5 star rating: Highly Recommended 286 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 286 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! Extremely interesting and our tour guide was awesome and kept us entertained with his great knowledge of Scotland. Got to see beautiful landscapes and the castles were breathtaking. Definitely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would highly recommend this trip just the right number of people and Pete our guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour. Our tour guide, Karen was awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great! Our tour guide Shelby was both fun and informative. She made the experience very enjoyable. The countryside was breathtaking and the castles and lochs were inspiring. I would highly recommend Rabbies Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My daughter and I spent a day touring the West Highland Lochs and Castles in October 2013. This tour was a highlight of my holiday in Britain. Allan was a great tour guide. His knowledge and enthusiasm for Scotland and Scottish history was astonishing. Allan spoke for nearly 10 hours (well perhaps not quiet that long!) with great humour and intelligence. I can't recommend this trip highly enough. Excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent day out led by 2 different Tour guides with very different styles but both very knowledgeable and engaging the whole group. Really good value with lots of different sites visited and did not feel rushed in any way. The main road home around Loch Lomand was closed due to a serious accident but over the lunch stop at Loch Fyne, the guides came up with an alternative route home and were very innovative to ensure our trip was not spoiled and in fact made it unique. I would definitely recommend Rabbie Tours, who were the tour operator, to anyone with a limited time in Edinburgh and intend to use them again for a longer trip. The Minibus very comfortable and spacious for the small group size.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great. I was impressed the morning of our departure, because our names were already on a list and there was a staff member to direct us. The van was comfortable (so much more than a bus), our tour guide was entertaining, the sights were exactly what I wanted to see. I liked the music chosen for the trip and I will never forget the guide's explanation of the song "Loch Lomond" . Even drizzle did not ruin our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good in general Hard to confirm tour in Scotland by phone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful! We truly enjoyed every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing trip! Our guide, Lora, was wonderful! She was very knowledgeable and had a bubbly personality. She played music of the Highlands during the trip and then recommended several local artists CDs and a shop where we could find them. I fell in love with the Highlands and will definitely be returning!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was entertaining and informative. It was a great tour and is highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The driver/tour commentator (Shelby) was excellent. She had a great sense of humour and gave us lots of interesting information about the tour specifically and Scotland in general.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Rabbie's is an excellent tour company and is highly recommended. I enjoyed seeing the castles and the highlands. The day is long, but great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Awesome trip. Beautiful countryside, unique castles, informative driver/guide, good weather and a comfortable van made this an enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Lovely trip, Mac was a great tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Good tour. Excellente guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was worth the price! Easiest and fastest way to see about four castles. Beautiful country sights! There was a bike race that day so our driver make a stop in a restaurant so we could have some tea and walk around the grounds instead to be stuck in traffic. That was so thoughtfull of him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The day excursion to the Highlands - with Rabbies Trail Burners in Edinburgh was one of the highlights of our visit to Scotland. Our tour host - Sarah was a very dedicated and passionate host and provided such a wonderful overview of Scottish history. Her enthusiasm and dedication to her job was inspiring.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was Shelby, and she was fantastic. It's a small tour - the bus holds 16, I think. I would definitely book another tour with Rabbie's in the future, if I ever get back to the UK. Shelby knew when to talk to keep us entertained while she drove, and when to let us reflect on her stories of Scotland. And she's an amazing story teller. The passion in her voice as she talked about Mary, Queen of Scots kept us all enthralled.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Shelby is one of the best tour guides ever! Her story telling kept me glued, I wish I could have had history teachers like her! At the beginning of the tour she was very clear on the "rules" and when people were late returning to the bus she gently reminded them-so the mechanics of the tour itself were spotless.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing. Our guide, Sarah, was fantastic. Couldn't have asked for better. She was full of history and fun anecdotes. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed it and Laura was a wonderful tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The best of the 3 days trips I took, there are several photo opportunities and our guide Keith was great - you visit 4 castles: Doune (briefly, just for pictures), Kilchurn (nice walk and time to explore), Inveraray (you can explore and have lunch in the wonderful little town) and Stirling (just a quick stop for pictures). There a couple more stops in the way, I really enjoyed it!

Sandy
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My daughter and l loved this day trip made especially interesting by our guide Jonathan who bought the tales of the past to life with his renditions ( sound effects included ) he had very good historical knowledge. We loved visiting all the castles, had brilliant weather, lots of stops at beautiful lochs as well, it was a great trip and good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trip was fabulous and our guide was truly wonderful. He kept up an interesting and amusing commentary throughout, let us know about all the interesting and important sights and attractions we were passing, giving us history and stories, making sure there was never a dull moment (unless we needed a bit of quiet and then would put on some lovely music). Would recommend this trip to anyone!

From USD $ 60.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225003

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message