5 star rating: Highly Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Very professional company, service offered was great. Good commentary on trip. We really enjoyed the day. Would recommend it .

Graham E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellent. Superb trip and really well organised. Everybody (including our bus driver) were fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Génial

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

What an incredible experience! From the first coach journey onwards throughout the whole day. Crossing the lake was so atmospheric with the "long white clouds" and amazing peaks. So much information and such friendly and helpful people. Another superb coach journey just to reach the sound and the catamaran. Stunning scenery and wildlife as we passed through the sound and out into the Tasman Sea. A stop in Crooked Arm with perfect reflections and total silence was magic. We visited the power station during the return coach journey and driving into the heart of the mountain was a bonus. Sunset pictures across the lake as we headed back completed a day of wonderful memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

It was raining heavily for our trip so we were lucky enough to see Doubtful Sound at its best. The crew (including our bus driver) were fantastic. The only regret we have is that we did not take the overnight option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A must see.

Peter C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

This was an excellent 'value for money tour', with all involved being very helpful and cheerful. Just a pity that the weather wasn't as good as we would have wished

Graeme G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

What an amazing country to travel through such wonderful scenery Duotiful Sound is magic, spell binding, awsome and we were blessed to of had the bottle nose dolphins playing around the bow of the boat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Superb trip and well organised. Coach pick up from hotel on time at 7.30am. Weather looked bleak on first leg but cleared to beautiful day on the Sound. Do all NZ guides go on the same training course? Commentary a bit stilted. Power station trip OK not a lot of info from guide but trip on Sound absolutely brilliant. Lunches can be provided by the tour company - we took our own but stuff was available on the boat. High speed catamaran looked brand new! Best bit was when they turned the engines and power off so there was absolute silence. Of course one or two people had to spoil it by talking! Saw some dolphins, seals and an albatross. Went right out to Tasman Sea. Everyone says this is better than Milford Sound.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We had the best time, it snowed on the way back down Wilmot Pass. Would recommend this trip to anyone travelling to New Zealand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a beautiful experience. The scenery and weather was very cooperative. It had rained the day before and the waterfalls were spectacular. New Zealand is a beautiful country.

Richard G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

A great trip.Shame about the weather

Ray L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Real Journeys are very organised. Everything ran smoothly. The bus operator was very informative and engaging. He was also very friendly and had a lot of knowledge to offer about the area. The boat captain was also very informative and made the trip interesting.

James S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent tour. Plenty of time to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy all the wildlife. We even caught sight of a Fiordland Crested Penguin. Quite rare. We were blessed with fabulous weather and the colours were amazing

Allert V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Have been to Milford Sound more than once but Doubtful Sound was something else! Only hassle was not to be told food was not included as it is at Milford. Same thing compared to the experience of Doubtful Sound but just dont tell too many tourists so experience will not be spoilt.

From USD $ 188.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ308

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message