Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 1884 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

caper5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day! I admit it was a little more strenuous that I expected and I read the description carefully. But - I did it and I'm glad I did. When they say the trails are rocky and uneven, they mean it. Hiking shoes would be much better suited than my lightweight tennis shoes were. The views along the trail are incredible and make for nice rest-breaks to admire them. Something you would miss out on if you took a bus or train. Our guide Elisa was great - very friendly and personable. Her recommendations at each stop were perfect. Lunch was just OK - not outstanding compared to some of the lunches I have had on this trip. I give the tour 5 stars because as I look back at my pictures, I don't remember how sore my feet were, I just remember how amazing each town was!

Gary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour I've ever experienced. Guides were terrific and witty, landscape was breathtaking.

Keith J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Cinque Terre is a must see if you are in the area. This was a great tour with Walkabout. Molly our guide was fun and very engaging. There is some serious hiking, but they do a great job of breaking up the hikes with rest periods and allow you time to enjoy each town. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, with one fitness warning. We checked our fitness app and we walked 12 miles and climbed 95 stories on this day, and 95 was on this tour. We certainly added extra steps as we searched out the best places to take photographs, but be prepared and wear shoes the are good support and can get dirty.

Debra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was very well organized tour and the guides were wonderful. It is a very long day and time management was excellent. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful. My main disappointment was that the free time in each village was short. I would have liked more time in each village, however I recognize that the travel time to and from Florence was a factor. The bus trip to and from Florence was also interesting.
My group were lucky in that the weather was excellent and ferries were running, thus the trains were not overcrowded. There is 350 stair climb, a 4k hike and a few shorter walks.The 4k hke was hard on the ankles and knees due to many uneven stones set along the path. I was glad for the experience of that 4k hike, however I would opt for a non-hiking tour for a revisit of Cinque Terre.

Alison P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Two thumbs up! Freddy and Johnny were great tour guides and the trip itself was absolutely amazing. It was the highlight of our 10 days in Italy and I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to anyone. If you are deciding between this tour and another group to take you to Cinque Terre, choose this one!!

Bruce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip on all aspects. The guides were funny, enthusiastic, informative and took care of us Lavi and Raiesa spelling?. The lunch was excellent with a terrace view as well. Hike length was just right for a day trip. The scenery was stunning - the towns, the ocean, the crazy looking cacti jutting out over the trails. I'd do this one again.

Hua Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour. Well worth the effort. Our guides Lavina and Julian were fantastic and made the tour very enjoyable for everyone. Highly recommend.

Johan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an extremely well organised trip. The guides, Fabian and his female counterpart, were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful. I also felt that splitting the group in 2 was a good idea and assisted one to get to konw the other tourists better and it felt more personalised.

Moira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour has to rate as one of the highlights of my trip. A change of plans means I was unable to spend a couple of days at Cinque Terre. This trip was recommended by friends and was all that it was said to be.
We got to visit all the villages with time to look around and do some shopping. The walk between 2 of the villages was beautiful if hot, and the lunch was amazing. Martina and Angel our guides were a wealth of information as well as being very friendly and approachable - and they remembered all out names.
I can't believe how much we managed to do in a day without it seeming to be at all rushed

Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We decided to do this tour at the last minute and are SO glad we did!! Even the bus ride was fun, entertaining and an opportunity to learn along the way. Johnny and Fabio were stellar tour guides! They made everyone feel comfortable and just made it the best day in our 11 day tour of Italy! We got a taste of each of the 5 villages and had time to take a quick dip in the sea. They were generous with their recommendations for things to do in the villages AND once we got back to Florence and even in Rome. HIGHLY recommend this tour and any other that these fellows offer.

juliaanicholson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

EXCELLENT trip! Even though it is a long day, it is well worth it. This tour was done through WalkaboutFlorence and Fabian was the tour guide. I did 2 other tours through WalkaboutFlorence and found them to be the BEST of all the activities and tours I have done on this 2 week trip. Fabian was GREAT! His upbeat, engaging approach was a real plus and added a lot to the trip. The weather was perfect and therefore we got to do the hike between villages. The one thing I would recommend is that an option be given to either eat lunch with the group included in the price of the tour or be given the option to do the hike and eat lunch at your own expense with no change in price of the tour at the next village. I thought the food for lunch at the restaurant was mediocre at best and would have preferred to hike first and then eat lunch. Overall, I would highly recommend this tour. I am not normally a tour group type person, but this experience has changed my mind. Thank for a great trip Fabian!!

