Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 1036 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Carlin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very nice and informative tour. We learned a lot and saw a lot!

sharon m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 of us from California took the 1/2 day tour w/lunch and highly recommend it if you are limited on time (we were leaving that afternoon to join f/f in a Villa outside of Cetona). We had been in Florence two days before so had time to walk around (take other in-city tours) so taking a tour the last day that got us up-n-out of the city, was a great way to get another perspective of this amazing city (trees, hills, large homes, etc). And of course, ending up at the Accademia to see "David" with a personal guide, was far more informative than if we'd done this on our own and much shorter lines to contend with. My husband and I had been to Florence before but my sister had not. So we ALL learned so much on this tour than we didn't know before. And let's not forget the lunch which we had read had mixed reviews. We loved it!! The lunch was better than we had anticipated/far larger quantities and very tasty (only little glitch was our printed notes said coffee was included but our group was long gone by the time we finished up. And only my husband is the coffee drinker. The waiter said it wasn't included anymore: no problem, he just bought one). Hope your experiences are as wonderful as ours were.

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Got to see many of the high spots of Florence with an informed and intelligent guide. Good fun, good company and came away with a greater understanding of this wonderful city.

fiona e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Worth doing, the information gave meaning to the architect and having a group to talk to when going around added to the tour. The guide was helpful and booking saved hours of queuing. The information made looking at David and the surrounding sculptures more interesting and you come away with knowing more.

Lewis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing- Monica, our guide, was so knowledgable and spoke so passionately about the city, it's art and it's history. We couldn't have wished for a better tour. Superb :)

Xuecui G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Both of our morning and afternoon guides are very knowledgable, passionate. We got to know so much about the city. It is definitely a fantastic trip!

Julie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did the full day and it was superb. The Guides were not only passionate about Florence they were very very knowledgeable and informative. Would recommend to anyone. As we were on the full day lunch was included which was exceptional. They were very welcoming and attentive.

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was our first tour using Viator. It was truly wonderful, with an intelligent, knowledgable guide, who had an obvious passion for his city, and all of the wonder that is Florence. We started on a hill overlooking the city; and, what a view of Florence! Our guide was able to point out numerous landmarks from this viewpoint. We had plenty of time to view Florence from many angles and heights. From there, we returned to our bus, and historical buildings and areas were pointed out to us. The bus dropped us off, not far from the Academia and we were able to walk through a part of the city near the Duomo and famous shopping areas, piazzas. His antidotal comments were fabulous, and you felt like you had an "inside track" to his city. The tour culminated at the Academia and the David, among other beautiful works, by Michelangelo, and it was magnificent! After the tour, we were able to visit other areas within this magnificent building. It was a very worthwhile tour, especially for those new to Florence. We were impressed by our guides' s amazing knowledge base and friendliness.

Ainara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide

Arnold S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the most spectacular of ALL the tours I took. This one happened on June 5, 2014 and both the morning and afternoon guides were incredibly passionate and knowledgeable about everything. I could not possibly have been in better hands. I would recommend this to anyone and please include the lunch in your tour.

Claudia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Perfectly organized tour and great guides! Had the tour with lunch, which was a good choice! Loved it!

Keith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I've used Viator on a number of occasions. The guides are always very knowledgably and they make the tours really interesting. I wouldn't use anyone else.

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent!

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great tour of Florence. Our tour guide was very nice and gave us a lot of information.

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour guide, she knows her city well and clearly enjoys what she does!

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

take this tour early in you visit to get acquainted with Florence and also to avoid the queues to see "David". The guide was excellent and I cannot remember ever encou8ntering anyone who was so well informed about the subject matter.

Yolanda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We chose the morning half day tour. It began with amazing views of Florence from Piazzale Michaelangelo. We would never have seen that on our own. The rest of the tour was as described. Our guide Monica spoke fluent English and was easy to understand. She was a wealth of knowledge and gave a comprehensive tour of the high points of the Galleria including David. She moved at a pace that allowed us to pause frequently to enjoy the sights. The Duomo is open free of charge so plan to see the inside on your own at another time. There is an inexpensive ticket you can purchase that allows entry to the Baptistry, Museum and Bell Tower.

Rodney B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed the tour. The tour guide was very informative and amusing in the way she shared her knowledge.

John J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent guide and tour.

Bob M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Well worthwhile

Bob M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Well worthwhile

Mrs E J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Angelo was an excellent guide, so interesting and informative.

sharman m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was my first day in Florence so decided to take half day tour to find out a little but then I always go off wandering by myself afterwards once I have found out the basics. The Guide was lovely pleasant, smart, courteous and friendly plus she knew all her historical stuff. The sightseeing tour started right on time and we were taken first to Michaelango Square where we could view the whole of Florence on the way up there the guide explained fully about the families and history of the area once we had finished we returned to Florence itself to see the Cathedral and the Statue of David - all in all well worth the trip and money. It was a good crowd on the trip mainly Americans / NZ / Australians and English about 25 plus a mixture of ages and the guide took on board all the different questions that were asked and she gave a full report of what people wanted to know. The coach facilities were clean and the driver smart - a lovely start to a lovely holiday thank you.

Mirra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was the greatest!!!

Mlep8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a great tour, especially if you are short on time in Florence. We only had a few days and seeing Michelangelo's "David" was top on my list. Our guide, Antonella, was fantastic. Before we started the tour, I was concerned about all the walking, as we had some in our group that had knee problems. I soon learned there was no need for concern. Once Antonella started talking, you could tell her love of Fllorence. It showed in her discussions of Brunelleshi's Dome, Giotto's Bell Tower, and Ghiberti's Gates of Paradise; however, it really came through at the Accademia Gallery. When we entered the room where David stands, she instructed us not to look at it, but instead to focus on the unfinished statues first. As we approached each statue, she described each piece in great detail. As she did, she continued to tell us not to look at David. In doing this, she built up our excitement even more....if that is possible. I could tell Antonella loved Michelagelo as much as I do. When we finally approached David, I was so excited, I had tears in my eyes. It is as magnificent as I expected. Whether you have one day or five, I recommend this tour at the beginning of your time in Florence, as you will get to see several things at one time. Then, if there is something you want to go back to see in more detail, such as climbing to the top of the Duomo, you can do that later.

Viewing 5 of 42

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 61.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 24281AGROUP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message