4.5 star rating: Recommended 182 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours 45 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 182 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice afternoon/evening in Chianti. Not much time in Greve, but there was only such that you can fit into an afternoon.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The trip was enjoyable and we were being tsken to the best vineyard in Chianti.
Love the participants who came from all over continents of the world, making the whole trip so memorable.
One thing's missing is the sightseeing part to the picturesque part of Chianti that we always see on the internet.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All the places we visited were great. The tour guide was hard to understand as she was asian, surprising.
I think a good suggestion for selection of people would be to match similar interests. A few couples talked the whole time about marriage, etc. and seemed that they only wanted to do tour to drink wine.
There was so much more to the trip to learn about.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Transportation was comfortable, driving good, and tour-guides knowledgeable. The scenery was beautiful and the wine-tasting trip informative and fun. The visits to two towns in the Chianti area were also nice; we preferred Greve in Chianti. We are not sure both are really necessary. The dinner was a mixed bag. Some of the food was excellent and the camaraderie of the group was great. Why not have the dinner at the winery or other agriturismo/farm type of venue,or at least in one of the two towns visited?

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The winery was particularly impressive. Maybe did a bit too much - felt rushed at times - could probably have cut out one of the two smaller cities we stopped in to allow us more time in either. A great value for the itinerary though and a fun, knowledgeable tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The wine tasting was amazing, we'll worth the trip! The visits to small towns in between seemed overkill and the dinner was nice but did not seem like enough food for the whole group. I am sure the guy across from me was still hungry.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was great.we had a great time and met some great people from michigan and Lebanon.There is a lot of walking and the bus ride is long. They do not ship the wine if you buy it at the castle.The food and wine were great at the restaurant.guide was not always right so ask questions.
SC friends

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great trip! During the wine tasting (4 glasses of wine and an aperitif), we were served a selection of regional meats, breads and cheeses which were absolutely lovely. Gorgeous views along the route through Tuscany, and a nice supper (served family style) to finish off the day. Well worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Both of us enjoyed the experience and the lively group of travellers we were with. The wine tasting was one of the best so far and of course, the authentic tuscanian dinner (we had the florentine steak special) was yummy. Longer walkabouts at a couple of the villages would have been lovely. As it was also my birthday, the group surprised me with a birthday song with the tiramisu dessert; that was awesome! Thank you for a memorable Chianti experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Valerie our guide was interesting and amusing. Full of information, just sit back and listen. We visited a vine yard and several villages and ended up with a great meal in the cellars of an old restraunt. Well worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

We had a wonderful tour guide! Totally enjoyed Castello di Querceto. The food at the restaurant was "okay."

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A good trip with great wines! the meal wasn't that great. Brilliant way to take in the countryside from the coach, however, the guide spent most of her time chatting to the coach driver in Italian and we seemed to be interrupting her day! However, if you take the guide out of the equation, the trip is worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This tour was the highlight of our Italian vacation! We saw so much of the countryside, despite the rain it was beautiful. The winery tour was great, the snacks included were almost like a whole meal. We stopped at two little towns to sight see and shop and then eventually had one of the most wonderful dinners we had on our trip. The only thing that could have improved it would be to extend the tour a bit to give more time in some of the small villages. In each of them, we only had about 15 minutes to do any shopping or exploring. Overall it was worth every penny!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

This is a great trip for those who like wine, beautiful countryside and excellent food. We enjoyed the visit to the vineyard and wine selections they offered. The travel to 2 small towns also provided us the opportunity to taste and buy local wines. Finally the meal at the end of the day was also good, especially combined with some excellent wine. This is not a traditional tour, as the guide only keeps the group moving...you venture out and taste the local wine and food.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Great day out in Chianti, with a wonderful tour guide, delicious wine, good food and great stops! Terrific!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

One of the highlights of our trip. We met an amazing group of people; easy-going and fun. We had a wonderful day visiting the vineyard, tasting the wines, sightseeing in the Chianti region with its magnificent views, enjoying charming towns and finishing with a delicious meal. Guides on excursions need to realize that having fun, enjoying the surroundings and making new friends is the focus of the particpants. Finding a positive, friendly way to support the participants focus and yet maintain the schedule for the days events is an important skill. Our guide for this excursion found it challenging to demonstrate this important skill.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

very good

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide was great, giving us little tidbits of history here and there. The winery was great, with tours of the property and the cellar. The tasting was good too - a little bit of wine and a little bit of olive oil. The tour stopped by three other little towns, which were listed as "must-see"s in some tour books. This is a great way to wine-taste and see some little towns without having to drive the windy roads.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

My first wine tour and didn't want to spend a fortune, but got to see some lovely villages and taste some nice wine.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The trip was awesome. Great wine and food and the tour director was very good. I would recommend this to my friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Loved this trip! My only complaint (as was with others on the bus) was that the visit to the second village in Chianti was a waste. We all would have rather spend more time in the first village. There was not enough time to relax and enjoy ourselves! I think most people would agree with this.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Trip to Chianti wine tasting and Dinner were great. BUT get rid of the 2 short nonsense stops. No need to waste our time with these two stops. There is nothing of interest in both places.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

I would have preferred the tour to start an hour earlier and skip dinner and stayed longer at the wine tasting with more food.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Not too impressed with the leader - she lacked decisiveness. Wine tasting very good, also coach tour although it was hardly worth stopping at one village as we had so little time there. Meal very disappointing - cool and stodgy.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This was an absolutely wonderful excursion. The wine, food and scenery were outstanding! The only reason this did not get a 5 star rating was because of the very short time we had to visit Greve and the other village. I think the trip would be greatly enhanced by spending more time in just one village. But otherwise I would recommend this trip to all wine and food lovers!

From USD $ 89.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 24285BGROUP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message