4.5 star rating: Recommended 88 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Florence Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 88 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

The guide spent too much time on historical minutiae and dates that eventually become muddled in the listener's mind. Visitors are interested in the family stories of the Medici and others. I would have liked to have visited Santa Croce, and perhaps just strolling the back streets of Florence. We spent time hiking over to the Pitti Palace, but were not taken in. That time was wasted. Discussing current life in Florence would have been interesting, such as the flooding in 20th century. More time was spent walking that visiting inside historic spaces.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

As a family of four we were not impressed with the way things were run through Viator's partner company that ran this tour. It was a little disorganised at the beginning but we could overlook that. The main problem was that although the guide, Aida, was knowledgeable, she was doing the tour in English (what we booked) and Spanish... and as paying customers (25 euro each) we found this unacceptable. It detracted from all the information that the guide was telling us, it made us lose interest very quickly and obviously made the tour longer and we didn't enjoy ourselves as much as we would have liked. We could have easily done a 'free' tour but decided to use Viator as this particular tour had good reviews.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

I was a bit disappointed as it seemed our guide wasn't too keen to try and impress. It was a very relaxed tour of Florence, and we liked the fact that we were part of only a group of 4. I didn't feel like I got much of a sense about the history of Florence, more just an idea of where everything was in relation to the main sights. Our guide was very friendly and chatty but we spent more time having random chats about food and football rather than focussing on the nitty gritty. We decided against further Viator tours in subsequent locations as a result.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

tour cancelled but company offered alternative bus tour which was adequate but not as satisfying as the walking tour I had done previously

PETA
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

The guide William was very lovely but his English really wasn't adequate to be giving a guided tour in English....he was definitely enthusiastic though. The tour was an excellent quick way to introduce you to Florence, I would make sure next time you ensure the guide is fluent...better still we actually tracked down an Aussie living in Florence (Freyas tour of Florence, ie Freya middelton). We also booked her for3 hours, more expensive but definitely worth it for those who have a good knowledge of art, renaissance history and wanting someone to make Florence come alive!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This didn't work for me. It was done in two languages (Spanish/Engilsh) and was not audible. I dropped out after about 10 minutes as the only English speaker.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

Too many people, couldn't hear well

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Good walking tour - guide was just okay.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I was so disappointed about this tour. Previous similar tours have been excellent. Unfortunately this tour was in French and English despite being advertised as English. As a result, we spent half the time waiting for the French translation to finish instead of getting any history of Florence.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Guide did not add information beyond what we already knew from reading description of tour. A private guide should give extra info, the other participants in the tour knew more than she did and were often correcting her knowledge of the Medici family. She also failed to introduce herself, I have no idea what her name was.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Annoyingly our guide found herself leading 2 groups. So 4 English speakers with 2 French speakers resulted in so much of our groups time being wasted as she translated twice. Whenever she wasn't translating she was on her mobile. No real engagement and didn't like being questioned on topics. Poor.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

It was a disappointment. My wife and I were grouped together with the French. The German guide had to speak in English first then in French. Probably because of the time limit of the tour, the guide did not give more details than we would have wanted so we ended up listening to the other tour guides in other groups. No choice. I do not recommend this. Or if you intend to book, make sure all of you speak the same language.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

Instructions on the confirmation email were confusing listing 2 piazzas which intersect and stretch over 500 meters. When at one end, you are unable to see the 15cm by 40cm yellow sign attached to only 1 side of a bus lamp post as it is too small to be seen from a distance and it is always hidden by buses picking up and dropping passengers. After 2 telephone calls and 2 sets of bad instructionsdirections, we located the yellow sign but after the tour had left. Our only choice was to lose the money or book a more expensive "bus tour" that same day. We took the bus tour to avoid losing our money. We do not recommend that tour as the tour contained folks speaking more than one language. Because the guides were speaking concurrently in each language, the information about many places of interest was relayed to each of us in our own language after we had passed that spot. Sometimes we got it at the right time and sometimes the other folks did also, but neither translator provided the information at the right time, all the time. No telling what we missed - in either language. A very bad experience.

From USD $ 28.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2428CAF2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message