Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

This was a great experience. A pity it rained but you have no control over that! Accommodation was good; both meals were excellent, and the after-dinner entertainment was much appreciated – good, honest humour!

Greg K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful evening cruising the Sound. The facilities were great, the food delicious and plentiful and a fully stocked bar! We enjoyed good weather and were treated to sightings of penguins ashore, seals and dozens of dolphins in a setting we see as out of this world. Most of all the crew were amazingly friendly, helpful and informative. Don't miss this experience.

Luise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fantastic trip and the highlight of our 17 days in the South Island. Weather absolutely freezing, raining constantly and heavily but nothing could take away the joy of the trip, the wonderfully wam welcome, the stupendous views from the deck although we could have stayed indoors if we had wished, the great naturalist resource in Blair who shared his knowlege so amusingly and so willingly. Meal was OK, room was superb. Have already recommended it to others who were planning to do the day trip only. If you have the time to spend on the Fiord I have learnt it is not a Sound! overnight.......DO IT!

Geoff D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wow. What a trip. Poured rain which made the experience even better, hundreds of water falls instead of just a couple. Next morning the first 2 hours were fine and allowed for some magical pictures in the morning sun. Food and rinks were great and we met people we will continue to correspond with into the future. Thanks heaps.

Nerissa D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We loved the overnight cruise on the Milford Mariner. It gave us such a deeper experience in the sound compared to the standard cruise. The accommodations were very nice and surprisingly roomy. Also, the food on board was very good and of generous portions.

Wayne S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Unique, spectacular, breath-taking landscape. Excellent facilities. Marvellous staff.

Christine S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Absolutely loved everything about the trip!

Susan S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent.

Vivienne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent food and good welcome by the Captain who is very entertaining. Cabins well presented with good quality bedding.

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great experience.

Hannah R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this cruise - met fun people, enjoyed the incredible scenery, and were impressed with the general attitude and organization of the company. We would and have recommended it to many others - actually, we made a point of going because it was recommended by some friends who went years ago.

Ian P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

It rained all day, so when we got there there were waterfalls everywhere, hundreds of them. When the rain stopped, we had a nice cruise, finished up with a friendly supper & a very comfortable overnight stay. Next morning was very misty, but as the sun came up everything cleared away & we had great views of Mitre Peak, falls, etc.

John H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Wonderful experience.

Susan V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

The highlight of our 2 weeks holiday in N.Z. A memorable experience we will cherish always and an inspiration to return and explore the other fjords and cruises. Our only disappointment was the fact that we could not have a shower as the water was cold and as the cruise was only one night and one morning therefore it did put somewhat of a dampener on the trip. We had selected an outside cabin and spent more money. Bathroom facilities are a very important aspect of our travel. We got up very early to not miss the early morning sunrise.

John H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Absolutely fabulous, exceeded expectations! Spectacular!

PETER Q United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Despite heavy rain, we kayaked and got even wetter. Waterfalls were amazing and also, though unusual for time of year, saw some crested penguins. Staff looked after us royally and meal delicious. Evening entertainment very amusing, slept like a log and woke up to see seals playing around boat. Wouldn't have missed it for the world.

J N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Great trip! Bunks were comfortable, lots of room in the boat, informative, entertaining, very relaxing and overwhelmingly scenery.

Joanna R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Trip very well organised, good and quick response from website. Excellent trip, was as described on website. Would definitely recommend and book again with Viator.

Nicolas C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Milford Sound itself was as inspiring as we had anticipated. The very well appointed 'Milford Mariner' was excellent and the enthusiastic. Friendly and competent staff optimised the experience for the passengers. The program was well planned and executed. It included a presentation on the flora and fauna of the sound. Passengers were encouraged to join the captain in the cockpit at any time, which provided plenty of opportunity for asking questions and general discussion.

Leslie K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We greatly enjoyed our overnight experience. Cabin was small but cozy, with everything we needed. Appreciated the afternoon tea and muffins after getting room keys. The kayaking experience was wonderful, seeing the penguin nesting area and having the seals join our return to the boat. The next morning seemed a bit rushed w/ only a half hour for breakfast. Wish we could have ventured out into the Tasman just a little to see the coast north and south. Appreciated the skipper turning around to see the group of bottle-nose dolphins which swam along side the boat for awhile. Crew was very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the commentary describing Sound features and also greatly enjoyed the evening slide show. We were back on shore before 0930, which seemed rushing it a bit. We'd do this trip again,
Les and Judy Kemp
New Haven, Missouri

Ian M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We found the overnight cruise to be everything we hoped it would be. The crew were very friendly and relaxed making the experience unforgettable. The sun shone putting the fiord into a glistening cascade of waterfalls especially when the boat moved in very close to the cliff face - rainbows rose in semicircles from the sea at each waterfall. The shear scale of the geography is hard to imagine.

Helen C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful experience of this with great food and fabulous views all around. We had good weather s well, but apreciate that can't be guaranteed

david b

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

A great trip. Beautiful scenery. Professional staff. Good food. Only complaint is that is starts out too late in the day to enjoy the kayaking.

John H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I really enjoyed the trip on the Mariner. The accommodation was comfortable and the meals were excellent. I would recommend this cruise to anyone.

Thomas R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Milford Sound is a must see, and I think an overnight is the best way to see it. We were all alone as we sailed the Sound. That being said, the cruise was not all I thought it would be. The first night is a short 1 hr. cruise up and back to a mooring within shouting distance of the boarding dock. The food was good and the scenery was beautiful. The next day breakfast and sailing began at 7 a.m.. We sailed out the Sound and into the Tazman. We were back at the dock by 9:15. So the sailing is quick but something you have got to do.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 206.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message