5 star rating: Highly Recommended 240 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 240 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful way to see Scotland and learn of its history! Our guide, Ruthie, was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and proud to share about her birthplace. Because she has also traveled, she understood where to stop for picture opportunities and coffee breaks. From the scenic drive to the chance to dip your toe in lochs and explore castles (I even got to unlock the door of a castle!), this is a perfect way to spend a day. If you only choose one day trip from Edinburgh, make it this one!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour takes you off the beaten track and the guide was very flexible on what the group wanted to do/time at locations. We visited more landmarks that I thought we were going to and it was a very full day. The guide was high energy, knowledgeable, helpful and fun. The guide tells historical tales and answers questions while driving. Would sincerely recommend this tour, especially for people who are new to Scotland, or people who have only a few days to tour. Great Trip, great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was an amazing experience. The tour was very well organized and Mac, our guide, was great. One day trip full of stories about Scotland and traditional music. All this perfect mix created a surreal experience.
I highly recommend this trip and I will be using Rabbies again. Thank you for a fantastic day. Simona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The scenery is impressive and the tour very well organised. Our guide Pete was fantastic in giving infirmation, driving, joking, creating the tour soundtrack and singing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Just great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Exceptional tour!! Words can not do this tour and this company justice. We were a small party of 5 and so had a bit more freedom. I went in the winter, which was wonderful got to see the Highlands in the snow, when Inverary castle is closed for tours. However, we you can still drive up to the property and get fantastic photos to fulfill all Downton Abbey fans dreams. I think what made it especially wonderful was our tour guide Gus. He was so friendly and knowledgeable. He invited all inquiries and I threw everything at him, history of Scotland from Jurassic to modern history he knew it. Also, if you're concerned about weather don't be, Rabbies has it covered. We drove through the snow with safety and ease. When we stopped for a picture at Kilchurn castle several other Rabbies tours that had faced greater weather restrictions had been promptly re-directed so that they could see as much of Scotland. I felt that I had ample time at each stop and simply communicating with your tour guide in my experience will help them to tailor the trip to everyone's enjoyment. I highly recommend this trip and will be using Rabbies again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This trip was AMAZING and so was our guide Emily she was knowledgable, pleasant and did an excellent job with the tour. Highly recommended this tour to anyone who has not been to the Highlands or for those who would like to revisit.
Lisa Hayes
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I loved the trip, our tour driver/guide Did an amazing job. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in the highlands and lochs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Stunning scenery and great tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The weather was not the best but the scenery of Scotland highland was just stunning. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

If I could only rate this 10 STARS. I fell in love with the Highlands on this tour. Mac our tour guide really blew this tour out of the water. THE BEST tour to date I have been on, even in the chill of November in Scotland. Rabbies tours, I would book with them again any time! Well worth the money and time, and drizzle. Castles, Rainbows, Sheep, Stew, Bagpipes, does it get better? Not for this girl!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I went on this tour with a group of six friends, all of whom could not have been happier with it. Audrey, our guide, was vivacious, funny, and enthusiastic, as well as quite knowledgeable not only about the sites we visited but also Scottish history in general. She told us stories about major points in Scottish history while we drove from site to site, and was happy to answer our questions as well. All of the castles and towns were very interesting and picturesque, and we felt that we had a good amount of time at each of them. We could not recommend this tour enough! Special thanks to Audrey, who we hope knows how much we enjoyed having her as our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I went with a group of six friends, all of whom could not have been happier with the tour. Our guide, Audrey (an Edinburgh native), was friendly, enthusiastic, funny, and knowledgeable. She was able to tell us all about the sites we visited, and on the drives between them she told us stories of major events in Scottish history. She was able to answer the questions we and the other tour attendees had, and was attentive to what we wanted to know and see. The highlight of the day was Kilchurn Castle (or the ruins thereof), an old residence of the Campbell family, which we were able to explore and climb around. It was one of the best one-day travel experiences any of us have had, and would do it again in a heartbeat. We also hope that Audrey knows how much we appreciated what a great tour guide she was! A tip for travelers: if you go in October, dress warmly! We were comfortable, but only because we knew to plan ahead.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! Extremely interesting and our tour guide was awesome and kept us entertained with his great knowledge of Scotland. Got to see beautiful landscapes and the castles were breathtaking. Definitely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would highly recommend this trip just the right number of people and Pete our guide was excellent.

From USD $ 67.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225003

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message