Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 1884 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was by far my favorite day of our two week Europe vacation. Molly was the best tour guide! She tried to personally get to know each and every one on the tour bus and she always had the best suggestions in each town we went to.

Lindy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Hi we had the best day in Cinque Terre. We experienced all modes of transport walking, a train ride and finishing with a delightful boat cruise back to our coach. Stunning views and the best surrounds that you could imagine. Our tour guide Fabian, Frederick and Fransoir were fantastic. Very abliging, knowledgeable, funny and responsible. They catered for everyone. Lunch was fantastic with view and flavours to die for. I would highly recommend this tour.
f

Grant S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Superb day with knowledgeable and helpful guides. Cinque Terre is stunning and the hike is a great workout.

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great, well-organized trip! Lavi and Freddy were great guides, and the scenery was amazing! Booked this last minute and couldn't be happier!

Joseph F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an incredible trip! Everything ran smoothly and everyone had a good time. The guides were friendly, super entertaining, and really knew their stuff! Hiking through the hillside was an incredible experience and I hope to be able to do it again some day.

Jill M. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is one of those tours that you will feel no matter how much you have to work it's all worth it because the views are so incredible they almost seem unreal. And just when you think there are no more people around that have a really good work ethic anymore you meet someone like Freddie, our tour guide. He is very talented with great wit and knowledge and he was always there to answer questions and go the distance for everyone.

Italy isn't like what we are used to in the U.S., the path especially when wet can be slick and there are stumbling blocks all along the path. In the U.S. the whole character would be changed to make sure that it was safe. My husband was so glad that he invested in some walking poles that could be folded down for travel. We both agree that it's better to have the naturalness than to make it totally safe.

We would highly recommend the Cinque Terre Hiking Trip, it was everything they advertise it to be and more!

Jill and Ralph
Michigan, U.S.A.

Geoffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guides, Walkabout's Freddy and Johnny, were the reason for the success of this tour with their ability to inform us, entertain us and shepherd us without losing a soul, even temporarily, shining all the long day from 8am to 9pm. OK, maybe the scenery had something to do with it too!

We spent between a ½hr and 1hr at each of the 5 towns giving me ample time at each of them. The delicious 2-course lunch no sweet at Ristorante Cecio Camere in Corniglia was served in a covered patio area with lovely views down the valley to the sea. Main course was a mouth-watering spaghetti pesto. At Monterosso Al Mare, the northernmost town, I found a quiet bar, Enoteca da Eliseo, off the main drag where I was able to enjoy a beer at a table outside while listening to operatic classics waft out from inside.

Although the tour is advertised as a hike, only one of the four segments was in fact a hike. However, this was actually a plus as hiking the whole route would have allowed us next to no time to explore and savour the 5 towns. If you number the 5 towns in sequence from 1 to 5 with 1 being the southernmost, Riomaggiore, then we did the route by :
i. arriving by coach from Florence at 2
ii. then catching the train to 3 and immediately climbing 400 steps to our lunch venue
iii. then hiking about 4km along a challenging track from 3 to 4, fortunately passing a conveniently-located bar at the halfway point some 200m above sea level
iv. then catching the train to 5
v. then taking a boat from 5 to 1, with brief stops at 4 and 2 en route.

A must-do if you have a day to spare in Florence!

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was well structured, informative and most enjoyable. The walking aspect of the tour was fantastic, not only for the magnificent views and wild beauty of the area but also for the joy of some slightly strenuous physical activity. I rewarded myself with a delicious raspberry and honey/mascarpone gelato from the gelataria in Vernazza.

Blur510

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing time great guides, Cinque Terre is a must when in tuscany

cwgiggles1101

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was my first time hiking the Cinque Terre and it will not be my last ..well...assuming I get back to Italy one day!!! Our tour director, Molly, was AMAZING!! She was knowledgeable, fun and made the entire experience fantastic! Although this is a 12-13 hour tour with the travel times from Florence...it certainly didn't seem that long. This was, by far, one of the highlights of our trip!!

Anurag R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour company is great. All the tour guides Raisa, Fabio and Freddy were truly happy doing what they do - the were cheerful, helpful and very organized. Our trip ran into a 3 hour massive traffic jam on the highway but we were offered the choice of full refund or to continue on with a promptly rearranged itinerary. We continued on, and they managed to still fit in most of what Cinque Terre had to offer. I will definitely use them again and highly recommend them.

Patty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was my first time to join a local tour alone. It was very fun and enjoyable. There were two buses of Walkabout departing from the train station and each bus had two tour guides. They were pretty knowledgeable about where we passed by and visited. Also, they showed passion toward their jobs and patience when someone needed a hand.

