5 star rating: Highly Recommended 240 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 240 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was highly educated in Scottish history, which made the tour all the more fascinating!
I highly recommend this tour. The castles and lochs are beautiful, and the landscape is breathtaking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was wonderful. Fortunately we had good weather! The scenery was breathtaking, and our guide, Jan, was very knowledgable, personable, and entertaining. It was money well spent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic! Exploring all the castles was amazing as was the scenery. It is a long day with lots of driving - but the driving is part of the experience thanks to the scenery but also the guide! Our guide was Euan and he was seriously the best tour guide I've ever had in all my travels. He was welcoming, funny and knowledgable about such a wide range of subjects: history, art, current affairs, politics and linguistics. He made the day, seriously. He recommended two good spots to grab a bite, again two of the best meals we had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had the best day out. Not only because of the wonderful scenery and interesting places we visited but because we had the best tour guide ever! He gave us history, past and present, as well as a few jokes and some rather good singing along the way! Thanks to Joe our day was made very relaxed and entertaining even for our 7 year old who enjoyed the 10 hour trip as much as everyone everyone else did. Would book another one for sure next time we're in Scotland.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

a very enjoyable day. Ally was just amazing.Very well-informed and entertaining and an excellent driver as well on those perilous roads! The special detour he made on the trip from Inverary was the best.It is called 'the road to Hell' but was more like my idea of Heaven. The scenery was outstandingly beautiful and the drink of water at Moses' Well was pure nectar. We had plenty of local history about Robert The Bruce and William Wallace,Queen Anne(of the square coffin!),Bonnie Prince Charlie, examples of the Gallic language and Scottish music. I found the Loch Lomond song as we skirted the banks of the loch particularly touching especially when Ally explained the story behind it. I also enjoyed singing along to 'Mull of Kintyre' Ally has a lovely voice! Hope he liked mine!
We were a little squashed in the coach but had plenty of stops.The fish and chips in Inverary are not the best and rather pricey! Ally kept us all entertained. Such energy! Story-teller,historian,comedian,actor,singer,excellent photographer and driver all in one!! Just brilliant!
Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing tour! Our guide, Pete, was fabulous! Fun, entertaining and professional all at the same time. I couldn't have asked for a better tour of the country.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Gayle was a fun guide and headmistress. Fortunately a good sunny day for the castle visits and stops at the lochs. Even my children enjoyed the trip and did not complain during the 10hrs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip- the places were great and the guide was lovely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Jane our driver cum guide was great! She was a very good driver and was very knowledgeable of the sights and history of Scotland. Truly a multitasker indeed! Lucky to have her in our tour. Very interesting sights. Recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I have truly enjoyed this tour. Our guide Martin have told us many interesting stories about Scottish history relevant to the places we visited. In one day we had seen castles, lochs and some of the spectacular Scottish highlands nature. Whoever likes to see the beauty of Scotland and hear a lot about the Scots and the history, this is a tour to do! I would like to thank again to the tour company there for organising such a wonderful trip and to our tour guide Martin - it was unforgettable :)!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful way to see Scotland and learn of its history! Our guide, Ruthie, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and proud to share about her birthplace. Because she has also traveled, she understood where to stop for picture opportunities and coffee breaks. From the scenic drive to the chance to dip your toe in lochs and explore castles (I even got to unlock the door of a castle!), this is a perfect way to spend a day. If you only choose one day trip from Edinburgh, make it this one!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour takes you off the beaten track and the guide was very flexible on what the group wanted to do/time at locations. We visited more landmarks that I thought we were going to and it was a very full day. The guide was high energy, knowledgeable, helpful and fun. The guide tells historical tales and answers questions while driving. Would sincerely recommend this tour, especially for people who are new to Scotland, or people who have only a few days to tour. Great Trip, great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an amazing experience. The tour was very well organized and Mac, our guide, was great. One day trip full of stories about Scotland and traditional music. All this perfect mix created a surreal experience.
I highly recommend this trip and I will be using Rabbies again. Thank you for a fantastic day. Simona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The scenery is impressive and the tour very well organised. Our guide Pete was fantastic in giving infirmation, driving, joking, creating the tour soundtrack and singing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Just great!

From USD $ 69.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225003

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message