5 star rating: Highly Recommended 95 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 95 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our trip was good. The weather was wonderful, some sun and cloud but no rain. Water calm. Scenery wonderful. Boat large but perhaps not enough outside seating. The power station trip (on some timings) was not really too informative and probably just a way to fill time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

That was a fantastic cruise that I ever had, the weather was good and I took many beautiful photos. l highly recommended this cruise to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This is a fuller trip than Milford with more experiences. Well organised and excellent guides. Even though the weather was very overcast it was as good as a sunny Milford Sound trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a fabulous cruise, well organised, comfortable and staff so Kiwi friendly. The drizzle and overcast conditions made for intriguing shades of grey and gave us views of many waterfalls. A great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were lucky on this trip as the previous 3 days had been poor visibility and no helicopters had gone up.
Ther pilot Jamie was great - very professional and knowledgeable and set us down on a great patch of snow so we could get out and take photos
Very pleased with the way that the company looked after us and gave us an experience to remember

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The nineteenth of December was an great sunny day for our Wilderness Cruise into Doubtful sound. Really enjoyed the comprehensive commentory. Enjoyed sailing out into the Tasman sea experiencing the Roaring Forties. The geomorphology was stunning. Congratulations on the astute organization and service by Real Journey. The visit to the Power House was much appreciated. Not just for the sake of the pun, but, "i call this excursion a REAL JOURNEY." I regard this trip as one of the significant experience in my life. A Big Thanks Your to Real Journeys. Regards from Hugh and Susan O'Brien and their three adult childfren.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very well organised tour with helpful crew and excellent tour guide. The day well spend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

It was grey, it was very dramatic. An amazing contrast to a previous visit in bright sunshine.
What will next time be like?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very friendly operators and the weather co operated and poured with rain (100 + mm) which of course made all the waterfalls magnificent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Breathtaking scenery, value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent trip - well the money. The organisation was great and loved the scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It had been snowing through the night, before we went to Doubtful Sound. At first we could hardly see anything, and were very disappointed. however, as the day progressed, the sun came out, and revealed a wonderland of snow-capped mountains. It looked just like a Christmas card, so beautiful. We saw dolphins, fur seals, and even an albatross! I don't think anyone on board the boat went away downcast. It was truly an exceptional day@@

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It snowed in the morning but was sunny in the afternoon (end of May), so the scenery was quite spectacular. Cold and fairly expensive, but definitely worthwhile.

Paul J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Doubtful Sound tour is amazing. The captain of the boat while we were on the Doubtful Sound was very considerate of passengers and actively looked at making it a truly remarkable experience. This was done by slowing down for us to see dolphins and seals. Excellent tour company!

Cassandra T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My husband and I loved this trip. Were lucky enough to have beautiful weather. Doesn't get much better than sitting on the deck in the sun watching a pod of dolphins play. Magical.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Well run tour with excellent service. Would definitely recommend it. A MUST DO for your New Zealand itinerary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Unique, only one of its type, wonderful unique scenery, beauty, mysterious in the mist which lingered for nearly half of trip which added to the experience, then the mist lifted and we had great vision. Long trip, full day, well worth it. Unique sights (even in comparison with Milford which we also did.) Stopping boat near shore to hear birds and nature sounds was special, magical, another totally unique, excellent onboard commentary from specialist authority, great bus drivers across the land bit with good sense of humour and sayings.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Beautiful! If you get a chance to do this...DO IT! We were the only boat in this surreal place. The weather cooperated and they took us out into the Tasman. People on our trip had also been to Millford Sound, and told us not to bother with Millford because it was so commercialize-DOUBTFUL-A MUST DO!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

One of the most beautiful spots in the world!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It rained and rained and rained all day long, but what a fantastic day we had - the guide that collected us from the motel was full of local information. The Young female driver of our bus was great, her driving skills were commendable, especially after it rained all day. The cruise was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Doubtful Sound was profoundly beautiful and remote. The boat ride was one of the most unique experiencces I have ever had and memorable. The "Real Journeys" crew were well organized and informative. Overall an exquisite pleasure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Wonderful experience and well planned by travel company.

Norma S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great trip. We were well looked after by all the Kiwis who delt with us during the day, from the pick-up bus drivers to the boat crew. Dramatic landscapes and very interesting commentaries. The Kiwis are certainly an hospitable crew. Highy recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great trip. From coach to boat to coach to boat and back. Very well organized and beautiful scenery.

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The coach pick up from the hotel was 30 minutes late so we would have preferred to drive to Manapouri rather than waste time waiting for the coach. There wasn't a great deal of choice of food on the cuises, we bought some sandwiches at the jetty before departure. Coffe and tea was free on the cruises. The cruise to the power station, bus ride and cruise to the Tasman were outstanding! The scenery was spectacular, commentary excelllent and ride very comfortable. We have travelled to many parts of the world and highly recommend this cruise. We also saw a pod of dolphins. Weather was fine when we took the cruise but were told that it was even more spectacular in wet weather with waterfalls all over the mountains. Power station visit was interesting. We also took the Milford Sound cruise and were glad that we did both. Each has something to offer.

From USD $ 155.85

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ308

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message