4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Te Anau Glow Worm Caves Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Reginald W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The spectacle is amazing and the action of the water features is dramatic - worth experiencing without the glow worms which were indeed not impressive. The support and service from the staff was first class in content and presentation. Both my wife and I would thoroughly recommend this attraction

Brooke M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought the tour was great -- a beautiful boat ride over to the caves and then an exciting walk through the grotto. It was early but the worms glowed brightly.

Jane T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Brilliant trip, I'd definitely recommend it to others. The guides were very informative and friendly.

Leanne F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

A fascinating experience. The guide provided wonderful insights into the cave and the glowworms and the trip across Lake Te Anau was a bonus.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Well organised - not to be missed.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A lovely little trip, the glow worms were amazing and the access to see them an experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The glow worm cave tour is a must see. It was a great experience for our family from the boat trip over to the actual cave tour itself. The guides were informative both on the transport boat about the area and about the caves and glow worms. The only thing they may consider is not taking very small children on the tour as it recommended to have no noise in the caves and parents on our tour found it hard to keep their toddler quiet. A little extra time at the education centre before heading back would also be good so that you have an opportunity to read all the information provided as well as grab coffee. Overall we loved the experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This is the most touristy thing I have done while traveling in years. Generally, I hate touristy things. That said, it was very well organized and the glow worms were amazing. Great experience and very happy I did it, touristy or not.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really magical seeing the glow worms - more of them than I thought there would be - and going in the small boar in the pitch black was really fun and atmospheric. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed the trip across the lake in day light, as well as the time spent in the caves. Guide was very informative

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Was a fun experience. We did it during the day time and the weather was in our favour so the boat cruise on the lake was quite enjoyable. Had never seen a glow worm cave before. Was very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was amazing, I would do it again :)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Definitely a must-see if you have the time available in Te Anau, guides could be more informative, but the natural beauty of the cave and spectacle of the glow worms more than compensates. Going to take the opportunity to also advise you to go to the restaurant RED CLIFF, which is undeniably the best hidden gem in Te Anau. If you're in town for the night, do yourself a favour and book a table.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a very interesting tour. The glow worms are an unusual creature that I am glad I had the opportunity to learn about. The tour is informative and comfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

An interesting day out but not really enough time underground. the glow worms were quite bright and looking up was rather like a clear starry night in U.K. Probably much more interesting if you have not done other Glowworm visits elsewhere. The lecture about glowworms was well put together and accurately presented. I felt that maybe the outer parts of the cave could have been better lit but maybe this would have disturbed the glows worms ?

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We all enjoyed our trip to the caves, Guides were good and informative. great experience for the kids an adults like.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

One of the highlights of the South Island. It is really quite amazing inside the caves. Shame they don't let you take photographs, not even without the flash.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

this trip was very good we both enjoyed it..

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is an awesome experience with informative and friendly guides.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Good but not the best glow worms...but the cave was excellent so was the little boat ride..

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Had a great time. Friendly staff, good facilities.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Excellent staff and guides knowledge excellent. Well worth it. Trip across lake spectacular.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Loved it!!!

Gopal
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The boat trip across the lake was really scenic. The boat ride inside the cave in pitch dark condition allows you to view the glow worms up close and the views were absolutely stunning. The short film on the life of the glow worm life was interesting. It was a worthy trip.

From USD $ 51.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ400

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message