Mika L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It is safe to say this was the highlight of our Italy trip this year. From the amazing guides shout out to Lavi and Fabien for the comfortable bus ride outside of the city, to the well organized and spectacular views given throughout the journey. Lunch was good, how can you complain when you're sitting in a restaurant with the most amazing view? The hike is do -able, but definitely be prepared to climb some stairs.. its worth it after all of the food you probably ate in Italy. Tip: Wear some good sneakers. Eat the gelato in Venezza and take lot's go photos! Even on a partly rainy day, it was breathtaking.

Minerva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour is the best and more organised company I have travelled with. Their enthusiasm and passion for what they do it is contagious. I did, on Wednesday, the Cinque Terre nazionale Parque tour with Fabián, who is amazing, encouraging you during the hike. Greatly recomme

Carrie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An absolutely MUST if you are staying in Florence. Our tour was nothing short of perfect. I cannot say enough about our tour guide, Johnny! He was informative, personable, and led us on a memorable trip to these 5 little cities. It is wonderful to have a guide in a small area like this that know exactly what to do and where the best stops are! The weather was beautiful while we were there, and walking around the little villages was picturesque. The hike is intense and you must be in good shape. However, there is an alternative for those that still want to enjoy the trip without this physical component. Lunch was delicious- we had fresh pesto from the little village where it was invented! At the end of the day, we went for a dip in the Meditterean and took a beautiful boat ride back down the coast. I cannot highly recommend this tour enough!

Priyank K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an amazing experience in Cinque Terre. Freddie and Sandra were amazing tour guides with amazing knowledge, amazing attitude and made everybody feel comfortable in this long trek. The food arranged by Walkabout was splendid and deserves a special mention.

Trek was a bit tiring but the views were totally worth it. The time management was also excellent, with leisure time at places but absolutely no wastage of time.

Regina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful Lunch with amazing views, tour guides were knowable and happy to share information. The hike was filled with one of a kind views and time to stop and take photos. When I went in July 2015 the temperatures in Italy were 110 degrees F so hiking in the sun was a bit challenging. Bring a hat, and lots of water and enjoy

Douglas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a highlight of our trip to Italy! Highly recommend!!!!

bob_mich.bethke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Freddy is an amazing tour guide and he took great care of us all. The hike was challenging because of the heat, but we all recovered with some well earned gelato afterwards!

degrandem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Oh my! What a fantastic experience! It was beautiful and a fun hike along the breathtaking coast. We loved out tour guide Molly she was so much fun and very professional. The little towns were so quaint and we had the best seafood and gelato on our entire holiday. We can't wait to go back and visit these towns again. This is a great way to experience Cinque Terre! My husband and I had so much fun!

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a Wonderful trip, Jullian and Fabeon were so attentive to make sure we were doing ok and did we need anything. It was a great trip.

Kristen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved our hiking trip with Fabian! He was an excellent guide and made the trip our favorite day of the whole vacation!. The hike was beautiful and was incredibly well planned.

Jillian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is just the most amazing day - don't miss doing it everyone !
It's a tough climb - they DID warn us , but the rewards just so worth it !
Didn't we all have such fun , due to the fantastic guides L.A. Lyn and Oh so Italian Johnny. !
Thanks so much for a superb day.
Cinque Terre Trip is everything and more that you could hope for !

missjen129

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome tour. We were able to visit all 5 villages, had a great lunch, and ended the day with a boat ride. The hiking is not a simple walk in the woods which I figured it wouldn't be and requires some strategic foot placements. The trains can be crowded and cramped. I'm glad we went with a tour and didn't try to do this on our own as a day excursion. You only need a short bit of time in each of the villages too, as some are not large at all. Molly our guide was fantastic.

Brent H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fabulous tour. You must realize the hike portion is serious and you want to wear good shoes. But the views are breathtaking! Fabiano was the PERFECT tour guide. He knows the tips/tricks to getting around in the crowds - and there definitely were crowds on the trains/stations. He would actually call out the pick pockets, which was not only helpful but quite humorous. We went mid September and the weather was perfect! I loved this tour and would whole heartedly recommend it to anyone.

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Freddie and Johnny were great. Very knowledgeable and provided a lot of insight. Appreciated that they spoke individually with each of us on the bus ride back and personally answered our questions.

Viewing 5 of 76

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 102.39

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5070CINQUE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message