5 star rating: Highly Recommended 74 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 74 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Breathtaking scenery, value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent trip - well the money. The organisation was great and loved the scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It had been snowing through the night, before we went to Doubtful Sound. At first we could hardly see anything, and were very disappointed. however, as the day progressed, the sun came out, and revealed a wonderland of snow-capped mountains. It looked just like a Christmas card, so beautiful. We saw dolphins, fur seals, and even an albatross! I don't think anyone on board the boat went away downcast. It was truly an exceptional day@@

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It snowed in the morning but was sunny in the afternoon (end of May), so the scenery was quite spectacular. Cold and fairly expensive, but definitely worthwhile.

Paul J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Doubtful Sound tour is amazing. The captain of the boat while we were on the Doubtful Sound was very considerate of passengers and actively looked at making it a truly remarkable experience. This was done by slowing down for us to see dolphins and seals. Excellent tour company!

Cassandra T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My husband and I loved this trip. Were lucky enough to have beautiful weather. Doesn't get much better than sitting on the deck in the sun watching a pod of dolphins play. Magical.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Well run tour with excellent service. Would definitely recommend it. A MUST DO for your New Zealand itinerary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Unique, only one of its type, wonderful unique scenery, beauty, mysterious in the mist which lingered for nearly half of trip which added to the experience, then the mist lifted and we had great vision. Long trip, full day, well worth it. Unique sights (even in comparison with Milford which we also did.) Stopping boat near shore to hear birds and nature sounds was special, magical, another totally unique, excellent onboard commentary from specialist authority, great bus drivers across the land bit with good sense of humour and sayings.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Beautiful! If you get a chance to do this...DO IT! We were the only boat in this surreal place. The weather cooperated and they took us out into the Tasman. People on our trip had also been to Millford Sound, and told us not to bother with Millford because it was so commercialize-DOUBTFUL-A MUST DO!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

One of the most beautiful spots in the world!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It rained and rained and rained all day long, but what a fantastic day we had - the guide that collected us from the motel was full of local information. The Young female driver of our bus was great, her driving skills were commendable, especially after it rained all day. The cruise was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Doubtful Sound was profoundly beautiful and remote. The boat ride was one of the most unique experiencces I have ever had and memorable. The "Real Journeys" crew were well organized and informative. Overall an exquisite pleasure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Wonderful experience and well planned by travel company.

Norma S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great trip. We were well looked after by all the Kiwis who delt with us during the day, from the pick-up bus drivers to the boat crew. Dramatic landscapes and very interesting commentaries. The Kiwis are certainly an hospitable crew. Highy recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great trip. From coach to boat to coach to boat and back. Very well organized and beautiful scenery.

From USD $ 181.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ308

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message