4.5 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Milford Sound, New Zealand
  • Duration:  1 hour and 45 minutes

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is an awesome tour that I will be recommending to others. The commentary was fun and informative, the scenery spectacular and the food was pretty good also.

The only complaint is, as I was accompanied by an elderly person who has trouble walking any distance, the walk from the carpark to the wharf is a little long, perhaps a shuttle service should be provided for more imobile patrons. Otherwise fanatastic. Well done!

fdik
Russian Federation

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Excellent cruise. Everything very accurately and in time. The only thing, walk it is small on time, for 1 h 50 minutes you manage to examine only the main gulf, and there is a wish to look at other gulfs.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Wonderful scenery, fantastic journey, great meal provided.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The experience was well worth it even allowing for the rain. The waterfalls were spectacular. The only thing I was not happy about was prices displayed to buy drinks were not correct and they would not honour the board prices. Staff were a bit rude.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We had an excellent time on the cruise, the only downside was the weather!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Stunning views, delicious meal provided and very well detailed explanation during the cruise.

Robert M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

A beautiful day and a thoroughly enjoyable cruise. The scenery is stunning! The only complaint we had was that there were not any window tables available to us, even though we were one of the first passengers to board. The tables were all allotted to tour groups, even though we had booked months in advance. We were told to find a seat upstairs to eat, what turned out to be - a delicious buffet. Not fair really, but everything else was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Beautiful!

Helen D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

A greet cruise but skip the lunch, otherwise you'll find yourself running outside between mouthfuls to look at the view and, if you're lucky, (we were) the dolphins. You can change your mind once you get on board.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Due to mist and train we didn't see a lot but it was still a fabulous cruise..really eerie and mysterious. Loved it

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

I was very pleased with the whole experience and the 11am cruise was the one to be on as all the coaches arrived later. The lunch buffet was good too.

Trevor B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Better organization or verbal explanation by staff at entrance of the reserved seating for the lunch.There was some confusion regarding reserved signs on some of the tables which were reserved for certain groups.

Walles M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The trip to Milford Sound was sensational. The scenery beautiful. Unfortunately the food was not good, but the trip is still worth it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Scenery and ship fantastic. Lunch not so great and very early

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Ok trip, but not very well organized.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Heavy rain/strong winds kept passengers inside the cruise vessel for most of the excursion. Although there's a lot more waterfalls due to the rain, did not managed to experience the tranquility of Milford Sound

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The day was beautiful. Staff courteous and helpful. Pity about the photographer not being available after the cruise so we could purchase/order photos he had taken. It was obvious that there'd been little rain with only 2 waterfalls to be seen, however this did not detract from the beauty of the Sound.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The cruise on Milford Sound is a 'must' for anyone visiting the South Island. Although it is a long trip from Queenstown there and back, it is spectacular scenery. The boat and crew are excellent, the lunch is of very poor quality and not worth the price. Our advice would be to stop somewhere on the way and eat; spend the time on the Sound enjoying the scenery.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The trip was very well organised from the moment we checked in at the terminal with the boat being quite spacious both inside and the viewing decks outside. The very informative commentary by the Captain was also very useful as was the complimentary tea and coffee. Go on the 11.00am cruise if you can as it is usually much quieter (all the coach trips arrive for the 1.30pm cruise)

Davjo
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Would have been lovely boat trip only for the weather, according to one of the boat staff, your lucky to get a clear day ....1 in 5 he said... Its all down to clever marketing. So you take your chances, would we have done the long road trip if wed known, for a dreary old day out? No!

From USD $ 41.27

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3960MFNREDB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message