Viewing All 111 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It had been snowing through the night, before we went to Doubtful Sound. At first we could hardly see anything, and were very disappointed. however, as the day progressed, the sun came out, and revealed a wonderland of snow-capped mountains. It looked just like a Christmas card, so beautiful. We saw dolphins, fur seals, and even an albatross! I don't think anyone on board the boat went away downcast. It was truly an exceptional day@@

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It snowed in the morning but was sunny in the afternoon (end of May), so the scenery was quite spectacular. Cold and fairly expensive, but definitely worthwhile.

Paul J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Doubtful Sound tour is amazing. The captain of the boat while we were on the Doubtful Sound was very considerate of passengers and actively looked at making it a truly remarkable experience. This was done by slowing down for us to see dolphins and seals. Excellent tour company!

Cassandra T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My husband and I loved this trip. Were lucky enough to have beautiful weather. Doesn't get much better than sitting on the deck in the sun watching a pod of dolphins play. Magical.

gregg j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Well run tour with excellent service. Would definitely recommend it. A MUST DO for your New Zealand itinerary.

Malcolm C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Unique, only one of its type, wonderful unique scenery, beauty, mysterious in the mist which lingered for nearly half of trip which added to the experience, then the mist lifted and we had great vision. Long trip, full day, well worth it. Unique sights (even in comparison with Milford which we also did.) Stopping boat near shore to hear birds and nature sounds was special, magical, another totally unique, excellent onboard commentary from specialist authority, great bus drivers across the land bit with good sense of humour and sayings.

jemerson303

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Beautiful! If you get a chance to do this...DO IT! We were the only boat in this surreal place. The weather cooperated and they took us out into the Tasman. People on our trip had also been to Millford Sound, and told us not to bother with Millford because it was so commercialize-DOUBTFUL-A MUST DO!

Ann E. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

One of the most beautiful spots in the world!

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

It rained and rained and rained all day long, but what a fantastic day we had - the guide that collected us from the motel was full of local information. The Young female driver of our bus was great, her driving skills were commendable, especially after it rained all day. The cruise was fantastic.

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Doubtful Sound was profoundly beautiful and remote. The boat ride was one of the most unique experiencces I have ever had and memorable. The "Real Journeys" crew were well organized and informative. Overall an exquisite pleasure.

Geoffrey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Wonderful experience and well planned by travel company.

Norma S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great trip. We were well looked after by all the Kiwis who delt with us during the day, from the pick-up bus drivers to the boat crew. Dramatic landscapes and very interesting commentaries. The Kiwis are certainly an hospitable crew. Highy recommend the tour.

Carl H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great trip. From coach to boat to coach to boat and back. Very well organized and beautiful scenery.

Robert M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The coach pick up from the hotel was 30 minutes late so we would have preferred to drive to Manapouri rather than waste time waiting for the coach. There wasn't a great deal of choice of food on the cuises, we bought some sandwiches at the jetty before departure. Coffe and tea was free on the cruises. The cruise to the power station, bus ride and cruise to the Tasman were outstanding! The scenery was spectacular, commentary excelllent and ride very comfortable. We have travelled to many parts of the world and highly recommend this cruise. We also saw a pod of dolphins. Weather was fine when we took the cruise but were told that it was even more spectacular in wet weather with waterfalls all over the mountains. Power station visit was interesting. We also took the Milford Sound cruise and were glad that we did both. Each has something to offer.

Noel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Very professional company, service offered was great. Good commentary on trip. We really enjoyed the day. Would recommend it .

Graham E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellent. Superb trip and really well organised. Everybody (including our bus driver) were fantastic.

alnilam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Génial

Angela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

What an incredible experience! From the first coach journey onwards throughout the whole day. Crossing the lake was so atmospheric with the "long white clouds" and amazing peaks. So much information and such friendly and helpful people. Another superb coach journey just to reach the sound and the catamaran. Stunning scenery and wildlife as we passed through the sound and out into the Tasman Sea. A stop in Crooked Arm with perfect reflections and total silence was magic. We visited the power station during the return coach journey and driving into the heart of the mountain was a bonus. Sunset pictures across the lake as we headed back completed a day of wonderful memories.

Sharon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It was raining heavily for our trip so we were lucky enough to see Doubtful Sound at its best. The crew (including our bus driver) were fantastic. The only regret we have is that we did not take the overnight option.

Lynette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A must see.

Peter C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was an excellent 'value for money tour', with all involved being very helpful and cheerful. Just a pity that the weather wasn't as good as we would have wished

Graeme G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

What an amazing country to travel through such wonderful scenery Duotiful Sound is magic, spell binding, awsome and we were blessed to of had the bottle nose dolphins playing around the bow of the boat.

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Superb trip and well organised. Coach pick up from hotel on time at 7.30am. Weather looked bleak on first leg but cleared to beautiful day on the Sound. Do all NZ guides go on the same training course? Commentary a bit stilted. Power station trip OK not a lot of info from guide but trip on Sound absolutely brilliant. Lunches can be provided by the tour company - we took our own but stuff was available on the boat. High speed catamaran looked brand new! Best bit was when they turned the engines and power off so there was absolute silence. Of course one or two people had to spoil it by talking! Saw some dolphins, seals and an albatross. Went right out to Tasman Sea. Everyone says this is better than Milford Sound.

Sandra U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We had the best time, it snowed on the way back down Wilmot Pass. Would recommend this trip to anyone travelling to New Zealand.

Richard M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a beautiful experience. The scenery and weather was very cooperative. It had rained the day before and the waterfalls were spectacular. New Zealand is a beautiful country.

Viewing 3 of 5

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 160.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ308

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message