4.5 star rating: Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Te Anau Glow Worm Caves Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Stephen G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Brilliant informative experience

Denise B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

the cave where great

Merissa M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour was great, but not for those scared of tight spaces or darkness. Had to crouch low in some spots on the walk to the grotto, and the boat ride to the caves was nice too. Better to do this tour at dusk, best time. Really loved it, interesting to learn about the glow worm too.

Suzanne
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A very interesting tour well worth the time even on a miserable rainy day.

Lucy T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very good value for money, brilliant trip!

Jean S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This more about the formation of the caves. The amount of water rushing through has to be seen to be believed, we were there after constant rain. The peacefulness of the glow worm itself was magic!

Reginald W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The spectacle is amazing and the action of the water features is dramatic - worth experiencing without the glow worms which were indeed not impressive. The support and service from the staff was first class in content and presentation. Both my wife and I would thoroughly recommend this attraction

Brooke M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I thought the tour was great -- a beautiful boat ride over to the caves and then an exciting walk through the grotto. It was early but the worms glowed brightly.

Jane T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Brilliant trip, I'd definitely recommend it to others. The guides were very informative and friendly.

Leanne F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

A fascinating experience. The guide provided wonderful insights into the cave and the glowworms and the trip across Lake Te Anau was a bonus.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed the trip across the lake in day light, as well as the time spent in the caves. Guide was very informative

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Was a fun experience. We did it during the day time and the weather was in our favour so the boat cruise on the lake was quite enjoyable. Had never seen a glow worm cave before. Was very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was amazing, I would do it again :)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Definitely a must-see if you have the time available in Te Anau, guides could be more informative, but the natural beauty of the cave and spectacle of the glow worms more than compensates. Going to take the opportunity to also advise you to go to the restaurant RED CLIFF, which is undeniably the best hidden gem in Te Anau. If you're in town for the night, do yourself a favour and book a table.

From USD $ 61.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2264RJ400

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message