5 star rating: Highly Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Wonderful experience and well planned by travel company.

Norma S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Great trip. We were well looked after by all the Kiwis who delt with us during the day, from the pick-up bus drivers to the boat crew. Dramatic landscapes and very interesting commentaries. The Kiwis are certainly an hospitable crew. Highy recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great trip. From coach to boat to coach to boat and back. Very well organized and beautiful scenery.

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The coach pick up from the hotel was 30 minutes late so we would have preferred to drive to Manapouri rather than waste time waiting for the coach. There wasn't a great deal of choice of food on the cuises, we bought some sandwiches at the jetty before departure. Coffe and tea was free on the cruises. The cruise to the power station, bus ride and cruise to the Tasman were outstanding! The scenery was spectacular, commentary excelllent and ride very comfortable. We have travelled to many parts of the world and highly recommend this cruise. We also saw a pod of dolphins. Weather was fine when we took the cruise but were told that it was even more spectacular in wet weather with waterfalls all over the mountains. Power station visit was interesting. We also took the Milford Sound cruise and were glad that we did both. Each has something to offer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Very professional company, service offered was great. Good commentary on trip. We really enjoyed the day. Would recommend it .

Graham E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellent. Superb trip and really well organised. Everybody (including our bus driver) were fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

GĂ©nial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

What an incredible experience! From the first coach journey onwards throughout the whole day. Crossing the lake was so atmospheric with the "long white clouds" and amazing peaks. So much information and such friendly and helpful people. Another superb coach journey just to reach the sound and the catamaran. Stunning scenery and wildlife as we passed through the sound and out into the Tasman Sea. A stop in Crooked Arm with perfect reflections and total silence was magic. We visited the power station during the return coach journey and driving into the heart of the mountain was a bonus. Sunset pictures across the lake as we headed back completed a day of wonderful memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It was raining heavily for our trip so we were lucky enough to see Doubtful Sound at its best. The crew (including our bus driver) were fantastic. The only regret we have is that we did not take the overnight option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A must see.

Peter C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was an excellent 'value for money tour', with all involved being very helpful and cheerful. Just a pity that the weather wasn't as good as we would have wished

Graeme G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

What an amazing country to travel through such wonderful scenery Duotiful Sound is magic, spell binding, awsome and we were blessed to of had the bottle nose dolphins playing around the bow of the boat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Superb trip and well organised. Coach pick up from hotel on time at 7.30am. Weather looked bleak on first leg but cleared to beautiful day on the Sound. Do all NZ guides go on the same training course? Commentary a bit stilted. Power station trip OK not a lot of info from guide but trip on Sound absolutely brilliant. Lunches can be provided by the tour company - we took our own but stuff was available on the boat. High speed catamaran looked brand new! Best bit was when they turned the engines and power off so there was absolute silence. Of course one or two people had to spoil it by talking! Saw some dolphins, seals and an albatross. Went right out to Tasman Sea. Everyone says this is better than Milford Sound.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We had the best time, it snowed on the way back down Wilmot Pass. Would recommend this trip to anyone travelling to New Zealand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a beautiful experience. The scenery and weather was very cooperative. It had rained the day before and the waterfalls were spectacular. New Zealand is a beautiful country.

From USD $ 180.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ308

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message