4.5 star rating: Recommended 128 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Horse Riding in Chianti Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 128 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great trip and well organized; we seemed to have been cut short of the hour we were to spend on the horses... a little rushed at the end. Still a fantastic tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Fantastic. Beautiful scenery and lunch. Riding great for beginners maybe not so for experienced riders.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

It was very nice. The guide (Tom) gave us a lot of insight into wine industry along with local history. The ride was beautiful and leader made us (inexperienced riders) feel comfortable. The area is beautiful. The length of the outing was just right.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Horse riding was great, the staff was very friendly. You do not need to have any experience with horses to take part.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Wonderful time! The horses were plodders, so the riding experience was not much to write home about; a bit more interaction for us would have been more fun, but we understood that you have a variety of clientele as far as riding experience. Also, it would be simple to provide bottled water for riders since our ride was long and hot. However, our lead was sweet and enjoyable, the scenery breathtaking, the winery interesting and cool, and the lunch delicious!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This was a beautiful way to enjoy some of Tuscany's countryside. Having never ridden a horse before there is nothing to fear, the horses walk at a leisurely pace, and try to eat everything in there sight .The winery tour and lunch were well worth it, good value for the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Beautiful Countryside and Views. The winery lunch and wine tasting was superb. Service from guides and winery was excellent. The unadvertised free gelato stop on the way back to Forence was a nice surprise

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Beautiful country view when we were riding the horses. Lunch was very plain and a bit disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

I really loved every moment during this trip. In particular the horse riding inside the forest! I wanted to stay another day in Florence just to go again !!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Matthew was an excellent tour guide. He should be commended for knowing his audience and understanding their site seeing needsdesires when abroad. Alone, this young man made our journey through Tuscany one of our favorite experiences. Personality and knowledge of the surrounding country side truly left a lasting impression!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

The horseback riding was very simple. It was great for beginners but not so much for experienced riders. The lunch was set in a beautiful location and the food was amazing! The unlimited wine from the vineyards during lunch was a plus! The wine tasting was set in a beautiful castle. Overall, we really enjoyed our trip out to Chianti!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2009

I booked this trip for the horseback riding which could have been better. The horses were your typical stubborn, pokey trail horses and our riding guide wasn't any better. Fortunately, the rest of the day was great. There was a group of 4 of us our guide so the tour was very personal. We were taken to a castle which was a nice surprise since I hadn't known that was part of the day. Following that, we were taken to a lake out on the middle of the vineyards for lunch. The lake, which included a restaurant, swimming pool and several areas for sunbathing was empty so we had the whole place to ourselves. We ate a gourmet 5 course meal wine on a deck overlooking the lake which was just fantastic. Had the horseback riding been a better experience, I would have given one more star.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

After reading the description and the amazing reviews, we were very excited about this tour. Unfortunately our tour was not the tour I read about. The people throughout the day were fabulous, but our horseback ride was not through vineyards and forests it was through a pasture and over roads. The view in the distance was pleasant but in April there are no vines and the olive trees where being pruned. The farmhouse was a pole barn along the roadside. The 5 minute van ride to the winery was more like a 30 minute ride to a corporate winery where the hostess was unfriendly to our tour guide and rushed us through the tour. The ride to the wine tasting/dinner was another 20 minutes but the food and wine were delicious. We enjoyed our time but it was not the authentic Italian horsback riding, farmhouse experience we were expecting.

Lia
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The horse riding was very relaxing...the horses were very calm and Chianti region is beautiful.
The wine tasting was ok.. Nothing spectacular... Ruffino wines are well known every where.
The food at the Italian restaurant wasn't that good... Basic papa al pomodoro and pasta al pomodoro - it was kind of disappointing. However, the guides and the other people in the tour were very nice and we had a good time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Pros: The country side was beautiful. Really liked the tour of the wine vineyard and estate. Our guide, Julia rode on the horses with us. She was a competent horse woman.
Cons: The other horse staff were quite rude-one woman was extremely snotty when I asked to speak with our driver-I wanted to make sure that the van was locked as it had all my purse inside and the back windows were left open. I could not believe her arrogance! She also didn't help Julia get the horses ready(all of the other men just stood there showing outright contempt.) No translation was needed for that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

It was a great and enjoyable day. Was only 50 minutes about on horse back. They could of given us a little more time actually riding. However, the trip was alot of fun and had amazing views.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

beautiful view, but I was on my Honeymoon and when the guide paired us up with our horse she put him first and me last which meant we couldn't talk, or enjoy the ride together at all. Also this was sold as wine tasting, we were given 2 wines to try with some cold pasta after waiting for 30 minutes. eh.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

I found the description a bit misleading. The 30 minute orientation consisted of getting each person on a horse, showing them how to hold the reins and how to 'stop' and 'go' and the actual trek was only 35 minutes instead of an hour. That said, the horses and guides were great and the scenery was beautiiful but once we reached the winery we were left thinking 'was that it?'.
The winery was awesome, we had a very knowledgable guide which was great and the food was amazing.
While it was a fantastic experience overall I was left disappointed by the horse riding - especially as this was the part I was most looking forward to.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

I would give it 5 stars for the day itself but only if your with someone else. I was on a business trip, had a spare day and thought would be a good idea. I had a lovely day but the tour guide made e feel very awkward for being on a tour alone. Walked away feeling quite upset

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

The driver of the van was really cool and knowledgeable. The horse riding wasn't as fun as I thought, the horse was kind of temperamental and at the farm one of the tour people actually kicked one of the horses. I think more experienced riders would have an easier time because they just give you a horse and expect you to know what to do with it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

The Riding was great because thankfully i already was a fairly adept rider. the countryside was beautiful, the Guide for the ride was terrible, she didn't explain anything or talk to us at all for that matter. she spent the entire ride talking and texting on her cell phone. I talked with the company that sponsors this tour and they say this isn't the first they have heard of something like this and are in the process of finding a new provider for their Horseback Tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The horse riding part was wonderful, a great way to see some of the vineyards and countryside.
After that it became a bit haphazard, joined another group for the wine and cellar door tour. Then lunch was a big buffet style with other tour groups. Not what I was expecting. And after we all finished lunch we had to wait an hour before heading back into Florence. Time could of been better spend doing something else. Didn't seem well organised at all.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Very disappointing. All of the people were very nice, but the experience did not live up to my expectations. The horseback riding was very slow and boring. The wine was barely drinkable, and the food served was horrendous. This was overpriced and much too long. A waste of time in a beautiful country.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Our guide was just a driver - offered no information that we couldn't have got from a leaflet. The horseride was VERY BASIC, in fact, my horse had to be rope led because it didn't want to go anywhere. A big diappointment. the winery was indoors and the sun was shining and would have been beautiful outdoors. The food was quite ordinary and we thought the whole package was overrated and overpriced.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

We had high expectations for this trip but left unimpressed. It is not worth the price. The tour guide for the riding provided very little information about the region. The region was beautiful and the horses were well trained. A high point was that the tour guide from Florence was an excellent guide with significant cultural and historical knowledge. The money would have been better spent touring the towns with him.

From USD $ 111.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049CHIANTI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message