5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1649 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Florence, Italy
  • Duration:12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cinque Terre Hiking Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1649 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip. Well organized with awesome tour guides. Please note there is a lot of walking/hiking, appropriate shoes are required. Experienced a little bit of everything. Traveled by train and boat, hiked along beautiful trail on side of mountain with amazing vistas, took a dip in the Med and ate local food. Don't hesitate, book now!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was the best part of my trip! We didn't get to take the boat ride which was a HUGE disappointment for me but everything else about the trip was great. The guides couldn't have been better!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip! A packed day that included an informational bus ride to Cinque Terre about 2 hours - but time went by quick with the guides' great historical comments, two train rides, a 90 min hike thru the hills, and a 20 minute boat ride. Also about 30-60 minutes of free time in each village. Given all of the above logisitcs, I couldn't be more impressed with our two guides, Gloria and Lavinia. They were very sharp, friendly, and caring. Seemed more like our friends than our guides. One final note....the Cinque Terre itself is stunning!
I will highly recommned this trip to any of my friends going to Tuscany.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I took the tour in May and it wasn't the best day because it started to torrentially downpour with rain. BUT that didn't stop us or the tour guides. Fabian was the best tour guide we've ever had! Food was great, scenery was AMAZING and overall unregrettable tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My friend and I really enjoyed this tour! Yes, the scenery and towns were beautiful, but our guide made the logistics easy to follow to ensure that we ran on time. I enjoyed the hike, which took us about 55 minutes, though it was very warm. The guide/tour were flexible with the varying levels of interest in the cities or physical abilities ie: amenable to making changes for people with knee pain, fatigue, etc. My only complaint was that it was difficult to find the meeting spot in the morning and had to scramble to find other lost-looking Americans to find where we needed to go. However, my friend and I both agree that we would recommend this trip to anyone interested in Cinque Terre from Florence. Thanks Johnny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended! A beautiful day on the Italian Coast for spectacular scenery, great food, lots of exercise. The amount of hiking is just enough, even in the heat of August, but not too much! Lunch was delicious with a great view and there was just enough time in the towns for some local wine, a snack or some gelato. Freddie and Stephano made sure that we were informed and knew where we needed to be and when, but otherwise you could hike at your own pace and did not get the feeling that you were on a tour. They were informative and were fun leaders. The combination of train, hiking and a welcome boat ride down the coast was a great combination along with a nice bus ride through Tuscany. Ricardo our driver got us to and from safely and efficiently. You won't regret taking this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabian and Johnny were FANTASTIC tour guides! They were funny and most importantly: encouraging. About 3/4 of the way through the seemingly unending hike Johnny kept pace with me, kept me entertained and forgetting the burning in my legs and lungs and encouraged me to finish it out strong. The hike was tougher than I expected but SO worth it. The views were indescribable and the clear water waiting at the bottom was worth the strenuous activity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very busy, fun filled tour. Our guides Fab and Jonny made the day! The villages are beautiful and Fab recommended options for our free time in each. We swam in the sea, ate gelato, wine tasting, fresh seafood. And amazing views throughout. It's a total must do tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. It is the best way to see all 5 villages in one day. Freddy was an awesome tour guide, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Spent 2 weeks in Italy and this was certainly the most memorable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did the Cinque Terre Hiking Day trip on June 19th with Fabian as our guide. This is a fabulous day trip!! It is a long day but totally worth it because you get a taste of what each town is like so you can start planning your next trip to see more of the 5 towns.

Fabian was a fabulous tour guide and really nice guy!! He is very entertaining and really makes a point to get to know each person on the trip. We saw him the next day when he was meeting that day's group and chatted with him. He actually remembered our names.

On the drive there Fabian told us about the regions we were driving through and told us what to expect when we arrived. He was very good about keeping our big group together and making sure everyone was present before we continued on. The lunch was delicious at a very nice restaurant on a nice patio. They offered a salad to anyone who didn't want the appetizer fish which is what I did. The pasta with pesto was like nothing you can get in the US and it was amazing!

The hike was a good hike and not easy but as long as you take your time they give you lots of time to get to the next town and take pictures and enjoy it, you won't have any trouble making it to the next meeting place. Make sure you bring your bathing suit and towel so you can thoroughly enjoy the beaches. It was a very hot day when we hiked and we forgot our suits. Swimming in the Mediterranean is the highlight.

There were other guides with us who had other groups. In the other group there was a couple who were in their 70's and going slower than the rest of us. Their guide Sandy was so nice and caring. She stayed with them to be sure they were alright. I heard her telling them interesting facts about the area and encouraging them. Sandy was so good to them! We saw them later in the day and the wife was delighted with the way Sandy helped them.

