Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 1884 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Theodore H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Livi? was an excellent guide and provided excellent information about the area and surrounding locations.

Martin A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Walkabout Florence is the tour company you want to use. Their staff is not only competent and informative, but they make you feel just like family. Had a most enjoyable day. This trip is awesome, but the hike is not for someone with balance or endurance issues. We loved the hike and the scenery and this tour packs in a LOT. Trains, boats, buses and a lot of walking. Of course the food is always good in Italy and lunch was delicious. Freddy is a no nonsense kind of guy that we really loved having as our tour leader. Kudos once again to Walkabout Florence!

graeme w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Freddy and Riassa were so wonderful and helpful during a hot italian summer walk of The Cinque terre walk. They knew how to take care of their guests and make sure we learnt and saw the maximum we could. The local tour operator were a fantastic choice and im so happy we booked from home and with them it was a lifetime memory in the making. I will never forget the experience.

kdholman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Highly recommend. Guides knowledgeable and cordial.

margery.vanvleet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Frank and Lavina were fabulous guides for this trip! They were very helpful and funny. They added good commentary and information throughout the trip. The hike was beautiful the whole trip was beautiful. The energy of the guides was infectious. Also, lunch was really good. I would do this again!

dawnsmiarowski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous! Our tour guides and bus driver were awesome! I would definitely recommend this to my family and friends.

ericamarie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Terrific experience!! Our tour guides, Freddy and Johnny, were wonderful! For the hiking portion, we did have the opportunity to separate from the group to go at our own pace, which we appreciated!

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guides were great, as was the experience. All went like clockwork so we were able to fully enjoy the beautiful views.

Eric k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome trip. Views and trek were well,worth the effort. Tour organisation was excellent as well as both tour guides.

Vineel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Easily the best decision we made in Florence to take this hiking trip! Johnny and Freddie, our tour guides, made the experience great. They were very knowledgeable, funny and constantly kept telling us about the towns, food and local wine! I would recommend this as a must do day trip from Florence and only with 'Walkabout' with Johnny and Freddie! Lunch and transport is included, which is a bonus, but the tour guides make the experience like none else. I was left elated at the end of the day to have booked this tour!!

Elaine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We took this trip with Livinia and Fabian from the local tour company in conjunction with Viatour. They were both great. The day was all that we could have hoped for. Viatour/The tour company is the only tour company that allows guests to see all 5 towns. The bus and train transfers worked out very well. Lunch in town 3 was traditional and tasty, giving up the energy to tackle the hike. The hike between towns number 3 and 4 was beautiful and pleasant - it is a hike on uneven trails, not a walk on a sidewalk. Weather cooperated so that we could take the boat from village 5 back to 1.
The value for the money was better than I could have done booking all parts on my own. Would definitely recommend spending a day in Cinque Terre with Livinia and Fabian.

Shaila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our hiking day trip of Cinque Terre was my favorite day of a two week visit to Italy!!! I cannot recommend this tour enough. The tour is run by Walkabout Tours, a small tour company in Florence. We did two tours with them, and the tour guides on both tours were THE BEST.

Our tour guides for Cinque Terre, Molly and Julian, were hilarious, kept the group moving from place to place, shared great information about the region, went down the bus and made an attempt to learn names and learn what brings people to Italy, checked on how people were doing throughout the day especially after the longest hike, and at the end of the day came down the bus again to find out if we liked the tour and if we had questions. Seriously awesome people.

As for the tour itself, I fell in love with Cinque Terre. My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We made stops to all five villages, getting there by either train, hike or a lovely boat ride for the last one. Lunch at an adorable restaurant with a great view in Corniglia gave us the option to try seafood from the region, including octopus.

The hike from Corniglia to Vernazza is a few miles, and should take about 50 minutes but we were given free time to hike at our own pace. We couldn't stop taking photos because the hike is so beautiful. It's a rugged, uneven path, sometimes steep and narrow, sometimes flat and wide - surrounded by greenery including olive and lemon trees, opening to stunning views of the Mediterranean and a couple of the villages in certain spots.

Each of the five villages are beautiful as well, and each have their own unique charm. Make sure to pick up a few jars of pesto Cinque Terre is in the Ligurian region, which is the birthplace of pesto. By the time we took the boat to Riomaggiore, we were exhausted from a fabulous day, but still loved that the boat stopped and gave us great views in front of each village. We had the best time on this tour!!

Eleanor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well-planned wonderful day with unforgettable views.

Scott D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hike was definitely a challenge but well worth it. Great tour Guide Fabiano. Great sights and info.

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Would highly recommend this tour as a way to see Cinque Terre, but don't have the time to go on your own. We had an excellent tour guide, Martina, who was extremely knowledgeable and made a point to get to know every person on the tour.

Yan Tung T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour covers all 5 towns in Cinque Terre. We get to enjoy the beautiful scenery during the 1.5 hours hike as well as a nice Italian lunch overlooking the sea. Timing and logistics arrangements are perfect. One thing we like about the tour is that we get ample free time in multiple towns to walk around, take photos, and have a coffee. Bear in mind though, the hike can be challenging for some as it includes steep steps.

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved this tour! The guides Sandra and Fabio were excellent. We managed to see all five towns via bus, train and hiking. The lunch and view in Corneglia were amazing. Everything was incredidly well-organized and the schedule allowed enough free time to explore the villages and to be able to enjoy some local foods and wine. The views were stunning and the guides alos gave us a lot of information about the history. Loved it.

joanking2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour Guides Julian and Molly were enthusiastic and excellent. Hike is tough but the views are worth it. This is a great way to see this area.

Colin D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Trains, buses and boats. Well organised. Freddy and Tina were excellent, informative and engaging guides from Walkabout Tours. Fantastic day out in a stunning area.

aljoshaw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome trip, stunning place, well designed tour. Highly recommended.

Ziyuan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent. Highly recommended.

Stephanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were thrilled with our decision to do this day trip from Florence. Very well organised and we had great hosts/guides. We learnt so much of the surrounding areas while on the bus on the trip down which was all very fascinating. A great way to see the villages if unable to stay in them. Would highly recommend.

Jacob S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience and incredible day with views that you will never forget. Tour service was phenomenal.

Marie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful trip thanks to our amazing tour guide, Freddy! He gave us lots of info and wanted to make sure everyone was prepared and ready to make the hike. For those who had some difficulty with steps, he gave them the option of going to a different meeting point.

Irina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was amazing.
I would highly recommend though to wear hiking shores and be prepared for changing weather. Do wear layers and bring sunscreen! Have a backpack and water!

Viewing 3 of 76

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 103.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5070CINQUE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message