4.5 star rating: Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Horse Riding in Chianti Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I enjoyed this adventure thoroughly. Our guide, Joseph, was prompt, courteous, engaging, and extremely knowledgeable about the Chianti region and viniculture. The horses were predictably plodding, but none of us wanted to go zooming through the vineyards anyway. I was pleased to see that they are well cared for. Lunch at the estate was delicious, and touring the cellars was interesting and not merely a repeat of a California winery tour. The rules and regs for creating Chianti Classico are very interesting. I can harly wait for my shipment of wine and olive oil to arrive!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Beautiful trip, well worth it, wife loved the wine!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

This was the highlight of my trip to Italy. The two horseback riding guides were very nice. Riding through the vineyards was spectacular. The lunch was a nice surprise. Although it does say that lunch is provided, I just assumed it was a sandwich or something. Instead, it was a spinach souffle', salad, bread and pasta with two glasses of wine. It was very delicious. The tour of the winery and hearing the history of the family that owned it was very interesting. The property itself was beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I absolutely loved this tour. I loved the fact that is was a small group so it made it personal, our guide Bill was Great, very informative and kind. The horse back ride was really nice and the Lunch was good as well. Would definitely recommend this!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The tour is highly recommended! Even after reading the positive reviews, this tour exceeded my already high expectations. Our guide, Giacobo, was outstanding, and the small group of six made this a very enjoyable trip! The horseback tour was an easy walk through a beautiful and pretigious vineyard. Well worth the investment. Book now! :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fabulous! We enjoyed every minute and I would highly recommend to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our driver and guide Jacopo for the day was very enthusiastic and answered all our questions about Florence on the way to Chianti.

The horse ride itself was fantastic and relaxing and no prior experience is required!! The horses are very well trained and minimal "steering" is required.

After the ride we were treated to a nice lunch at the winery following by explanations on the wine and olive oil production by Joseph (another guide) at the winery as well as a tour of the grounds.

On the way back to Florence we stopped by for some Gelato which was great!! This was definitely our highlight from our trip to Florence and we would highly recommend it :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I am studying abroad in the South of France and I went to visit my best friend in Florence. We decided to do this and it completely made our abroad experience! Such a great trip and the guides were wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

As accommodating as possible, in every way. We were very late for our tour, and even though FlorenceTown didn't have a horseback tour scheduled for the next day, they scheduled us in, anyway. I offered extra money for this, and the gentleman refused -- I just don't see how you could get more accommodating than that.

And then, the next day, when we did do the tour, it was AWESOME. After our beautiful horseback ride, we spent our time, just my wife and I, with Joseph, and he drove us around Chianti, took us for espresso and gelato, and showed us some gorgeous sights and views. We really liked Joseph: he was enjoyable and knowledgeable, anyone is very lucky to get him as their guide.

FlorenceTown was great, as was the horseback tour: I highly recommend them!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

trip was an added extra for our honeymoon,wife loved it and for my first time on a horse i loved it too!!the horses were great and the viems amazing and we had sunshine!!the tour of the wine making was excellent,jacoba our guide was very enthusiastic and very informative but at the same time was fun he also sat with us for lunch which was a nice touch,all in all a cracking day,do this trip!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was a fantastic tour! Highly recommended to everyone, regardless of whether you have riding experience. The guides were all very helpful and knowledgeable. The ride was beautiful and peaceful--and out of 4 of us, I was the only one with any riding experience, but everyone had a great time. After the ride we ended at a winery and got a tour, plus lunch and a wine and olive oil tasting. Then our driver stopped for gelato and a picture stop overlooking Florence on the way back. Wonderful, unique day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was amazing. I was taken to the area to ride the horse through the vineyard. My horse was a bit lazy but still enjoyed the ride a lot.
I was the only one who signed up for the horseback riding. So after the ride, I met up with some other people who joined up with similar tours through the same company so we could have a tour through the process of making wine and olive oil.
After the tour we had lunch and were able to taste some of the wine while we ate.
Myself and the others from the similar tours were then taken to a local place that made and sells their own gelato. Then we were shown a house that Machiavelli had lived in towards the end of the tour.
Definitely worth signing up for and every penny spent. I fully enjoyed myself this day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This tour was beyond all expectations.
We were transported directly to the ranch and greeted by our lovely guide Julia who got us prepared to ride. The horseback riding was great and Julia answered all of our questions about the ranch and surrounding vineyards. We ended at a world-class vineyard where we were given a great tour of the facilities followed by a 3 course traditional Italian lunch where we were also able to try 2 of their wines. Delicious.
Afterwards, our driver Matteo, took us to get "authentic" gelato and up to a great spot to look over the region and Florence. He told us over lunch all about the Italian culture, cuisine, etc. He was truly great to us.
Amazing tour, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great Trip. Nice and relaxing (if you like riding), food was great, and tour guide was wonderful!

From USD $ 125.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049CHIANTI

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message