I would highly recommend Fabian and Walkabout Tours!! They were professional, safe and Fabian was lots of fun!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A brilliant day out. The guides were excellent and informative. The views were breathtaking. If you enjoy walking and wonderful views go on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Despite the crazy he

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Gloria and Johnny were excellent tour guides. Thank you for a great trip!
There is a lot of climbing so you have to be in good shape.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A must-do! This was one of our favorite parts of our stay in Florence. Our guides were incredible, warm, and very entertaining. The food was actually quite delicious--seafood starter and a pasta with pesto main course--and the restaurant had no problem at all swapping salad for pasta for those who had had enough pasta on their trip. If you do go that route however, and you don't have any nut allergies, ask for a bit of the pesto on the side! It has nuts mixed into the basil/oil and is definitely the best pesto I've ever had. The excursion itself was perfect. The hike is tiring enough to work off lunch, but not horribly difficult. Swimming in the ocean was definitely the best part, although beware: I did get four splinters stuck in my foot but I'd go in again regardless in a heatbeat. All in all, a wonderfully tiring day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour incorporated a train ride, boat ride and just enough hiking to give you the best views of Cinque Terre. Our guide was knowledgeable, gave us free time in all of the cities to wander and eat gelato and the specialty of the town. The lunch was wonderful. I would recommend seeing Cinque Terre via Viatar.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour. It's a great way to get a taste of the five villages in day. The day was very well organized and I got to do a bit of everything: hike, swim, have a delicious lunch and enjoy some gelato. Our guide Freddy was incredibly helpful and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent guides in Freddie and Johnny. Beautiful weather. Awesome lunch in Corniglia overlooking the water. Plenty of freetime to tour the villages as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a grand day out! Excellent tour guides and the right mix of train, hiking and boats. Great food and such a beautiful part of the world. Such an easy bus ride from Florence too. I'm not usually a tour person - but this was a great one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Best tour EVER! Cinque Terre is as amazing in reality as the photos were. But Stefano made the tour a lot more meaningful with his jovial personality and the stories he brought along. He took such good care of each one of us and truly is the best guide one can ever have! Thank you Stefano!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed the day with my girlfriend - finding the coach was really easy and soon we were off. It soon became clear on the journey the guides were really enthusiastic about the trip and full of energy.

The best parts included knowledgeable guides teaching us about the towns, the hiking across hillsides, having a chance to mingle with other guests from all over the world at lunch, and of course staying and experiencing the towns themselves in free time.

The only suggestion I would make is to perhaps have more hiking in the later afternoon - you cannot do much with 40 minutes of free time here and 50 minutes there!

But overall, a really great experience I highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing time on the tour with our fabulous tour guide Fabian. He was knowledgable, outgoing, and managed to make all the train boardings and transitions between towns smooth despite crowds of people. The hike was a workout especially because it was hot, but the stunning views were absolutely worth it. Definitely recommend this tour for anyone who is curious to explore Cinque Terre but pressed for time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This day trip run was a highlight of our Italian holiday. Our guide Fabian was fabulous!! An absolute must do...even in the extreme heat Italy had in July it was still manageable...the views are breathtaking and lunch was delicious. So thrilled we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was very well planned so we managed to see a lot in just one day. Martina, our guide, was friendly, pleasant and efficient. I enjoyed the most the view when climbing the mountain to reach the next village, it was breathtaking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour. The guides Freddie and Fab were awesome. They were funny and informative!! the bus ride to the 2nd city where u start the tour flew by. They educated us on the history of each town we passed. The hike is great. wear running shoes for sure! I would suggest if you want to go swimming to wear your swimsuits because there is not a lot of places to change once u get to the beach and it was hot so we wanted to jump right in. We had about an hour of free time in the 3rd and 4th island. Just enough to enjoy the culture in these small islands. The views are amazing. We took a boat ride to the 1st island that is where u finish. There we had time to walk around and eat something. On the bus home Freddie took the time to ask each person in his group if he could help enhance their experience and travels by making suggestions on where to go or what to do. I loved that. It was a long day and you are tired by the end, so for him to go out of his way to make sure we all enjoyed our experience was so kind of him. I would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to see all the islands and get some exercise too. These guys work very hard and are amazing at their jobs. Thank you Freddie and Fabian.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Freddy, King Julian and Nora were incredibly helpful and friendly. We got a lot of free time to eat and swim and while it would've been nice to do the boat ride sea was too choppy we got extra time in Rio Maggiore which was definitely my favorite town.

From USD $ 102.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5070CINQUE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message