4.5 star rating: Recommended 1010 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chianti Region Wine Tasting Half-Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1010 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tons of fun. The vineyard was amazing and the castle had a ton of history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Florence. It was terrible weather pouring with rain all day, when we went which spoiled it to begin with. The coached picked us up opposite the train station met by a lovely tour guide who gave us commentary in three languages during our drive out of Florence and up the hills into the Chianti Region. We went to a castle up in the Tuscany hills where we had another tour by one of the proprietors of the vine yard. He gave us an amazing explanation of the wine making process and the extra virgin olive oil. We saw the wine cellars and then we all sat in a stunning old hall in the castle and had a mini wine tasting lesson followed by three glasses of wine, white and two red Chianti. Plus a plate of bead with traditional local toppings including the Extra Virgin oil. It was simple and lovely. When we finished and ventured outside the rain had stopped but it had left a fabulous mist over the hills which made the landscape look like a
film. I will never forget the experience, the views, and the wine! We brought several bottles in the shop afterwards, which please make sure you are not taking back in hand luggage- because I made the foolish mistake of forgetting the rule of liquid in hand luggage and had to pay extra at the airport to check in the bag, but it was worth it the wine and E.V. oil was wonderful. Thoroughly recommend this tour to a wonderful independent wine makers in stunning scenery and such lovely people too, it did not feel commercial I really felt welcome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

loved to tasting layout great wine great food! the square was kinda neat as well

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Suzie, our tour guide, gave us a walking tour of the castle at the vineyard. Wine tasting was great and bought some to take home.....very enjoyable!

Paul from Orlando, FL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour of the palacio was great. Informative, interesting, the wine was great(i am not a wine lover) and the snacks were good. I learned everything i needed to know about olive oil!
The first stop to the cave in santa brigida was not worth the walk in the rain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of our visit to Florence. It was just beautiful. The weather was perfect, the tour group was small, our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable of the Tuscan region.
The bus ride through Tuscany was beautiful. The castle where the Chianti wines are produced was enchanting. The wine tasting was excellent. They served four different wines along with authentic Italian cheeses and bruschetta. The visit to the town of Greve was a plus. Lovely town with a beautiful main square filled with local merchants and music.
We recommend this tour highly!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My partner and I have heard that the Chianti region is a must-see when we were in Florence. We booked the trip and we were both very glad that we did. It was a 5 hour-ish tour of which 2 hours were for commuting from Florence-Chianti and vice versa (1 hour each way). We loved our tour guide! Her name is Deborah Vannucci. She was fantastic! Very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The tour was well-worth the money. However, IF you absolutely love wine, wine tasting and have a strong desire to explore the region as well as spend more time there, I would recommend doing it on your own. I won't forget to mention the the tour guide (Deborah) also gave me great recommendations for great restaurants/food/wine for Cinque Terre!

Chris T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Beautiful trip to wine region. Great setting in castle for wine tasting. Fun day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very fun and relaxing, one of our favorite memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely brilliant day! The trip was well organised, the pick up point was easy to find, the guide spoke really good English and it was great value for money. The wine tasting involved lots of glasses of different wines (not just a few sips like I was expecting) plus a large plate of food! Fab!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I have never been on winery tour before and this was brilliant for our first time. It was very relaxed, no wine snobbery involved which I was worried about. The place was beautiful, tour was informative and wines were brilliant. Would definitely recommend :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Breath taking! I loved this tour because it was "just enough". It was 1/2 day. The winery was great - the views awesome - the guides knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved the tour. Was concerned about going on a bus with a bug group but was great and perfect timing. Loved the family owned aspect of the vineyard. Definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Lovely to get out into the countryside after 5 days of city museums and touring the sights so pretty. The Vineyard was lovely the wine was great. Lovely snacks to go with the wines and very helpful guide. The bus was very nice. The stop at Gere was fabulous they happened to be having a village festival just by our luck!

Would highly reccomend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was just what we were looking for! The wine was excellent and the food provided was delicious! We loved our tour guide. He was fun, friendly, and informative. Some people were upset bc it wasn't 2 wineries but I didn't feel sorry for them. They should have read the description before buying tix!

From USD $ 60.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 9+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 24285AGROUP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message