh.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an awesome- one of the best I have been on. We did it through viator through a local co called Rabbys. The van was comfortable and the variety of castles and sight to see were amazing. Lots of time to get out and take photos and explore. The highlight was Mike our guide. He had a wealth of information about Scotland and its history and a gift for story telling. We hardly wanted to take a break from the stories to see the castles. Great day and great price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was exactly what we were seeking. The trip combined castles to see with beautiful nature scenes in the Highlands. We were not disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I don't think I've ever enjoyed learning the history of a place quite so much as on this tour. Our tour guide/driver was friendly, knowledgeable and funny all the way through the day.The castles and sights along the way were breathtaking, it's amazing how much of the structures have survived in some cases. I think Doune castle was probably the best, especially with the Monty Python connections. Inverary Castle was beautiful as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our trip was wonderful and all we thought it would be. Our guide Joe was extremely knowledgeable and personable. He was very entertaining and sang to us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Mike, was fun and knowledgeable, telling us stories about Robert the Bruce and Mary Queen of Scots so we really connected to the places we were going and seeing. The weather was perfect, though I know that was all luck, and there was plenty of time to see all the places we wanted to see within the castles and lochs. The only thing I wish was that we'd gotten closer to Stirling Castle. since we never actually went into Stirling and only saw it from the back. Otherwise, everything was absolutely perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Jane. Our guide, was fantastic. Great stories that were told with a sense of humor and a solid understanding of history and the countryside. We saw wonderful castles and lochs and were not disappointed at all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour with a fantastic tourguide! Our tourguide had so much knowlegde - it was incredible. He was also great at telling all the stories about the fascinating history of Scotland. The scenery and castles were beautifull. Besides a great tour we have learned so much about this amazing country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Heather was the best!! I could've listened to her stories the whole time and I would've been happy (record them and i would definitely buy them ;p) Visiting the amazing castles along the way was just perfect too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide "Al" he was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The company, the tour guide , the content and of course the Scotland surrounding were beyond my expectation. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. Scott Smyth was an excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although it was raining almost all day long we had a very nice excursion. Our guide was very nice, entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was fantastic!! I have done lots of tours throughout Europe and the UK and Jane was by far the best Guide I have come across! Loch Lomund is amazing, everyone should see it.
I loved it :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide John Wells was cheerful, informative, and an all-around wonderful tour guide! The stops on the tour were amazing and beautiful - the only complaint I have was that I was unaware that it would be an extra admissions fee into the Doune and Inveraray Castles. So just a warning, if you are on a budget, neither is included in the tour price. We were given the option in Inveraray to just look around the town and the loch, but there was no such option at Doune. Otherwise the tour was great and I would definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Scott was a fantastic guide. He knew so much about Scottish history and culture which allowed us to see with wider open eyes. If we go back to Scotland, we will probably do this tour again and will cross my fingers that we'll have Scott!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide, Scott was an excellent commentator on Scottish history and history in making. Nice and easy itinerary, well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide was just awsome!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Since we are big Downton Abbey fans, we loved seeing Inverary Castle where the Christmas special was filmed. The whole day was great fun

From USD $ 60.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225003

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message