Actually, some parts of the hiking routes were a little bit challenging. However, it was worthy when seeing the beautiful scenes after the challenging parts. We got some more free time in the last stop to have dinner and do some small shopping. I would highly recommend it if you want to enjoy hiking and the nature outside the Florence city!

Jingyi Johanna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An amazing tour, Fabian and Molly - our guides - were lovely to be around and had many good stories to tell us. They kept an eye out for any pickpockets and kept us safe. The tour was wonderful and it was nice to hike Cinque Terre! Wear good shoes some of the rocks on the trail are bumpy!

Lydia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an amazing time! The weather was great. Lavinia and Freddy were the perfect guides. They were so accommodating and even gave us great recommendations for the rest of our stay in Italy. We appreciated Freddy's love for things growing wild and he and Lavi both had so much knowledge!

Lynda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great experience. We had excellent guides who - Holly was one who made the day enjoyable. The hike was challenging but well worth the effort to see the view.

akmmartin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a really fun day, albeit a really LONG day! Over all, over 10 miles of walking total, and it involves a bus, a few trains, a boat, which is to be expected. Johnny was an awesome tour guide, teaching us a ton beginning on the drive up until we returned home. He had great energy, answered questions with enthusiasm, his sense of humor was on point - all the makings for a fun day exploring these five towns!

Becky Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guides made the whole trip very enjoyable and fun! They were very knowledgeable yet fun and had great personalities. Everything was on time, very well organized, safe, and breathtakingly beautiful. The lunch was at a fabulous restaurant overlooking the sea. Great job to our two guides who are fabulous!

Christina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lavi and Julianne were amazing! Perfect location and tour guides. My husband and I will remember this day tour forever. Such a wonderful experience. Viator doesn't do enough to promote Walk About. Walk About is separate from Viator and can be booked on other sites as well. Definitely look them up!

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Freddie and Fabian were terrific guides. They were funny and fun-loving people. Everyone had a great time.

Franklin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guides Fabian and Martina very knowledgeable about the area and it's history
Good food
Good pacing of the walks alternative plans for non hikers
Well organized
Was the highlight of our trip to Italy

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was great if you want to see the coast of Italy and get away from the city for a day! It really is beautiful there and a must see while in Italy. You do hike up and down a lot of stairs and you will be a little sore the next day, but it is doable for everyone. Julian and Lavi were our guides and they were the best. They gave clear instructions and made sure everyone knew what was going on.

Andres P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Dear all, this tour is awesome - the nature is beautiful, the villages romantic and the hike is just what you need to make it perfect. And then it comes to the tour guides - well they are extra class: witty, punctual, friendly, helpful, know their stuff and enjoy it. We had our group divided into three smaller groups. All of the guides were great, but Fabian was on a completely another level. Mieuw, mieuw!

michelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Ok, So Johnny and Freddy were a blast! Such a fun day evening though it was raining!

Justin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My wife and I had a great time on this tour. This is a great, no hassle, way to see Cinque Terre.

Our guides Fabian and Francesco from Walkabout Florence were awesome! On the bus ride to Cinque Terre, they gave a lot of great info about the areas we passed Lucca, Carrara marble quarries, and more. They have a wealth of knowledge about Cinque Terre, and provided great recommendations for spots to visit in each town. On top of all that, they were a lot of fun and obviously enjoy the interaction with all of us tourists.

This tour hits all 5 towns, and I think it may be one of the few tours, if not the only one, to visit all 5 villages in 1 day. The hike from Corniglia to Vernazza 2 miles has incredible views, as you might expect. At the halfway point, there's even a little bar/cafe where you can stop for a quick beer or lemon slushie verified delicious and enjoy the amazing view. Make sure you wear comfy shoes appropriate for hiking!

As for the food... lunch, which was a grilled seafood salad insalata di mare and a pesto pasta dish, was very tasty. Gelato after the hike, in Vernazza, was great. At our last stop, Riomaggiore, our guides recommended a great place, Il Pescato Cucinato, that sells delicious cones of fried seafood. You can grab a cone of seafood, some beer or wine, and go have a picnic next to the water or on top of the hill

The only downside to this tour is that since it hits all 5 villages, you won't have a ton of time in any one village. However, there was more than enough time in each town to walk around, get pics, and enjoy a snack.

Bottom line... if you want to see Cinque Terre in 1 day then do this tour! You won't regret it.

michelle.ml

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have never bothered with guided tours before, but so glad we decided to give it a go. We had the most amazing day and so pleased we decided to book this tour with Walkabout Florence. Our guides Freddie and Fabian were great and may the day even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend this company who have dedicated staff and are highly professional.

Viewing 4 of 76

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 102.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5070CINQUE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message