Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 193 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Antoinette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Finding the initial meeting place for the trip was difficult; however, that is the only negative. Once we began our ride on a comfortable bus, our tour guide was charming and informative and kept us abreast of everything of interest on the ride. The castle winery was beautiful and the guide there was wonderful. The tasting consisted of cheese, bread, and two glasses of red wine, which were delicious. The third wine was a dessert wine in which we dunked our biscotti as instructed. Then we were taken to Greve and allowed to roam on our own for a while. Adorable town. Then we went to a hilltop in Chianti with a church for picture taking as the sun was setting over the valley. Breathtaking!!!! We went to a restaurant after for a delicious dinner. As we boarded the bus after a long, wonderful day, we were in agreement that this was one of the best highlights of our trip to Italy. Do it, you won't be sorry!!!

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our guide was very pleasant and informative and had a great sense of humor. Everything was well done. She had to deal with some events beyond her control--a couple left a camera at the restaurant, and there was a traffic jam on the way back. She gracefully handled each situation and always looked to make things as comfortable as possible for the tour takers. My pregnant wife needed to sit near the front of the bus; I mentioned it to our guide at the beginning, and when we got on the bus, the first seats were assigned to us. This was well worth it, and I would highly recommend it as a very enjoyable Chianti, Tuscany experience.

Renee S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Tuscany is so beautiful, and this tour shows you the best spots. The wine tasting was very ample, and dinner was great. Tour guide was a bit PMSy, but the rest of the group made up for it. Definitely worth the cash.

Tom M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was fabulous. There were 8 of us traveling together, and we shared a great time. The tour guide was very thorough with explanations, and the bus was comfortable. The views were spectacular, and the castle tour was great, although they could have spared a little more wine for tasting; two samples were not enough. The dinner was good; again could have spared a bit more wine and offered purchasing. All in all, a great tour!

Joan L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a beautiful trip with a lovely driver and guide. The stops chosen were perfect. Wine was amazing, and the meal just finished it off nicely. This was the best day we had in Italy. Thank you.

Suzanne D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This tour was better than expected. Even with the rain, it was beautiful and romantic. The wine was great! We even found our new favorite red. Dinner was just OK. The best parts were the new friends we made, the friendly and funny tour guide, and the bus driver. This was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Rodney I USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Out of all of the tours we went on, we enjoyed this one the most. It was really well done. The pace was perfect, the Tuscany countryside was beautiful, and the castle and wine tasting was a perfect ending.

niro

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Really good the Japanese architect lady was very knowledgeable about not just wine but architecture as well which was a plus. Great venues and Michelin experience and best was the medieval village. Amazing well worth!!!

Craig H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The vineyard was great - excellent wine and plenty to eat/drink while tasting. Aside from the vineyard, the rest of the trip seemed rushed. We had approximately 30 minutes in each of the towns that we stopped in which allowed for a bathroom break and a quick glass of wine. We would have liked more time in the towns, or to skip one town completely and give extra time in the other. The dinner was average and was served family style, which is always a little awkward when you're at a table with complete strangers. The tour was a great way to see Chianti and to taste some great wine. Plus, you don't have to worry about a designated driver. Worth doing for sure.

Corinne H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice afternoon/evening in Chianti. Not much time in Greve, but there was only such that you can fit into an afternoon.

Melanie M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The trip was enjoyable and we were being tsken to the best vineyard in Chianti.
Love the participants who came from all over continents of the world, making the whole trip so memorable.
One thing's missing is the sightseeing part to the picturesque part of Chianti that we always see on the internet.

Peri N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All the places we visited were great. The tour guide was hard to understand as she was asian, surprising.
I think a good suggestion for selection of people would be to match similar interests. A few couples talked the whole time about marriage, etc. and seemed that they only wanted to do tour to drink wine.
There was so much more to the trip to learn about.

Christine S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Transportation was comfortable, driving good, and tour-guides knowledgeable. The scenery was beautiful and the wine-tasting trip informative and fun. The visits to two towns in the Chianti area were also nice; we preferred Greve in Chianti. We are not sure both are really necessary. The dinner was a mixed bag. Some of the food was excellent and the camaraderie of the group was great. Why not have the dinner at the winery or other agriturismo/farm type of venue,or at least in one of the two towns visited?

Calvin W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The winery was particularly impressive. Maybe did a bit too much - felt rushed at times - could probably have cut out one of the two smaller cities we stopped in to allow us more time in either. A great value for the itinerary though and a fun, knowledgeable tour guide.

ajax_83

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The wine tasting was amazing, we'll worth the trip! The visits to small towns in between seemed overkill and the dinner was nice but did not seem like enough food for the whole group. I am sure the guy across from me was still hungry.

Wendy W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was great.we had a great time and met some great people from michigan and Lebanon.There is a lot of walking and the bus ride is long. They do not ship the wine if you buy it at the castle.The food and wine were great at the restaurant.guide was not always right so ask questions.
SC friends

Daina M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great trip! During the wine tasting (4 glasses of wine and an aperitif), we were served a selection of regional meats, breads and cheeses which were absolutely lovely. Gorgeous views along the route through Tuscany, and a nice supper (served family style) to finish off the day. Well worth the money.

Peter Kay Yong T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Both of us enjoyed the experience and the lively group of travellers we were with. The wine tasting was one of the best so far and of course, the authentic tuscanian dinner (we had the florentine steak special) was yummy. Longer walkabouts at a couple of the villages would have been lovely. As it was also my birthday, the group surprised me with a birthday song with the tiramisu dessert; that was awesome! Thank you for a memorable Chianti experience.

BARRY T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Valerie our guide was interesting and amusing. Full of information, just sit back and listen. We visited a vine yard and several villages and ended up with a great meal in the cellars of an old restraunt. Well worth the trip.

mrjsmacie

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

We had a wonderful tour guide! Totally enjoyed Castello di Querceto. The food at the restaurant was "okay."

Brian C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A good trip with great wines! the meal wasn't that great. Brilliant way to take in the countryside from the coach, however, the guide spent most of her time chatting to the coach driver in Italian and we seemed to be interrupting her day! However, if you take the guide out of the equation, the trip is worth doing.

Timothy Brian M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This tour was the highlight of our Italian vacation! We saw so much of the countryside, despite the rain it was beautiful. The winery tour was great, the snacks included were almost like a whole meal. We stopped at two little towns to sight see and shop and then eventually had one of the most wonderful dinners we had on our trip. The only thing that could have improved it would be to extend the tour a bit to give more time in some of the small villages. In each of them, we only had about 15 minutes to do any shopping or exploring. Overall it was worth every penny!

AJ-Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great trip for those who like wine, beautiful countryside and excellent food. We enjoyed the visit to the vineyard and wine selections they offered. The travel to 2 small towns also provided us the opportunity to taste and buy local wines. Finally the meal at the end of the day was also good, especially combined with some excellent wine. This is not a traditional tour, as the guide only keeps the group moving...you venture out and taste the local wine and food.

Kathleen L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Great day out in Chianti, with a wonderful tour guide, delicious wine, good food and great stops! Terrific!

Janet M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

One of the highlights of our trip. We met an amazing group of people; easy-going and fun. We had a wonderful day visiting the vineyard, tasting the wines, sightseeing in the Chianti region with its magnificent views, enjoying charming towns and finishing with a delicious meal. Guides on excursions need to realize that having fun, enjoying the surroundings and making new friends is the focus of the particpants. Finding a positive, friendly way to support the participants focus and yet maintain the schedule for the days events is an important skill. Our guide for this excursion found it challenging to demonstrate this important skill.

Viewing 5 of 8

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 92.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 24285BGROUP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message