5 star rating: Highly Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Milford Sound, New Zealand
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Milford Sound Mariner Overnight Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

J N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Great trip! Bunks were comfortable, lots of room in the boat, informative, entertaining, very relaxing and overwhelmingly scenery.

Joanna R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Trip very well organised, good and quick response from website. Excellent trip, was as described on website. Would definitely recommend and book again with Viator.

Nicolas C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Milford Sound itself was as inspiring as we had anticipated. The very well appointed 'Milford Mariner' was excellent and the enthusiastic. Friendly and competent staff optimised the experience for the passengers. The program was well planned and executed. It included a presentation on the flora and fauna of the sound. Passengers were encouraged to join the captain in the cockpit at any time, which provided plenty of opportunity for asking questions and general discussion.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We greatly enjoyed our overnight experience. Cabin was small but cozy, with everything we needed. Appreciated the afternoon tea and muffins after getting room keys. The kayaking experience was wonderful, seeing the penguin nesting area and having the seals join our return to the boat. The next morning seemed a bit rushed w/ only a half hour for breakfast. Wish we could have ventured out into the Tasman just a little to see the coast north and south. Appreciated the skipper turning around to see the group of bottle-nose dolphins which swam along side the boat for awhile. Crew was very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the commentary describing Sound features and also greatly enjoyed the evening slide show. We were back on shore before 0930, which seemed rushing it a bit. We'd do this trip again,
Les and Judy Kemp
New Haven, Missouri

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We found the overnight cruise to be everything we hoped it would be. The crew were very friendly and relaxed making the experience unforgettable. The sun shone putting the fiord into a glistening cascade of waterfalls especially when the boat moved in very close to the cliff face - rainbows rose in semicircles from the sea at each waterfall. The shear scale of the geography is hard to imagine.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful experience of this with great food and fabulous views all around. We had good weather s well, but apreciate that can't be guaranteed

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

A great trip. Beautiful scenery. Professional staff. Good food. Only complaint is that is starts out too late in the day to enjoy the kayaking.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I really enjoyed the trip on the Mariner. The accommodation was comfortable and the meals were excellent. I would recommend this cruise to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Milford Sound is a must see, and I think an overnight is the best way to see it. We were all alone as we sailed the Sound. That being said, the cruise was not all I thought it would be. The first night is a short 1 hr. cruise up and back to a mooring within shouting distance of the boarding dock. The food was good and the scenery was beautiful. The next day breakfast and sailing began at 7 a.m.. We sailed out the Sound and into the Tazman. We were back at the dock by 9:15. So the sailing is quick but something you have got to do.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Found the Staff pleasant and helpful. Really enjoyed the overnight trip. The only way to do it and stay relaxed. The weather was great but would still have been good if it rained.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The folks at Real Journey do an awesome job at ensuring you enjoy the experience of visiting the Milford Sounds. An awe inspiring part of New Zealand and while worth the visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The Milford Sound Over night Cruise was amazing, the crew were very informative and the food was fantastic, Clear blue skies, a full moon what more could we ask for, well done every body, highly recommended

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Overnight cruise on Milford Mariner was well worth it - great crew and very comfortable. Plus staying overnight we saw some contrasting weather conditions, which is part of the experience of Milford Sound.

Sandra D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Great trip and worth doing. Ship was great, very new and smart small cabins. Food excellent. Nature expert who gave talk after dinner was superb - funny and very informative. Only downside you should be aware of - the cruise element is quite small as the Sound is not long, so don't think you are cruising for hours! One tip - go on the tender or kayak excursions from the ship rather than staying on board - there is nothing to do while you wait 2 hours for boats to return, and you get eaten by sandflies!!

Merilyn D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Despite the weather not being ideal, the crew were able to make the trip really great. The food was good, the accommodation clean, secure and comfortable, and the activities were informative and fun.

From USD $ 235.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJMFN_MILFORD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message