4.5 star rating: Recommended 128 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Horse Riding in Chianti Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 128 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sarah K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fantastic small group tour. Our guide was wonderful, very friendly, funny and knowledgeable. He made sure everyone had a great time. Horse-riding was really fun, a little treacherous at times, but it was the lunch that turned out to be the best part! The food was the best we had the whole time we were in Italy, very traditional too. Would rate this highly compared to other tours we took, was much more personal.

Frances
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The was a lovely day, the farm is stunning - set on a hill overlooking the whole of Tuscany, it's a riding school and they have about 30 horses there. We were met by our riding instructor and she helped us get on our horses and feel comfortable before we sent off. I have ridden most of my life but my boyfriend had never ridden before - he was looked after very well and loved the experience. We walked through the woods and big open fields as we made out was up to the top of the hill for lunch, we ate a delicious 2-course meal with red wine and water followed by yummy Italian coffee. Perfect!

Joanne G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Best day of our holiday - our tour guide Nicolo was great - we were taken to places in Florence that we would not have found on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The time of year March was ideal for a vineyard tour in Chianti but even with that challenge, there was excellent service. GREAT food and wine!

Tracey A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Fantastic tour guide and food! Highly recommended. We were also taken for a quick stop to buy some beautiful wines at the end of the day trip!

Lisa H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was so much fun - the two guides were lovely and very entertaining! The horse riding was great, the venue we had lunch was lovely and the guides couldn't have been more accommodating taking us to a medieval town, and a winery along the way. Note that there is no training given for how to ride the horses - but if I can do it with no prior experience anyone can!

Kimberly W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Overall we had such a fun day. The horse riding wasn't at all hard most people just have to sit there and the horse does the rest. The lunch afterward was so nice and it was a real bonding session for the group. Nice wine!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was by far THE BEST day we had in Tuscany. The ranch was greatand the guides fantastic! Of all the trips we booked nothing came close to this one. Excellent! Highly recommend this to all. No experience needed to have a wonderful time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The horse riding was a little scary but a nice change of pace. Our tour guide was amazing. We had a wonderful authentic Tuscan meal in the Chianti vineyards at a resort. We were the only people at the restaurant with our guide. Our guide was very knowledgeable about wine and Tuscan food. This excursion was my best day in Italy. Definitely, definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

This was an incredible experience! Our tour guide was fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

This was one of the BEST days of my life! What an AMAZING day! You get a little bit of everything and all the beauty of Tuscany. Horseback riding, wine, food, a pool, and great people. Couldn't have asked for a better day to end my first time in Italy! I would do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

We loved the horseback riding in Chianti! It was a great day. One of my family's favorites - my son said it was fantastic and a very memorable day. The guides were wonderful and fun, and provided us with some great memories!! A must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was great! Our guide took us on a side trip down into a walnut grove where we roamed the hillsides on foot for a while. He bought us cappuccinos on the way in. Lunch and the wines were stupendous.

Peggy O
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We had a GREAT time, the guides were entertaining and knowledgeable. The meal was fabulous. A great day! I would not, however, recommend this trip for someone with NO horseback riding experience, they pretty much put you on the horse and off you go!!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I booked this tour as a gift to my parents for their anniversary and they absolutely loved it. They came home and could not stop raving about it. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do something very unique and memorable in Italy.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour the wines and food was fab. The horse riding was for beginners do if you can ride I would give it miss. My husband had never ridden and he felt safe. Most of the horses were in good condition, but the one I rode was very thin, I did question about this and the owners were instance that I rode him. I would go on this tour again as it was very pleasant out in the country side..

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great views of Tuscan and we met some lovely people!! Beautiful way to finish off our visit to Tuscany and Florence!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The riding experience was very good.
The staff was excellent and very willing to help.
The horses basically walked the entire trip. It would have been nice to be able to actually ride a little faster at some point of the experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The view from the horse back riding was beautiful! We went through a lot of olive groves and it was quite stunning. Then we took the van to a winery and tried 2 different red wines, both of which were delish. We got back in the van then and went to a little place for lunch, which had good food. We ended up waiting for quite a while for the van to pick us up at the end, about 45 minutes in the hot sun, and then the crazy driver didn't drop us off where we were picked up, which was a bit farther from our hostel. But overall, it was a nice day and good wine and good views.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Loved the Horse Back riding !

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a fantastic and very scenic trip to a lovely family farm, where we rode horses through the Chianti region and after, we got to explore some of the other animals around the farm (bull dog puppies, too!!) and try homemade olive oil. After, we were brought to a winery to do a tour and have a wine tasting, and then were provided a delicious, authentic, and filling lunch. Our guide was great - very friendly and fun. It was an awesome experience! My only suggestion would be to better time things, as we had to wait for a long time at a shop after the riding until we got to go up to the winery. But that is understandable, seeing as how multiple small groups meet up together to go to the winery. Lovely!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was a lovely way to see the chianti region. julia, my horseback riding guide was helpful, accommodating and animated. the horses were bigger than i expected. the food was exquisite! the wine was amazing! the one less star is for the wine tasting tour that lacked luster and made us hurry dinner.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Fun tour. The ladies guiding us on the horses were very patient, as were our steeds. Beautiful scenery. The guide at the villa, Tom, was superb as was the food and the tour. Thanks for a wonderful time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We liked the tour quite a bit. Everything was organized to the last detail. We were picked up just near the Duomo and taken about 20 min outside the city. We were then taken up to the hills to the stables. Our guide was fantastic. She helped my wife with her horse and I, with my horse, walked behind. The vineyard was beautiful. My only complaint was that the entire ride, one hour, was up and down hills. No trotting and definitely no room to gallup or run, but after thinking more about it, it was not that kind if tour. After the ride, we ate lunch at the vineyard. The food was wonderful. We then were led on a tour of the winery. We ended things with a ride in a small vehicle and all stopped for gelato. Perfect day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The horse riding was suspended but we went in a mini van for the wine tasting tour which was fine anyway since it was too cold for horse riding. All the wines tasted were red and although I'm not really a red wine drinker I must admit the wines and the food were good. I would do the tour

From USD $ 111.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049CHIANTI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message